We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Bird Dinner Orders in before 6.30pm”

The Conservatory at Moores Hotel
Ranked #22 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant in the Best Western Moores Hotel.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Early Bird Dinner Orders in before 6.30pm”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a great choice for an early bird dinner with a menu which changes daily. This evening the choice was duck, steak, sole and mushroom risotto. Starters/ Main/ Pudding and coffee for £17.95 is really good value, well presented and the waiters were attentive and very polite. We enjoyed our after dinner coffee in the lounge which had a pleasant atmosphere. Nice location, clean and comfortable, white linen etc. Might be worth booking in advance as we showed up at 6.20 on a Wednesday evening but by 7pm people were waiting to be seated. The a la carte was also a popular choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chichester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unremittingly English Library Bar”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Channel Islands always surprise me. Given their location so close to the french coast, you might reasonably expect some kind of cultural exchange with the mainland and that is to some extent true of place names and infrequently restaurants. Yet in some places both the food and the notion of service remains unremittingly English, in so many ways like Isle of Wight.
Ignored for the first 15 minutes, while the person who looked like the manager chatted up the Lithuanian Blonde, we managed to order 2 carvery meals with a choice of lamb and chicken - both of which in the classical english way were cooked to death and completely uninteresting. By comparison, the vegetables were a regular treat. I couldn't be bothered to test drive any of the tiresome puddings and the coffee was predictable neutral.
If other reviewers think that food can be cooked fresh and served quickly, they understand very little about the catering business. Personally i see nothing wrong with waiting 20 minutes for something you enjoy, rather than the instant gratification of stuff that has been hanging around a hot counter for some hours. Come on-it doesn't have to be like this

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iainby4sChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Library Bar”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we ate here 9 out of the 14 nights we were in Guernsey. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.Good choice menu. All the food was cooked fresh , service was quick but this did not compromise the food. Staff were friendly and welcoming

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent service.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Four of us had a meal tonight we all enjoyed it very much will definitely return would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henrydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect pit stops”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went for a carvery a couple of times with nephews and friends food good and lots of it, very relaxed atmosphere and comfortable, probably the best value for money i had on my 10 day visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andydonkey o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conservatory at Moores Hotel also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Conservatory at Moores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing