We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living History”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Cornet

Castle Cornet
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Living History”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Touring the Castle takes an hour or so,, and is worth the time. For history buffs (like me), this is the place to learn about Guernsey all in one visit. Make sure you go for the Noon Cannon signal. Even more fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxChapelTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    316
    40
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wandering from the cruise ship in the sunshine”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We pottered from the cruise ship drop off point around the harbour and across the sea defences to the castle which was an easy 15 minutes walk. The entrance charge was £10 per adult which at first I felt was a little over priced, but the whole museum complex is brand spanking new and very contempary, so I could see exactly where our fee had gone and am happy to be paying for the upkeep of such a beautifully kept monument. One of our party was a keen photographer, and the views on this sunny clear day were worth the walk! The gardens are immaculate and show off the islands special climate. The noon day gun was full pomp and circumstance just as us Brits love it! The staff are knowledgeable and plentiful and the views from the café, lovely. This was two hours well spent before we walked along to the boathouse restaurant for a great seafood lunch. Not a good place for anyone with a disability of any sort. we are in our 40's and our 60's so very able and were fine. Kids will love the twisty castle steps and cubbyholes to run and play in! There is a large square of grass in the middle of the complex where some families were picnicking in the sunshine. The kids were playing ball together and laughter was in the air! Well done for ticking all of our boxes on this one.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovedaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Several museums in one location”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Fascinating castle, loads of history and several museums within. For a quick look round us the £1 special offer for the last hour. Quite a lot of steps inside and about a 600m walk from the main road.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for a morning out”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nood day gun was fun and we then had time to walk found at our own pace. The Maritime Museum was excellent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foggygom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Better looking from outside”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Access to the Castle Cornet is via long pier on the other side of the bay from the ferry terminal. The castle was first built in XIII century yet very little remains from its medieval past. So if you expect turrets, towers, great halls or chapels you might be disappointed.

Most of the buildings inside date back to XIX century or were converted into ugly bunkers by the German invaders.

Wander the ramparts with rows of cannons on display, visit several museums telling the past history of the island, admire a couple of well-tended gardens or just admire the views from its many vantage points.

The place is deceptively sprawling so you need at least an hour and a half to visit.

There is a gun salute at noon accompanied by piped music.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Cornet also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Castle Cornet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing