We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Autumn Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Autumn Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent four nights at the OGH. Welcoming and friendly staff, comfortable rooms and nice location. Ate one night in The Brasserie (very good) and one at the Curry House in the hotel (OK - not brilliant). Hotel is in nice location. All the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms - much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    124
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
135
608
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

About a month ago we stayed here for a special Anniversary. We chose it without knowing anything about it other than having read favourable reports on several websites. We agree that we could not have chosen better anywhere. It was perfect from beginning to end, from collection at the airport to being returned there. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our five day stay. Our room, complete with champagne and flowers on arrival, was sumptuous, with a private balcony overlooking the harbour. The food is first-class and beautifully presented in a dining-room that is light and welcoming. The building itself is old with many rooms, each decorated in its own style; outside, the gardens surround the swimming-pool. We have stayed in many hotels world-wide but this is, in our estimation, exceptional. Personal service, marvellous location, superb staff. We will have to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoyKwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great hotel where you get what you pay for! Very characterful, and very close to the centre of town and port. Would definitely recommend to the wife. Nicest place I've ever stayed in the Channel islands.

Room Tip: Have the Afternoon tea, it's fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spitty_Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

What can one say about perfection! We booked on line and had a delightful e mail from the hotel asking what our preferences were for a variety of things such as the pillows etc. Marvelous and this before we arrived!
We were told of a potentially noisy function in the hotel and the staff did their utmost to make sure our seaview room was well away from any sort of noise. In the event, even with our windows open, we didn't hear a thing.
There have been many changes since our last visit two years ago. The Governors has now become a fine dining Indian and fine dining indeed. I had fish curry and brother it was as good as any I have had on the sub continent. There is a new bar which is a superb addition. We used it most evenings after a night out, then we would sit on the balcnony with a pleasant drink before retiring.
The staff were simply brilliant. We can't heap sufficient praise on each and every one of them. How many hotels do you stay in where the staff call you by name. In this hotel you are treated as a human being and not as a room number - very refreshing indeed.
We really enjoyed our stay in our home away from home and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked the hotel on line, and we then got an e-mail from them to ask about our preferences. What sort of pillows we liked, when we would we arrive, would we like any additional items and all in all it made the booking seem more personal. We arrived at the hotel, and as it is in the town of St Peter Port parking is limited, and so the hotel staff were able to take the car and park it for us. The reception staff were most helpful, and checking in was fast and efficient. We were at a function in the hotel, and the meal was excellent. The dining room staff were all very polite and courteous. They were attentive to our needs, and the meal was great. The bar staff were amazing, and so helpful. The room was excellent, and we had a view over the harbour and adjacent islands. There was a bath and separate shower. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were again most helpful. I would be very happy to stay here again. The hotel is an old converted building, so it has a lot of charm and character, but of course was not purpose built. It is well located for walking to town, has a swimming pool (outdoor) and spa. It is part of the Red Carnation Group. They also do a very good afternoon tea, but I would recommend that you book for that in advance as it can get very busy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I really like this hotel. Rooms are not huge but they are comfortable and well furnished with a comfy day bed, enormous and very comfortable bed, and old-fashioned comfy armchairs plus all the mod cons of TV, phone, internet etc. The spa is excellent, lounges are comfortable and welcoming, and the food is great - particularly breakfast. But what really makes this a lovely place to stay is the quality of the service. Nothing is too much trouble for the well trained but affable staff. Throughout the hotel, from concierge to chambermaid, it was service with a smile, which makes a wonderful change from the often surly or condescending approach of so many hotel staff in 5 star hotels on the mainland. Well done OGH. The only drawback is the location on a hill in St Peter Port, giving great views, but making access difficult for anyone with any physical disability.

Room Tip: Herm & Sark rooms give great views over the harbour and neighbouring islands, and have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a superb hotel. Great staff and so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our first time on Guernsey but it will not be our last and we will definitely go back to the OGH. If ever we needed any help it guidance the staff at reception and concierge could resolve the issue. A great placed to visit whether in or out of season and a great base go explore Guernsey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCRWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Property: The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing