We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly superb”

Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #12 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly superb”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Best steaks ever served by knowledgeable staff who have a genuine passion for food. Probably one of the best meals we have ever experienced. The Lobster tail and fillet combo was just perfect and complimented with garlic butter for the lobster with a Bearnaise and peppercorn sauce for the steak. The accompanying french fries are simply exquisite. I never thought I'd rave about steak and chips but this is something else. We were very lucky to get a table without booking so don't risk it. The cocktail bar above seems to attract a really lively bunch which is great fun but your bank balance will look a little sick in the morning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 956Jonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    51
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Styled on the Gaucho grill, serves up great steaks with all manner of cuts and a variety of options in terms of cuts to share. Can be a little cramped and noisy, but if you're having fun who notices!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WTFSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a shame this isn't bear my hometown in Wales. Absolutely superb steaks and red wine. We shared the Portherhouse and rib eye between five of us; excellent. Lovely seletion of bordaeux. Good to see my favourite Chateaus Musar on the list too.

And as for the Sticky Salted Toffee Pudding with Salted caramel ice cream! That really was divine.

Simple concept brilliantly executed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markhar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“To die for...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I'm not a great lover of steak, it's usually all fat and gristle and I wasn't thrilled to be eating in RED. However, the staff were very knowledgeable about steaks and gave great advice. I have to say that the steak I had was the best I have ever eaten, it was cooked to perfection and was delicious. The wine we had with it was excellent. My mouth is watering now just thinking about it.

It was a bit pricey but definitely worth it. Everyone in our party had the same opinion.

I would eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlistairNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you love great steak then this is the place for you. With very attentive care and service and awesome tender steaks to match it is my favourite restaurant in the world. The Owner, Dave, is very knowledgeable on wine and the right wine to accompany your food. I tend to share a mixed starter platter that has some lamb chop lollies, calamari, sausages and cheese. Steaks can be ordered by the weight, and all popular cuts are available. You can even order a large steak (1kg plus) and share it. For dessert you will struggle to beat the Sticky Toffee Pudding with salted caramel an vanilla ice cream (accompanied by Pedro Ximenez Sherry). If you like Goodmans in London, you will love this as it easily outclasses the food and service there

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 71Ray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing