We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed from 5-8th June and are "returners". A superb hotel with hard working and attentive staff who, without exception, were friendly and welcoming. The food was of the highest quality, beautifully prepared and presented, for which the chef must be given great credit. The special Jubilee menu was an unexpected and imaginative surprise for us- complete with a complimentary glass of Cava to toast the Queen! The leisure facilities are first class and, like everything else in the hotel, spotlessly clean and cared for. De Havelet is a great place to stay.
Bob & Judy S

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

It is nice to hear when “returners” take the time to write a review about their return visit to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet on trip advisor. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again and that you have enjoyed celebrating the Queens Diamond Jubilee with us, also that you have enjoyed the food served in the restaurant and the hotel facilities provided. I have passed on your kind comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 878 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a week at the Hotel De Havelet. It was our first visit to Guernsey and we were delighted with our choice of hotel. The staff, the room, reception,bar and restaurants were all excellant. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. We particularly enjoyed the fitness suite where everything was immaculate.
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to family and friends and would love to stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geronimo44190926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed all of our facilities and have had a wonderful stay with us. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

we stayed at this hotel in september 2011 on our first holiday in guernsey everything about it was amazing we had the room with the balcony and were amazed everything about this hotel was perfect from the room to the staff and food we hope to return very soon thank you for an amazin holiday sue @joe miller

Room Tip: room with balcony was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The saddle bar is one of the best restaurants we have been too.The food was Excellent and the service was also excellent an allround great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imcrae24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Saddle bar and hotel on trip advisor. I happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food and service and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our ninth stay, and each one gets better thanks to the management and hard working staff in all Departments, nothing being too much trouble
The Wellington Boot Restaurant has recently been refurnished and offers brilliant choices and quality of food with efficient service

Room Tip: Personally we prefer a superior room in the main house, but they are all very well furnished with en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us once again. I have passed your kind comments unto all the staff and we look forward to seeing you soon at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

In this, my second stay at the Hotel de Havelet, I opted for a deluxe room. It was a lovely corner room, with beautiful views of the garden. The hotel itself is perched up on the hillside overlooking the St. Peter Port harbor--the views are gorgeous. And the staff could not have been more helpful. The pool, sauna, steam room are great (though the pool chemicals were a bit strong the day I went.) Breakfast is huge, delicious, and varied. My only suggestion: They might try to hire wait staff who understand English a little bit better.

Room Tip: My corner room had beautiful windows and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Part-timeParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your second stay with us. I have passed your kind comments onto the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Believe all the positive reviews, just how can you say anything bad about this hotel. It's fantastic value, the rooms were cleaned daily including bank holidays, everything replaced and restocked. All facilities worked. The leisure room was a must for the kids and Dad loved the sauna/steam room, not to mention jacuzzi! plenty of towels, loungers and outside area to sun bathe on, even a spin dryer to dry the cossies after showering.

We went with the kids and thought Guernsey might be a bit sleepy, but this hotel is prime location above St Peter Port with wonderful views out to sea from the restaurants and bar, which we tried and were not disappointed. Ok some of the set meals are in the bar are a little sparse on the plate, but otherwise the service was great and the breakfast offering wide enough for anyone that wants a full stomach before exploring.

The staff will point you out the best places to visit, loads of leaflets around, there is a hotel shuttle bus - we didn't use, because we liked the hill walk and otherwise used car hire again sorted by the hotel reception. Budget £70 to just over a £100 if you want 2-3 days. They booked taxi's to and from the airport which cost between £12-15 depending who's driving. In fact hard to fault any of the many smiling staff on service, they just seem to have a want to please attitude and it really comes across as sincere.

They also advised us where to go for the Sark and herm trips, which you really can't miss when you reach the harbour walk. Herm island is a must in good weather, not only is it a fun crossing(about £33 for a family of 4), but the beaches are sooo quiet and just stunning. Do take a book, something for the kids and suntan lotion though, as little in the way of much else apart from the pubs and hotel. Back to St Peter PortThe harbour is loaded with places to eat and many do promotions for set meals - ideal for kids, between 6-7.00 p.m(odd ones up to 8.00 p.m). Mora is typical of this, as is Smugglers. The Boathouse too though we never ate there. All on the front and i'd say worth a trip for evening meals.

As for trips out, we did the German underground Hospital, the little Chapel(nice if you're into that sort of thing), the occupation museum(bit of culture), Oaklands for crazy golf, more beaches on the west side, Victor Hugo house - now thats real culture for an hour, if that floats your boat, otherwise bit boring for kids after awile Unlike the Castle Cornet - how many museums!! Plenty others we just never got round to. You can practically drive every inch of the island in a day though, just depends how long you want to spend at each stop really.

Anyway, would I recommend Guernsey for a family break, oh yes and as for the hotel... absolutely!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at Best Western Hotel De Havelet, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am very happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and food provided in the Hotel and on the Island as a whole. I have passed on your kind comments on to the whole team and I look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $87 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing