We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday - Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just returned from another superb holiday where we stayed at the Duke of Richmond Hotel in St Peter Port, Guernsey. Every aspect of the hotel is fabulous, especially the wonderful interiors throughout the hotel. Loved all the little extras - dressing gowns, slippers, bottled water by the bed, lovely toiletries etc. Every member of staff was welcoming, polite, genuinely helpful and committed to your personal service.

The cuisine on offer is absolutely exceptional, both in terms of variety and of quality. The dishes served are truly exquisite. The traditional breakfast is varied and consists of freshly-pressed orange juice, homemade pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, meat cuts, yogurts, and hot dishes (full English, bacon, eggs, sausages etc.). For lunch and dinner, you’re offered the same level of variety and quality.

The terrace and pool areas are fantastic suntraps and offer a tranquil haven, both spacious and well set out with comfy furniture.

Walk into town is only 5 to 10 mins, but quite a steep hill (don’t let that put you off !!), at least it helps to work off the dinner from the many good restaurants in town.

If you want to stay in luxury, be treated as an individual and want your needs to always be the first priority then visit the Duke of Richmond Hotel as it elevates comfort and holiday experience to new highs – you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie5081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Eddie5081,

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel and thank you for taking time to write such a fantastic review about your visit.

It was great to read that you loved the elegant and homely décor of the hotel and found all the little touches we provide for our guest’s utmost comfort very useful.

Our Restaurant and Kitchen teams were delighted with your comments about the quality, presentation and variety of the meals we are offering in the Leopard Bar and Restaurant.

Thank you again, and I look forward to meeting you on your next stay.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 885 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for one night, staff were very friendly and holpful. There is a good atmosphere in the bar and and great secluded terrace if you prefer to sit outside. I believe the hotel was redecorated 2 years ago and speaking to locals, the hotel is at a high standard.

Room Tip: Rooms are either overlooking the park, or down towards the harbour, so all are generally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Aidand,

Thank you for the kind comments following your recent stay with us, which I was delighted to share with my team. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed the great atmosphere of our hotel that is created by our friendly and professional staff.

I hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel on your next visit to Guernsey.



Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Although this was only an overnight stay for business I was very pleased indeed with the high standard of this hotel. From the outstanding entrance hall/lobby to the lovely patio at the rear, overlooking their heated outdoor pool. Staff were extremely helpful & friendly & the breakfast was outstanding. The best hotel breakfast I have ever had! My only criticism was the small bedroom. Beautifully decorated, immaculately clean but small. As I was on my own this double room sufficed but had there been 2 sharing you would have felt very cramped. I am aware that larger rooms/suites are available at a higher cost but when looking at the photos on the website be aware that these appear to be the ones in the official photographs & perhaps check before booking if you want to guarantee a larger room for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Clare50_11,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed our breakfast, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated bedrooms. We pride ourselves in offering warm and engaging experiences for our guests so it is wonderful to read that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations with regard to the bedroom size. Our hotel guest rooms vary in size and some standard rooms, which are smaller than the others, are normally recommended for short stays. However, as you rightly pointed out we are always pleased to offer for a reasonable supplementary charge any of our larger rooms which offer more space and comfort for longer stays.

I would love an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I'm biased. I live nearby, but this hotel is superb. The decor is interesting, eclectic and fun. The welcome is excellent every time and the food always excellent. It's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. The daily specials are always worth trying. The wine list is select but very good value for quality. Live music on Fridays is worth hearing. What really tops the experience is the friendliness of the staff - attentive without ever being intrusive, they remember who you are and seem pleased to see you. I always enjoy going here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Dogberry1258,

I would like to thank you for this wonderful, heartfelt review of your experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel. It is extremely rewarding for our team to know that their passion for excellence in everything they do have created a memorable experience for you. It was great to read that you enjoyed your meals in the Leopard Bar and Restaurant and that you enjoyed the live music on Friday evenings. We hope that we will have many more opportunities of seeing you again at the Duke of Richmond hotel and that you will also visit some of our sister hotels in the UK and further abroad.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A special offer tempted us to stay here for 4 nights and have a Junior Suite. This hotel has recently been refurbished and is decorated in the eclectic style which the owner is famous for [I have stayed at other hotels in the US belonging to the Red Carnation group]. It is a 5* hotel yet it is also highly individual and that is why I loved it. The decor in our room was red, black and white with mirrored chest of draws and a red glass chandalier. On the way to breakfast you pass a life size bronze leopard and everywere there are personal touches which make you feel more at home [my husband loved the sweets in big glass jars]. The staff were attentive, pleasant and helpful. The only drawerback [not for us] was the 10 - 15 minute downhill walk into town - which means a steep walk home - but there are lots of taxis if you need them.

Room Tip: Look at them online and see if there is one whose decor appeals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear LadyGadabout,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel with other travellers. I was delighted to learn that you have stayed at other Red Carnation properties and that you think us worthy of 5 stars when in fact we are 4 stars. We are always proud to exceed our guests expectations, delivering friendly and professional service. Our team will be pleased to read that you found them attentive, pleasant and helpful and we hope that the minor inconvenience of a steep walk from town would not deter you from staying with us again.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had an overnight stay at this hotel and can honestly say you couldn't fault it. It has recently been refurbished to a really high standard. The rooms are sumptuous and ultra clean.

Their outside seating is lovely and their outside pool is heated to a comfortable temperature. They provide cool drinks at all times by the pool, towels are constantly replenished and they even provide sun creams if you need them. We were very impressed!

The staff were the best that we've come across in hotels so far. Very friendly and helpful without being constantly in your face. We had the full English breakfast which was excellent and it was a nice quirk that you could see the kitchen behind glass panels.

All in all a very pleasant stay and we will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

The only downside was that St Peter Port is very hilly and the walk back after a meal out was a bit of a killer. Think a taxi may be in order next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deaconess223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Deaconess223,

It was a great pleasure to read your glowing review following your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond hotel. I was delighted that you have found our newly transformed hotel impressively decorated, rooms spotlessly clean and breakfast varied and deliciously cooked. All your kind comments about our friendly and helpful service have been shared with our team who are always very happy to ensure that our guests enjoy their warm and genuine hospitality.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to the DOR in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my recent trip to the Channel Islands and I must say it is pure luxury. From when we first landed in Guernsey to when we left for Jersey 3 days later. The staff are polite and professional, who go out of their way to make their guests stay as trouble free as possible. The food is excellent, the rooms are quite spacious and the beds are the softest I have ever slept on. I never wanted to get out of bed because they were so comfortable. All in all a fantastic stay and if I ever go back to Guernsey I will check straight back in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Russ_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Travel Russ 20,

We were delighted to read this fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond hotel. Thank you for giving us top marks for our excellent meals, luxurious bedrooms and for the attention and friendliness of our professional team. Comments like yours are very motivating for all of us and it is wonderful to know that even a brief stay at our hotel left you with such lasting and memorable impressions.

We hope that next time you are on the island we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
866 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
749 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $149 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing