We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refreshed and relaxed”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed in room 110 which was fantastic. The view was wonderful and all the finishing touches like tea tray were wonderful. The service was excellent efficient and friendly that made you feel cossetted in a relaxed informal way. The brteakfast was delicious as was all the food and much better value and quality than places in town. the web site underplays the hotel!

Like another guest the only gripe i would have was the quality of the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnh282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for La Fregate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

Sadly we were only in Guernsey for one night, but we sure made the right choice to stay in a Deluxe Room at La Fregate Hotel! A large, comfortable, room with a fantastic, HUGE, balcony overlooking St Peter Port and the harbour.

The staff have been friendly and generally superb, allowing for a very relaxed stay to be possible and ensuring that little things such as allowing us to take our brekkie on our balcony were possible without charge.

We literally did not leave our room for 24 hours, as we wanted to make the most of a "feet-up" weekend. The hotel restaurant is superb and well priced, helping us not have need to step foot outside ;)

If I had to nitpick, I'd say that for a deluxe room the TV was a touch on the small side (19inch screen in such a big room?!) and that the bathroom was lacking a proper shower (a bath/shower combo).

We are definitely coming back here in the summer and will be recommending to all our friends and family. The La Fregate is a real gem! if you come here make sure to get a Deluxe Room with balcony (Room 110 is recommended!),

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

I chose this hotel as I had heard great things about it, its location was great but we were very disappointed by the room. The room we were allocated was not what you would expect from this hotel, it was very run down. The bathroom was awful, the shower cubicle tiny with barely enough room to turn around. The décor needs updating. Would only recommend this hotel if you can guarantee your stay is in one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1059Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Friendly and exellent staff. fantastic hotel with the best views and best restaurant in the island. rooms very comfortable with a modern interior design. Without the best hotel in Guernsey

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuernseyScruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Great rooms. Great restaurant. Great location!! Unique rooms. Bob the dog runs the place magnificently and his assistant Chris does everything he can.
For anyone visiting Guernsey on business or pleasure, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MingProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Excellent restaurant, perhaps the best on the island.

Rooms quite expensive at £150 for double, but £90 for a single better value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDub_JDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I booked this hotel for its location and excellent weekend offers, we got a taxi from the airport, I don't think we would of found it otherwise! The roads in Guernsey are very small and my opnion of hiring a car over there is do it at your own peril. When we arrived at the hotel the lady at reception was very professional and informed they had upgraded for the same price. The room was first-rate with great views and a balcony.
St Peters Port is 5 minutes away with lots of restaurants and bars, we spent the Saturday exploring and my wife did a little shopping, we were told that all the shops were closed on the Sunday, to my pleasure!
That evening we ate in the hotel, once again the views were great and the seafood superb, we could really taste the freshness.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and Guernsey for people wanting a break from bussle of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattTaylorJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
659 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $193 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing