We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional friendly, clean and efficient hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An exceptional friendly, clean and efficient hotel.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional balance between friendly and professional. Nothing ever too much trouble for the plentiful staff. Breakfast a real treat with great coffee. Rooms fantastic and bed was the most comfortable I have EVER slept on.
My wife and I and our four-year son were made to feel so welcome in this hotel. We made good use of the heated outdoor swimming pool and the terrace which is a real sun trap until about 4:30pm. Particular thanks to 'Bianca' who made my son some paper boats and 'Orlando' the BarTender who was great fun and most engaging with us. This hotel is simply great. Don't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear MatthewCull,

Thank you for these wonderful comments following your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfasts, swimming and lounging by the pool and that you had the best night’s sleep on our comfortable beds!

I was also very happy to read that our staff, Bianca and Orlando in particular, have made you feel very welcome and provided the balanced service that Red Carnation hotels are famous for.

We all hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming your family to the Duke of Richmond Hotel for another memorable and relaxing stay!

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    155
    31
    12
    10
See reviews for
114
439
49
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel runs like clockwork, everything is where it should be at the correct time. The attention to detail cannot be faulted, the staff are incredible and they certainly know how to treat their guests very well. We stayed for 3 nights whilst on business locally and it was an absolute pleasure to stay at this hotel. The restaurant is simply outstanding, there is a relaxed friendly atmosphere but the standards of professionalism never slip - a true credit to the Hotel Manager and his excellent team, I cannot recommend The Duke of Richmond highly enough, the service surpasses hotels I've stayed with charging significantly more, it's excellent value for money. Having been travelling on business for 30+ years it will certainly be my first choice whenever I'm staying in Guernsey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Simon R,

Thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond for your stay and for taking the time to write about it on TripAdvisor. I have shared your review with the team and they were absolutely glowing! I am delighted that you like our unique restaurant, the helpful staff and the lovely atmosphere and delighted that you would choose to stay here again.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Long time visitor to Guernsey and was drawn to this place by a review in the Times follwing its 1930s style revamp.
Can't add much to the reviews below. Had the Alderney Suite which is the silver and red one in the ads which was great fun in its own right. Someone thought I was staying in Vagas!
Great service at Breakfast staff swarm round you like friendly bees, food great.
My only down points were that the fixed evening menu cards didn't entice me in for dinner (expected a daily table d'hote) and parking in the locality is a nightmare. Please buy up a bit of Cambridge park! Houskeeping also kept forgetting to replace towels tut tut!
It essentaily has all the ingredients of OGH but slightly more out of town and a little cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jonworld,

Thank you for choosing the Duke of Richmond Hotel for your visit to Guernsey and for sharing your experience with other travellers.

I was very pleased to hear that you were impressed with the Alderney Suite which also happens to be a favourite amongst many of our guests. Your kind comments about our excellent service at breakfast have been shared with the Restaurant team, who are indeed one of our greatest assets.

I was very sorry to read that you did not like the choices on our Leopard Bar and Restaurant’s a la carte menu. We do offer a selection of items on our daily specials board, including local fish, meals with locally sourced ingredients and vegetarian options to ensure variety.

As with any other property in central St Peter Port, hotel parking facilities are limited, however we are trying to cope with this issue by offering our guests to leave their car keys with concierge who are more than happy to park your car in the nearest available spot.

We have taken a careful note about replacing the towels, for which I would like to sincerely apologise and I hope this won’t deter you from choosing to stay here again.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel when you come to Guernsey again.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just returned from another superb holiday where we stayed at the Duke of Richmond Hotel in St Peter Port, Guernsey. Every aspect of the hotel is fabulous, especially the wonderful interiors throughout the hotel. Loved all the little extras - dressing gowns, slippers, bottled water by the bed, lovely toiletries etc. Every member of staff was welcoming, polite, genuinely helpful and committed to your personal service.

The cuisine on offer is absolutely exceptional, both in terms of variety and of quality. The dishes served are truly exquisite. The traditional breakfast is varied and consists of freshly-pressed orange juice, homemade pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, meat cuts, yogurts, and hot dishes (full English, bacon, eggs, sausages etc.). For lunch and dinner, you’re offered the same level of variety and quality.

The terrace and pool areas are fantastic suntraps and offer a tranquil haven, both spacious and well set out with comfy furniture.

Walk into town is only 5 to 10 mins, but quite a steep hill (don’t let that put you off !!), at least it helps to work off the dinner from the many good restaurants in town.

If you want to stay in luxury, be treated as an individual and want your needs to always be the first priority then visit the Duke of Richmond Hotel as it elevates comfort and holiday experience to new highs – you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie5081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Eddie5081,

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel and thank you for taking time to write such a fantastic review about your visit.

It was great to read that you loved the elegant and homely décor of the hotel and found all the little touches we provide for our guest’s utmost comfort very useful.

Our Restaurant and Kitchen teams were delighted with your comments about the quality, presentation and variety of the meals we are offering in the Leopard Bar and Restaurant.

Thank you again, and I look forward to meeting you on your next stay.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for one night, staff were very friendly and holpful. There is a good atmosphere in the bar and and great secluded terrace if you prefer to sit outside. I believe the hotel was redecorated 2 years ago and speaking to locals, the hotel is at a high standard.

Room Tip: Rooms are either overlooking the park, or down towards the harbour, so all are generally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Aidand,

Thank you for the kind comments following your recent stay with us, which I was delighted to share with my team. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed the great atmosphere of our hotel that is created by our friendly and professional staff.

I hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel on your next visit to Guernsey.



Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Although this was only an overnight stay for business I was very pleased indeed with the high standard of this hotel. From the outstanding entrance hall/lobby to the lovely patio at the rear, overlooking their heated outdoor pool. Staff were extremely helpful & friendly & the breakfast was outstanding. The best hotel breakfast I have ever had! My only criticism was the small bedroom. Beautifully decorated, immaculately clean but small. As I was on my own this double room sufficed but had there been 2 sharing you would have felt very cramped. I am aware that larger rooms/suites are available at a higher cost but when looking at the photos on the website be aware that these appear to be the ones in the official photographs & perhaps check before booking if you want to guarantee a larger room for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Clare50_11,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed our breakfast, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated bedrooms. We pride ourselves in offering warm and engaging experiences for our guests so it is wonderful to read that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations with regard to the bedroom size. Our hotel guest rooms vary in size and some standard rooms, which are smaller than the others, are normally recommended for short stays. However, as you rightly pointed out we are always pleased to offer for a reasonable supplementary charge any of our larger rooms which offer more space and comfort for longer stays.

I would love an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I'm biased. I live nearby, but this hotel is superb. The decor is interesting, eclectic and fun. The welcome is excellent every time and the food always excellent. It's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. The daily specials are always worth trying. The wine list is select but very good value for quality. Live music on Fridays is worth hearing. What really tops the experience is the friendliness of the staff - attentive without ever being intrusive, they remember who you are and seem pleased to see you. I always enjoy going here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Dogberry1258,

I would like to thank you for this wonderful, heartfelt review of your experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel. It is extremely rewarding for our team to know that their passion for excellence in everything they do have created a memorable experience for you. It was great to read that you enjoyed your meals in the Leopard Bar and Restaurant and that you enjoyed the live music on Friday evenings. We hope that we will have many more opportunities of seeing you again at the Duke of Richmond hotel and that you will also visit some of our sister hotels in the UK and further abroad.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing