We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the old government house for one night while on a job in Guernsey. Guernsey looks great and although I arrived at dusk, I've marked it out for a longer visit to see more.

The hotel is in the centre of St. Peter Port - excellently placed. A first class welcome from a charming receptionist who made the arrival special. Less so from the porter Stewart who was asked to show me to my room. He took me to the lift and then gave me instructions, which turned out to be had to follow as the second floor is a bit of a warren.

My room, 215, a queen superior was luxuriously appointed, if a little on the compact side. A bit fussy for me, but not doubting a very comfortable and high bed, great well stocked tea tray and two easy chairs.

I didn't bring a cat, but had I done so I would have had a problem swinging it in the very compact bathroom. Great toiletries from L'occitane, but no where near the sink to unpack ones own sponge bag, and a shower that was a tight fit to get out of. No space to stand and dry oneself either.

Excellent service. A call from reception twenty minutes after check in to see if everythign was alright in my room brought a staff member with a wireless router as the interested signal in the room was not good.

First class breakfast, and a nice evening meal in the brasseries.

It's ceryaunky not cheap and at that price I could have done with more space, but no denying the service levels and quality of the place. First class

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    131
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
143
646
25
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to this little gem of a hotel and we were not disappointed. See our previous review from two years ago. Very quaint, like stepping back in time, in a good way. From sumptuous afternoon teas, to a great bar service and the best lamb curry I have had and customer service second to none . Any request will be catered for with a smile. Great position too for little walks into town. Do not be put off by the minority of bad reviews, this is a lovely charming little hotel, you will not be disappointed .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoopers070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel in January 2014. The room was very small, the desk was to small to be used for working, and the various lights of the phone, bathroom and fire alarm made an extravaguant light show at night... The bathroom was not heated and therefore super cold in January. While the staff was friendly, i cannot rate this hotel above the average for a five star (and five star pricing). The breakfast was also disappointing, and the wine served at the bar were also not "five-star" standard. On top of it, my magnetic room key didnt work on day two, apparently being erased by my phone. i cannot recommend this hotel and wont return.

Room Tip: maybe a room with view would have enhanced my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A very nice place with helpful staff but needs dragging kicking and screaming into this century. We booked a 3 night stay with 2 friends over new year, with a New Year Dinner dance with Jazz band, a black tie do!

When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a suite, which after looking at the first room we gladly accepted at an extra £70 per night. This gave us a bath that an adult could bathe in which was not the case in the first room.

A suite, with no fridge? We had to ask for a fridge for cold drinks, but the thermostat was broken so it froze all our drinks overnight! Popped coke bottles make a right mess!

The main restaurant is an Indian with limited choice and awful, expensive food. Breakfast was ok but the service was slow and without leadership or organisation with no one knowing if anyone else has asked us for our order or drinks, and a long wait for very small helpings.

The New Years Eve Ball was like a wedding do, with badly behaved children running riot on the dance floor and a pushy waiter trying to sell his wine and champagne for all he was worth (I would be happy if he worked for me!). We retired to a lounge area 30 mins before midnight but were never approached with an offer of drinks so had no way to toast in the new year!

The new bar area is nice and a very helpful bar man reserved us an area for the evening to have snacks and drinks and watch TV, the snacks were very good too.

I have spent less for 2 weeks in the Caribbean but you live and learn!

I think this place just needs to attend to the details, change the Indian restaurant entirely and buy some supportive pillows for all the rooms, improve the room facilities to justify the prices and they could be back in business. But as it is, it's well below modern travellers realistic expectations at these prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CliveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from a five day Christmas break at this hotel. The whole experience was just about perfect. The standard of the rooms and public areas exceeding our expectations by far. The hotel staff were extremely attentive and professional and saw to our every need. The food and service in both the Brasserie and Curry Room restaurants was exemplary as was the afternoon tea in the Sir John Coward Lounge. The spa, which has a well equipped gymnasium, steam room, sauna and chill out room, was outstanding. I cannot praise this establishment enough. A credit to the owners!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just stopped off here for a drink so I am only commenting on the bar area. We had a coffee and brandy in the bar. It has lovely views of St Peter Port and the bay. Well worth a visit. Lovely friendly staff too. I'll definitely come back next time I'm in Guernsey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carebear56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Old Government House Hotel is exactly what I expected -- old and charming. I booked the hotel on a business trip because it was the hotel with the highest star rating and it did not disappoint. Of course, there are the typical old hotel problems (creaky, uneven floors, old building smell), but they have done a good job of keeping the place up while maintaining its charm. And the bathroom was very modern looking and surprisingly nice. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Guernsey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kariyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
559 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing