We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back a third time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back a third time”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

So having visited by accident in March, I have now made the Havelet my Hotel of choice and been back twice more. So I can now say with some confidence that the standards of the Hotel and staff remain consistently high. This is as friendly a place as you'll ever stay and the food is excellent. Top marks.

Room Tip: Room 2 - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShippyandBollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read how much you have enjoyed your stay again with us. I have passed on your kind comments to the team, and would like thank you once again for your wonderful review and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    125
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
90
451
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here while on holiday in June of 2013. The rooms were quite clean, the staff outstanding, and could not be more helpful. They were able to answer all my questions, and went out of their way to assist us. Only complaint was the Internet was poor in our room, but excellent in the lobby.

Room Tip: Could not have been happier. Clean, great staff, nice views. On a very narrow street, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at our hotel, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed all the facilities and I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff. I look forward to welcoming you both back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards



Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 3days over the late may bank hols.
The pics on the website really do not do the hotel justice, as the rooms look tired and old fashioned.
Our room was very modern, recently decorated with a large bed, decent tv, sofa. we had a large modern well equipped bathroom with both shower and bath.

The first 2 days we sat at a table at breakfast looking down on the harbour, wow what a view!
Someone beat us to this table on the 3 rd day.
Breakfast took a while as it was all freshly prepared, which was unexpected as its unusual for hotels to offer this these days. So we all had 3 perfect breakfasts.

The hotel did have the scaffolding up at the time, though did not stop our enjoyment of the stay. Our friends used the pool etc twice and recommend it.

The hill to the hotel was hard work, we walked the long way after 2 trips up the steep hill!

We hired bikes, and cycled to the north of the island, where you can follow off road tracks fromthe far nor east of the island to cobo, lots of little cafes en route to stop and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read how much your friends and yourselves have enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding the photos on our website and I have passed your kind comments on to all the staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet.

Kind Regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and couldn’t fault it. Despite initially being allocated the wrong class of room to that we had booked, the staff soon had it sorted and we were very happy with the replacement. We even had a bottle of Prosecco and dish of strawberries to compensate!
All the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Must mention Wilma and Weit on reception who were extremely helpful.
We had intended to eat in the restaurant for one evening, then try other places in St Peter Port, but the food was so good and such good value that we ate here every night. Special thanks to Luca.
We just managed to get 2 spaces on the complimentary bus tour of the island with Sam, who was superb and has the most amazing memory for the history of the island. He will be missed when he returns to the UK – best wishes to him and his wife for the forthcoming addition to the family. I’m sure Bobby will be an admirable replacement.
Although it is a steep walk back from the town centre, the hotel provides a courtesy bus service which is extremely welcome.
Most definitely would return. Excellent.

Room Tip: We loved our room, number 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank carolina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review on your stay at our hotel. I am sorry for the wrongly allocated room but I am happy that it was sorted out quickly and that you enjoyed the Prosecco. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the food in our Grill Room and our complimentary island tour. I have passed all your kind comments onto all the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel with parking is only 5 minutes drive from the port and situated on a hillside. The mansion is now being refurbished and the newly fitted areas and rooms are brighter and lighter than the previous décor. The rooms vary in size with quite a number on the ground floor which is good as there is no lift. The pool and garden area below are well kept and perfect for relaxing. The dining rooms in a separate building adjacent to the main house offer fine views of the harbour. The food is good, the menu varied and the service excellent. The staff are very friendly and efficient and give a warm welcome. The hotel minibus is also available at certain times to and from St. Peter Port. We consider this a very good choice of hotel and location for exploring Guernsey.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are lighter and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It was lovely to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our newly refurbished rooms to have a lighter and brighter ambiance. I am also glad that you have enjoyed our facilities such as the swimming pool and restaurants. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we hope to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind regards,



Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently spent a week in Guernsey and one night decided to eat at this hotel, It was one of the best meals we had, having eaten at several others previously, The staff were very charming especially Aitor who was very polite, efficient and worked very hard to make our dining experience a night to remember. The food was excellent in taste and price too. Definately recommmened,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the food in our Wellington Boot Restaurant and I have passed all your kind comments onto Aitor and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet on your next visit


Kind regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

we have stay 2 nights in this hotel and everything was perfect.
the staff is very efficient the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is perfect.
all what we need in a hotel......and I like the swimming pool and the sauna....
many thanks for your welcoming

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleir c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Property: Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing