We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holsrus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holsrus”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this friendly, well maintained hotel. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them to make sure we had a good holiday. The shuttle bus is a great idea when your feet are sore from walking around and about as the hill back up to the hotel is a mite challenging! We recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel has its own unique features for a relaxing stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated and I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality.
As I always do I will pass your compliments on to the team and I can assure you that they will be all happy to read it. I would like to thank you once again for your kind feedback and recommendation and look forward to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.
Please check out our website for our latest offers, I am sure there will be something to tempt you back!
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    125
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
90
451
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

As residents of a neighbouring island, we stayed at the hotel several times last March when we needed to stay in Guernsey.
From the first moment we set foot in the hotel, we were made very welcome by the friendly male receptionist. This set the standard for each successive stay. The staff are all extremely friendly and welcoming in all areas of the hotel, from the General Manager down. There is a very relaxed feel to the hotel, which immediately makes you feel at home.
We were toing-and-froing through the week, so had a few different rooms. Each was spotlessly clean, very warm, with amazingly comfortable beds.
Breakfast was good every day, in a comfortable restaurant, with attentive staff. On one evening we had dinner in the grill room, which again was very welcoming, with friendly staff and lovely food.
The pool and health suite are the highlight of this hotel. Even in March, the area was toasty warm, and the Jacuzzi was wonderful. During our stay, the islands were hit by a blizzard, which we got caught in. On our frosty return to the hotel, we warmed up in the Jacuzzi. It was heavenly to sit in the warm bubbles and look out at the snow in the little garden.
We were unable to get home until the bad weather subsided, and the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful for the extra couple of days we needed to stay. Our young daughter was even able to get her schoolwork by email and work at the computer in the cosy lounge.
As other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is indeed up a very steep hill, which isn't fun to walk up, but once there, you have the quiet roads and pretty views while still being minutes from town.
I recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psychosquirrelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read that the three of you had a most enjoyable short break during March and the bedrooms you stayed in were all up to your comfort. I am glad that you found the hotel grounds and location with the pretty views ideal and you truly enjoyed the facilities that our Health Suite could offer. It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback on our service too and I believe that is always those little things that add up to make huge differences in your stay, and we strive to help you feel as though it is your `home away from home`.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team, and would like thank you once again for your wonderful review and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We last reviewed hotel De Havelet 2 years ago and delighted to say things have not changed a bit!
Welcoming and friendly staff, good food, comfortable accommodation, lovely swimming pool - what more could you ask for?? I suppose an escalator to get up what we call "Sodding Hill" would be useful!
Sad to see Jan and Wilma will be leaving and hope that Gennaro will be able to find suitable replacements. Luca in the Grill fantastic as always.
The main issue is the dreadful change to the bus services since last we were here. No more 7 & 7A and it's not a patch on the old service. Discrimination against non residents and no more Ormer cards for us tourists. With Flybe pulling out, we are seriously considering taking the car next time which defeats one of the reasons for coming to Guernsey. Unless it's improved and/or subsidised, we fear there could be a huge detrimental affect on tourism in Guernsey. Recommend you complain (as we will do) to Roger Domaille who is responsible for this at the States of Guernsey - info@gov.gg
The gradual refurbishment seems to be going well.

Room Tip: Never stayed in room 25 before but it's recently been refurbished and very good - especially the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgerisimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review, it is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and to learn how much they enjoyed their stay on each occasion. Your kind compliments of the hotel, staff and the service are invaluable. We always endeavor to create a unique and welcoming atmosphere and I am pleased to know that our effort has been well conveyed and I can assure you that the staff will be delighted to read your feedback, especially Luca as you mentioned him personally!

I agree it will be sad to say farewell to Wilma and Jan, who were part of our great team for many years and they will be truly missed, but we try our best to find the most suitable people to replace them.
I am sorry to hear your disappointment regarding the local bus service and I hope this has not deterred you from visiting this beautiful island in the future.

I would like to thank you once again for your great comments and your continued support and we very much look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location is superb overlooking Castle Cornet and the harbour. The grounds of the hotel are immaculate with masses of flowers and trees.
The bedrooms are extremely well equipped - particiularly the 'A' rooms.
The Management and Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The service and food in the Wellington Boot Restaurant and the Saddle Bar are excellent.
we will be back twice in 2014. Can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review about your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I was delighted to read that you think of the de Havelet as your second home. Your kind compliments are much appreciated and have been passed onto all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you both back in 2014.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A great hotel with wonderful views over the bay from the restaurant. Rooms spacious and bathrooms a joy to behold. Beware the climb up to the hotel from the Esplanade if you are walking, it is steep. That being said, there is a courtesy bus and taxis abound, so you should be well served. The food is terrific and the staff courteous and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We always take great pleasure in reading wonderful reviews like yours and knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we do appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave your comments.
I am also pleased to know that the size of your Bedroom made it a very comfortable experience for both of you and thank you for mentioning the staff as courteous and friendly. I will pass your kind words on to them and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the country
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and had booked based on the reviews we'd seen on Tripadvisor. They didn't let us down as the hotel was lovely and the welcome from the staff and service for the rest of our stay was superb. We hadn't planned on eating at the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants in St Peter Port but the menu looked good, so we gave it a go - twice! Our first meal was in the bar restaurant. The barman (I think he was called Jan) was really welcoming and helped make it a very enjoyable evening. A couple of days later we tried their other restaurant, The Wellington Boot and had their fixed price summer menu which was fantastic value for money. The breakfasts were really good too.

The only downside for some people would be that the walk to the town involves a very steep hill which on a hot day can feel like quite a challenge. That said, it probably did us some good to get the exercise.

A charming hotel, with wonderful staff - we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshiregirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and thank you especially for taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor after your recent stay! I am pleased that you chose BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet based on other guests reviews and that the hotel lived up to your expectations and had a very comfortable stay.
I am also glad to read that you received welcoming service from the staff especially from Jan, I have already passed on your kind words to them, who genuinely enjoy assisting our guests and pride themselves in providing the very best level of customer service and are very proud of being St Peter Port’s No1 hotel.
We would like to thank you once again for your wonderful review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a stay at the De Havelet, the location is good, the spa is great , the food excellent and the staff very helpful. I had the misfortune to break my ankle shortly after my arrival and the management and the staff could not have done more for me. They even collected my Husband from the hospital at 2 am Nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am really sorry for the misfortune accident, however I am delighted to read that we managed to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and that the entire team left a positive impression with you. I am also pleased that the hotel facilities and the location were up to your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for your kind compliments and recommendation and look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another visit.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing