We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a wonderful week in the middle of August - weather was a bit mixed but in all circumstances St Peter Port and Guernsey are charming, and Hotel De Havelet probably the best place to stay.
Location is good - 10 minute stroll out of town - easy going into town (downhill) but a bit more arduous coming back after a meal!
The various restaurants in Hotel are all brilliant! From the formal to less formal - all excellent food, well served, and good value - the staff are ALL very well trained and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We got hooked on a glass of their Proscecco with Aperol (a pink liquer made from oranges,fruit and rhubarb of all things!) before a meal.
Breakfast really does have something for everyone - I had a different cooked breakfast each morning and still didn't get through every option!
We stayed in Room 27 - the one on the front with a balcony - yes it's a sea view but the trees are getting taller! Still wonderful views in any case. Big comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom - although the cupboard door squeeked a bit. Really peaceful location - shame we had unfortunate neighbours for the last 2 nights - they must have been hard of hearing as they had VERY loud voices and we could hear every word! But that's not the Hotel's fault - we didn't hear other or previous neighbours.
There are plenty of public rooms, and whilst there were odd places where you could see some redecoration would be needed soon, overall we felt it was in good repair.
Saw a comment about over-chlorinated pool - yes it hurt my eyes a bit too but were told it wasn't chlorine. Whatever, next time I'll remember my goggles as it's a great little pool, with sunbeds and towels provided and a good spot to read the paper!
Free wifi useful for us - may not be important to everyone.
So overall, well worth the extra for a superior room if budget allows, and the staff made it a relaxing holiday to remember. We will return

Room Tip: We found room 27 larger than others, nice balcony on the from of the house, good views over trees fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear colb1,

Thank you for your recent review and for all of its kind comments about the service you received during your stay, they have been relayed on to our team and were very much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 832 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night break and cannot recommend the hotel and staff highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble - even supplying me with a phone charger as mine was in the suitcase that was left behind at Birmingham Airport! The service and food in the Wellington Boot was excellent, and the restaurant had wonderful views over the bay. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room (30) with its own 'proper' bathroom overlooking the courtyard - spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review and for all of its kind comments, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the service and food in the Wellington Boot. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our first visit to this Hotel and it lives up to it's brochure and advertising. Without exception the staff were welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the food in all 3 areas - Bar, Grill Room and Restaurant - was superb and the choice extensive, it exceeded our expectations .
We stayed in a superior room which was clean,spacious, king size bed and a choice of pillow fillings, bath robes,and all the other things you expect to find including a wall mounted flat screen TV
The island of Guernsey is delightful,it isn't as commercialised as Jersey aolthough there are still plenty of very nice shops, coffee bars etc., it felt like going back in time with a lovely relaxed pace of life. Ther is plenty of history, golden beaches (uncrowded) and the other islands to visit as an option.
It was one of the best holidays we have had in recent years.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share them on tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the food and facilities in our hotel, and more importantly that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My Wife and I have recently enjoyed a 4 night break at the De Havelet, we visited Guernsey again after a number of years to do some walking, we managed to walk from St Peter Port to Pleinmont over 2 days and also Herm, fantastic scenery and brilliant weather.

We chose this Hotel for it's previous reviews and it's proximity to the cliff walks.

We can only reinforce what the earlier reviews say about this Hotel, the staff are a credit to the Hotel and nothing was to much trouble for them, they were very attentive and efficient at both Breakfast & Dinner (altough they did miss the Black Pudding and Hash Brown off my full english one morning), the Hotel itself is in a quiet location on the outskirts of St Peter Port and the Town can be reached in 10 minutes, (suggest using Coronet St as it's an easier walk).

But there were a couple of negatives for us: We know that the Hotel is an old building but parts of the Hotel are in need of redecoration, although clean the carpet, wallpaper and paint in both the public areas and our room 23 (Class B) have all seen better days, also we felt the size of our handbasin was too small (we have the same size in our cloakroom at home), so you could not wash without splashing water onto the floor, but we did sleep very well in a comfortable bed.

One point with regards to the swimming pool is that I felt that there was far too much Chlorine used as it stung my eyes, I swim as a rule 4 times a week at my gym without any problem.

We will go back to again, but next time in a Class A room and ask some questions before hand.

Room Tip: Ask for a Class A room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor about your stay at our property. I am happy that you did have an excellent break with us and have taken on board your comments. I shall pass on your kind comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We returned to this beautiful hotel after an absence of eight years and found it to be even better this visit. We were holidaying with two special friends and we were all delighted with every aspect of our stay.
Our room was spectacular, being well appointed, clean, spacious, with a balcony overlooking the harbour.
Each evening we ate in one of the three delightful restaurants within the the hotel and were treated to excellent food and wine, which was served by very friendly and competent staff.
On one day we went on a tour of the island in the hotel minibus and enjoyed the brilliant commentary provided by the bus driver Sam. This was a mixture of local history, local tales and much humour.
We cannot rate the overall experience of our stay too highly and thoroughly recommend this hotel to those of you who like to be welcomed, pampered, and looked after by staff who always go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor on your recent return visit to our hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the food and the complimentary bus tour with Sam. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we had a great stay at the de havelet over a long weekend,the room was very nice with a nice view to the castle,the staff were very friendly and helpful,its only a ten minute walk to the harbour,we ate in the grill restaurant twice and found the food fantastic,they really know how to cook a perfect steak and the fish was lovely,the head waiter was top class and the rest of the staff were great ,i would recommend the hotel and restaurant very highly

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank anywhere49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the food served in the Grill Room restaurant. I will pass on your kind comments onto all the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had another fantastic stay at Hotel De Havelet over the bank holiday weekend. We had a nightmare with our flight being cancelled and being bused to a different airport, but the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating and understanding about the situation.

The trip was part of our mini-moon and the hotel gave us a complimentaty fruit bowl and a congratulations note which was much appreciated.

We will definitely be back again for the delicious food, (breakfast being a favourite of mine), fantastic service, beautiful views and the comfort of the hotel.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: I personally love the rooms looking over the tropical garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Sevier,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to see guests returning to us. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $121 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing