We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel for four nights in a Junior Suite. We enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. Our room was superb with a lovely terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. The hotel staff are friendly and on the whole well trained. What is there not to love? You are asked on the critique to say why you cannot give a score of ten for the hotel.
1 .I am disappointed that in the restaurant at evening dinner a guest sat close to us wearing shorts, a scruffy sweatshirt and slip on shoes with no socks - hardly smart casual. 2. We do not approve of the pet policy. We love animals but would rather see designated bedrooms where pets can be accommodated and the public rooms being off limits. 3. Smoking is a problem in Guernsey which can in no way be described as a smoke free island and chain smoking on an adjacent terrace meant we had to close our patio doors. I have a propensity to asthma and dog hair and cigarette smoke can be an issue for me. We did not allow these matters to affect the enjoyment we had in such a beautiful place but it will affect our decision on whether to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear ChristineT39,

I would like to thank you for finding time to share your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel with other travellers. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort and elegant settings of our Junior Suite and also that you found our staff friendly and efficient.

I was sorry to learn that you felt disappointed at some of our guests’ dress code when you were dining in our Leopard Restaurant. We respectfully advise our guests that casual dress is required in our restaurant and public areas, however, on this occasion one of our guest failed to follow this policy. With regards to the pets staying in the hotel, being pet friendly we allow our small guests to access all the bedrooms, however we provide separate bedding for cats and dogs with rooms thoroughly serviced after their stay.

Guernsey has adopted non- smoking policy around the island and whilst smoking is strictly prohibited inside guest rooms, some rooms with the balconies and access to the terrace can be used by smokers, but we are pleased to notice that the request for those rooms allowing smoking outside has been getting less and less frequent over the recent years.

We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to the Duke of Richmond hotel and would like to ask you to contact me directly at the hotel next time you are planning your visit to Guernsey.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 879 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

In almost every respect this was one of the best hotels we have experienced in over 30 years travelling. All one would expect from a 4* hotel with particularly good staff - very friendly and most obliging. In the light of this the well appointed room was a disappointment- one of the smallest doubles and ensuite we have ever stayed in. One wardrobe door only opened a fraction, only just enough room to walk round the bed and it was impossible to stand centrally in front of and use the washbasin without burning ones arm on the heated towel rail. Would recommend the hotel but not the standard classic double room.

Room Tip: Check how much floor space around bed and view from room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Alison C,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. We were very pleased to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay and considered our hotel to be one of the best you have ever stayed at.

I am sorry that you found the classic room you were allocated on the small side but I have asked our reservations team to make a note in your guest profile so that, should you decide to return to The Duke of Richmond, we are able to suggest a more suitable size room category for you. I would like to thank you for your comments about our friendly and attentive staff and I know that they will all be thrilled to read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Duke of Richmond hotel next time you are in Guernsey.


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just had a four night stay at this wonderful venue where the food is faultless. We had an unfortunate start to our stay but this was quickly rectified by Helen, who was extremely helpful & courteous. Luis & Louisa, in the restaurant, are an asset to the hotel. This otherwise good hotel would benefit greatly if more attention was paid to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annhill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Annhill19,

Thank you for the kind comments following your recent stay with us, which I was delighted to share with my team. It was wonderful to read that you found the food served in our Leopard Restaurant faultless and highly appreciated the efficiency and service from Luisa, Luis and Helen.

I hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel on your next visit to Guernsey to re-assure you that our company’s motto of “no request is too large, no detail too small”, is very important to us in all aspects and all levels of our operations.


Yours sincerely,



Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We held our wedding and reception at the DOR Hotel the food and service was first class, they could not do enough for us. we stayed there for 4 nights with all our guests who have all said they would return. i would like to give a special thank you to Mr hilario pinto the banqueting manager for organising everything, and also the chef the other staff members the food was amazing.we had a junior suite and the room was beautiful and very comfortable, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: room 115 the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Jcranky

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback following your wedding reception at The Duke of Richmond. We were all delighted that you chose the hotel for your special day and that you and your guests all enjoyed the food and service. I will be delighted to share your kind comments with all of our team, especially Hilario and the whole banqueting and restaurant team, who will all be thrilled that they were able to ensure that your wedding reception was truly memorable.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond again very soon.



Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are from Australia. We spent three wonderful nights at this hotel in August 2013 - it's a pity that our stay couldn't have been longer. The staff members treated us like royalty. The food was excellent. If you are travelling to Guernsey, then we strongly recommend that you consider staying at this establishment. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wearyandsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Wearyandsick
I would like to thank you for posting this great review of your experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel. It is extremely rewarding for our team to know that their passion for excellence in everything they do have ensured that you left us having had a memorable experience. It was also wonderful to learn that you found our food excellent and that you received royal treatment from our team. We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you again to The Duke of Richmond hotel and that you will also visit some of our sister hotels in the UK and abroad.


Yours sincerely,



Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this beautiful hotel and ate every night in the conservatory enjoying really good food and the wonderful staff who came from all over the world. They were extremely attentive without imposing. From the start of our day with great choice of breakfast to sleeping in our large comfortable room we were truly ready to explore Guernsey. We did not have a car and did a ton of walking up and down steep hills The bus service is great and we went around the island.
We did not want to leave this beautiful friendly hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IsabelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear IsabelToronto,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel with other travellers. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed our varied, healthy breakfasts and great dinners served in our Leopard Restaurant. Our team will be pleased to read that you found them attentive and helpful and it was wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our elegant, well- appointed rooms, with comfortable beds that ensured your best night’s sleep.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel on your next trip to Guernsey

Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Again I travelled to the beautiful island of Guernsey and again I stayed at the DOR Hotel. All staff members have been as polite as always. Especially Olga of the restaurant staff and and Orlando have been wonderful, however, they are too many to name them all individually (although I always try to learn their names during my stay). Being an exotic person in the hotel as I am staying for 3 weeks and this for 20 years by now, I still enjoy the comfort, friendlyness and the good food, especially the daily specials which are made with nice ingredients. I look forward to see everybody again in 2014.
Gabriela from Germany

Room Tip: The rooms opposite Cambride Park are those with the most silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Gabriela S,

I would like to thank you for finding time to write this wonderful review following your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. We are very pleased that you choose the Duke of Richmond each year when you visit and hope that you always feel at home with us and feel that you have good friends at the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you loved the warm hospitality of our staff, many of whom you have known for years and also our delicious, freshly prepared dishes served in the relaxed, friendly atmosphere of the Leopard Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $148 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing