We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #12 of 131 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had lunch at this restaurant, pre-booked from main land, and had the prix fixe set lunch, food was great, house wine (Holy Cow) even better, free water a great point, service was friendly, only coment that service was too attentive only because we would have preferred the bottle of wine left on the table and we pour it ourselves. Would go back again as steak was to die for and would recomend to anyone; which we have already done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    53
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a meal”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We've just had a fantastic meal at Red. Not our first visit and definitely not our last. Red just has to be the best place to get really really good steak...not just in the Channel Islands but for many miles. Excellent wines and good desserts finished off an extraordinary eating experience. Well done from all at the 'Jackson' table...see you next year!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I visited last Friday evening while in Guernsey, on a recommendation.

We were very impressed by the friendly service upon arrival and during the meal. Our table was beside the window so we could look out onto the harbour which was lovely.

We were early and initially went to the bar but it was very busy, noisy, and smoky, so we went back to the table. We began with cocktails nonetheless and the bartender was happy to make me my favourite cocktail which wasn't on their menu.

We ate three courses each, sharing one side during the main. The starters were beautifully presented but certainly not style over substance. The steak was perfectly cooked and of a very high quality. You can even choose a cut to share off the blackboard menu. The desserts were very generous - big enough, we thought, for 2 to share!

The only room for improvement is the decor, which we didn't find was in keeping with the high quality of the restaurant.

I'm surprised by some of the comments below about the restaurant being expensive. My husband and I paid just over £100 for 3 courses each and 4 cocktails between us, which was more than reasonable. Excellent value for money. We look forward to visiting again on our next visit to Guernsey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Wow! Delicious fillet steak and T-bone enjoyed by our party accompanied by a selection of side dishes. We asked the chef to send out a selection of starters which were all superb. Great wine and desserts.
Looking forward to returning for a romantic meal for two with my husband.
Very impressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 98Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed the meal”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We hadn't booked for lunch as we were on a day trip to Guernsey from Weymouth. However we liked the menu and went asking for a table for two - we were shown to a lovely table in the window overlooking the harbour. The staff ensured that the complimentary sparkling water (nice touch) and tasty canapés (again included) quickly arrived. We liked the way the staff carefully explained the menu and it was opportunity for them to talk through the steaks etc. We ordered off the two/three course lunch menu. I had the 2 course - hashbrown with duck egg and onglet steak and my wife had the steak salad - oh and a bottle of shiraz!. We didn't sample desserts as we had had eaten well enough.
We were really pleased with the food : the steaks were cooked as we ordered. We were delighted with the quality and presentation and the service was 1st rate (not too fussy but attentive).
All in all, brilliant, thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelad285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing