We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have stayed here before but this time I thought I would finally get round to saying how good it is to stay here! We came over to see some friends and go for some nice meals etc. The rooms are clean,spacious and modern,beds are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We ate at the hotel on two occasions and both meals were lovely, generous portions as well. Trying to think of something that wasn't up to scratch but I can't! This is high praise indeed from a Jerseyman! Will be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valkering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 888 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel about 12 times and asked on booking for a Better standard double.
Remember my review worth more because stayed often.
On this occasion I was given a tired poor decor room with tied scuffed furniture
and a hotel extractor fan out side - that kept me awake. also tiny tv that didn't work.
I wrote an email to Hotel Management and received a arrogant emial reply only.

The hotel has refurbished rooms that cost more. Mixture of standard rooms some good
and some very poor. Hotel meant to be having new standard delux rooms soon.

THE HOTEL IS NOT INTERESTED IN RETURNING GUESTS AND TREATED ME BADLY
AND LEFT ME SHOCKED.

Some of refubished rooms are nice but the culture of Management towards Guests like
me was dreadful.
This Hotel has gone down hill.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarnia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I think this a most comfortable Hotel. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was large . Sheets changed daily and we also had a fridge in our room. The staff are very helpful and efficient. This is just a most pleasant hotel to stay in. The food is exceptional for the money that you pay. There is a nice bar,where lunchtime food is served and plenty of comfortable seating areas . Once you have found a hotel of this quality you seriously would not to want stay anywhere else.in Guernsey. We will certainly be back next year. I defy anyone to find a better 3 star hotel on the Island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimjams1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for four days in late September. The room was really comfortable, well-appointed and spotless.
The hotel staff members were very efficient, courteous and welcoming.
The meals were absolutely excellent, extremely well prepared, delightful and wholesome. We complimented the chef on the range and quality of the meals because they were way above the average hotel meal. The waiting staff too were quite charming, obliging, polite and very efficient.
In short, we enjoyed a really pleasant stay and I would without hesitation recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of visiting Guernsey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

If you are looking for high-end accommodation but with warm, home atmosphere with the friendly, efficient service, then the Duke of Richmond Hotel is the place to stay. I often travel to Guernsey, but this time, the hotel I normally stay at was full, so my company booked me in at “The Duke”. My cosy room on the top floor overlooked the harbour. It was immaculately clean, with beautiful, modern decor in keeping with the elegant style of the entrance hall. For dinner I decided to stay in and went down to the Cocktail Bar (which surprised me with its unusual ship theme). On the barman’s recommendation I sampled the local sea bass from their specials menu - it was simply delicious and well-presented. The whole atmosphere there was just perfect - nothing pretentious, yet elegant and homely at the same time.
As I was catching the red eye, I decided to settle my account the night before and although the girls at reception were quite busy with other guests (there was a large group of tourists staying at the hotel), once my turn came I was treated like I was the only one staying at the hotel! The receptionists were amongst the most friendly and professional I have ever encountered.
Unfortunately, as I had to leave early in the morning, I did not have the opportunity to enjoy my full breakfast in the restaurant, but had a freshly brewed coffee and fruit salad delivered to my room instead and which arrived spot on at the requested time. I can’t rate this hotel highly enough with its attentive, friendly service, they definitely know how to make their guests feel at home and make them want to return again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPIPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were made most welcome when we arrived at 10 am and coffee and biscuits soon were served to revive us after our journey, for which we were not charged. Our luggage was placed into the Baggage Room and put into our room when it was ready while we went out and enjoyed an interesting day at Castle Cornet. The room was large and comfortable with a flat screen TV on the wall and a balcony from which we could glimpse the sea through a frame of trees in the neighbouring park. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of space for our toiletries and those supplied by the hotel were replenished every day. The restaurant was pleasant and airy and we enjoyed all the food served by courteous waiters and waitresses. The young lady in charge made a special point of making sure everyone was satisfied. The weather was glorious and all in all we were very pleased to be there.
C &E White

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorcasisleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

1960s splendour at 2000 prices. The bathroom was so outdated and tiny. It took about half an hour to get enough water through the shower to wash my hair. The main rooms in the hotel were very dated and did not give one the sense of occasion. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryE103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $182 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing