We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service”

Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar
Ranked #12 of 131 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you love great steak then this is the place for you. With very attentive care and service and awesome tender steaks to match it is my favourite restaurant in the world. The Owner, Dave, is very knowledgeable on wine and the right wine to accompany your food. I tend to share a mixed starter platter that has some lamb chop lollies, calamari, sausages and cheese. Steaks can be ordered by the weight, and all popular cuts are available. You can even order a large steak (1kg plus) and share it. For dessert you will struggle to beat the Sticky Toffee Pudding with salted caramel an vanilla ice cream (accompanied by Pedro Ximenez Sherry). If you like Goodmans in London, you will love this as it easily outclasses the food and service there

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 71Ray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    53
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a cocktail upstairs before heading down for food. Had the sharing platter for starters between the two of us - the squid is to die for! Helpful advice from the waiter over what steak to choose from - steak was full of flavour and cooked perfectly and the red wine went down very well. Had the sides of spinach, peas and chips - all lovely! Crack baby sorbet to share for dessert was a lovely finish. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went on Saturday started and finished with cocktails -bar upstairs is, amazing views are spectacular. Wonderful starter of the cured meat followed by porterhouse steak and apple tarte for dessert. Incredible selection of wine all of which were decanted and served to perfection. Service was impeccable - this has to be the best evening meal I have ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mum123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“So different”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Had the meat feast and loved it. Can't stop thinking about it! Can't decide which meat we preferred. Spinach was so good. Wine was a bit expensive for our usual taste but our son was choosing! Lovely evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had booked to go to Red for the Meatfest which was advertised as on for the month of October. When we arrived, we were informed that due to a delayed shipment they did not have all of the advertised items on the Meatfest menu, but the maitre d' promised to check with the kitchen to see what they could do.

The food we were served was incredible, as was the wine we were recommended for our food. We had a selection of starters served to us on a slate to share (four of us were dining), followed by and adapted Meatfest menu, the pork belly and steak as advertised, with the most delicious chicken breast we've ever eaten, which wasn't even meant to be on the menu! This was served with six various sauces and six sides between the four of us.

We followed this with crack baby sorbet and mojito sorbet - by this time the waiting staff had cottoned on to our love for sharing food and offered us four spoons for our two desserts. Absolutely delicious again.

After dinner we popped upstairs for a cocktail and were equally delighted.

Thanks so much to all the staff at Red for a wonderful night and for being so accommodating!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraceLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Grill House and Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing