We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Vallette Underground Military Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around St Peter Port
from $25.82
More Info
from $78.75
More Info
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
167
245
106
35
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
167
245
106
35
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german occupation well worth a visit large collection great collection military items u boat on display world war channel islands for sale fascinating insight entrance fee town centre couple of hours rainy day peter port memorabilia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is filled with soldiers uniforms, medals and personal belongings, including some of the beautiful crafts (carving, painting etc) that they made. It wasn't really suitable for young children as not very interactive, but if you're into the World Wars, then this is a terrific collection and would keep you busy for a whole afternoon. We'd have liked to know more about what the building was built for and the history of it, but this information couldn't be found. My favourite part was seeing the things the solders made - showing they were more than just their uniforms.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Eatmorecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

This museum is packed full of artifacts from the German occupation of Guernsey. If you like history and have the time and patience to look through what is on display, you will really enjoy this museum.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Scarlatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

This is a fantastic collection fron during the German occupation of Guernsey. The German music played in the back ground sets the tone. There is plenty to see from medals, posters, uniforms as well as vehicles from both sides.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank cazmatthews46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019 via mobile

At £7.00 I really wasn't expecting much, but wow. So much stuff to see. I could of quite happily spent much longer in there but we were on a tight schedule. Will definitely return

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Tonksneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

We visited here on our holiday as we love history, and have visited Jersey frequently and have seen their underground tunnels and such.

This museum has a great collection of posters, coins, flags and other various items from the German Occupation on the island. Truly fascinating.

We also stumbled upon a book signing from a local lady who writes books on her experiences during the occupation. She was absolutely delightful and I’m so very glad we got to speak to her.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank bethmae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews