We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Wedding Anniversary”
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Fregate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel on the 11th of January to celebrate the above anniversary,
the Hotel and Staff were top rate and helped with my requests regarding wine and flower,s delivery etc, the meal was top class as was the service and the de luxe room we stayed in ovenight which over look the town of St Peter Port.
I am a Guernseyman so know the Hotel as outstanding and throughout the many years here in
the Island its reputation has never diminished.
I would highly recommend La Fregate to anyone who requires that special treat or wonderful food and wine from the restaurant which is available to any patrons.
Well done La Fregate and Thank you all for making our day with you very special.

Room Tip: The new wing added to this Hotel is very modern but also the older main building has style and char...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for La Fregate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 276 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fregate is a dining experience for lovers of fish and meat. If you are vegetarian, give it a miss. There are a number of veggie options and in my case the menu description of the food was more appetising than the meal itself. Presentation was OK but remember this is a very expensive restaurant and high prices should mean high quality. Preperation wise, it seemed little thought had been put into each course and it is a good idea to get a couple of slices of bread when it is offered to make up for the lack of substance on the plate. House wine is amongst the most expensive I have seen but there is a good choice for the connosieur. Unfortunately we were charged double for our drinks but this was an error quickly rectified. A decent bottle of house wine is around £25. We had a Malbec at £28.00. I told the waiter I was not overjoyed with my meal and was simply told "there is nothing we can do". Over £15 for four pieces of gnochi with a little salad and a bland ragu does not a meal maketh. On the plus side, the fish dishes of other diners looked fairly plentiful and my wifes steak was melt in the mouth, despite its small size and additional charges for extra vegetables. The old adage is you get what you pay for. Unfortunately on this occasion I didn't feel we did.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank mindbender66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Attended my wife's firms annual xmas dinner at La Fregate Hotel last night and we decided to stay the night as I hate the late night taxi scrum.

We opted for a Bay View room but were upgraded to a Deluxe room. Very large modern room with incredible views of Castle Cornet, Herm , Sark and Jersey.

Only downside was that there was an open space to hang clothes but this only had 9 inches of rail which would be a real problem if staying more than one night. Also there was nowhere to hang coats.

excellent service in the hotel and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spent the night this week at this excellent hotel. The room was roomy with a million dollar view. The dinner was extremely good with beautiful fish for both courses. Breakfast also of avery high standard. Guernsey at its very best.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We live locally and spent a night in town to celebrate our anniversary- Fantastic in a word. Position is just 3 mins down the hill into town, beautifully decorated and spectacular views.
This was a wonderful short break which we will certainly repeat for longer next time.....

Room Tip: deluxe room with view was above the restaurant with million dollar views over town/Castle Cornet/mar...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose from the two course fixed price menu at £17.50. WOW from the quality of food and presentation to the welcoming staff.

The restaurant decor was relaxing and understated and the view was fabulous although quite why the planners allowed a building with a green roof in front of the hotel I don't know. It is hideous and totally out of keeping with the rest of the rooftops in St Peter Port.

Certainly a meal to remember and to be recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The bedroom was beautiful, spacious well appointed, lovely view, comfy bed. The food was excellent, everything very calm and a friendly welcome from whom we assume we the owner. The only down side is that if you are there without a vehicle, the walk up to the hotel Is a little thigh burning. The final niggle is probably very subjective but it is a fact that hotel staff are likely to be of Eastern European extraction these days. Good on them for taking these positions and on the whole they can be charming and very attentive but occasionally there is a cultural clash which can show up as arrogance and surliness. This in no way spoilt the stay but made us slightly uncomfortable on occasions. We would certainly return though.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concertjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
658 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Beauregard Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $194 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing