We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fog stopped homeward flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fog stopped homeward flight”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Due to fog at Guernsey, I was unable to get home so had to find a hotel for the night, and I'm so glad I found this one. An absolute stunner, with fantastic staff, super food and rooms to die for. The little attention to details really impressed me. I have travelled the world and stayed in some of the best hotels but I have never stayed anywhere where the TV remote has been sanitised and sealed in a plastic bag - how thoughtful! Cleanliness was absolutely faultless. Now when I travel I can assure you I will ALWAYS choose a Red Carnation hotel wherever I can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loolooBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear loolooBath,

We were delighted to read your fabulous review following your recent stay at The Duke. It is always very rewarding for us to learn that you, like many of our guests, enjoyed our hospitality and that you will consider staying in other Red Carnation properties in the future. The whole team is very proud to be able to offer guests a high level of hospitality and thoughtful touches to ensure that they truly feel that any Red Carnation Hotel is their home away from home.

We would be very happy to have another opportunity of having you stay with us next time you are on the island!

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    154
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
110
436
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked a room with a seaview and were allocated 317. The view from the room is at 90 degrees to sea, and looks out over the roof of the hotel restaurant and its terraces. We queried this with hotel reception, who confirmed that 317 is classed as a Seaview room. In fairness, turning 75 to the left does afford a partial view of the harbour, and the hotel have offered to try to move us, but they can't tonight because they are fully booked, and anyway we have unpacked and can't be bothered to move. I just wish they wouldn't play so loosely with their description of ' Seaview. ' Treeview might be more appropriate. Service at breakfast was somewhat slow, as noted by one other reviewer, and when we returned to the hotel today at 1540 the room service staff were still making up the room, even though we had left it at 1000! They apologised profusely, ' it's because we're full. ' No problem, but it will be interesting to see how this hotel copes in all aspects, when it's full tonight. Oh, and 317 seems to be a bit of a blind spot for the free WIFI, which keeps disconnecting itself. Going out into the corridor resolves the problem!

Room Tip: If you want a Seaview don't take 317.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billymac1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Billymac1955,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I was naturally very disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced during your stay and that particularly that your expectations regarding the view were not met. Please rest assured that I will be speaking to my Front Office and Reservations team to ensure that the different levels of seaview are explained fully to guests at the enquiry stage but in the meantime have asked them to make a note on your guest profile so that they can ensure that they offer you a sea facing view should you choose to return to The Duke of Richmond again.

Thank you also for advising me regarding the slow service at breakfast. It is true that the hotel has been very busy recently however this should in no way impact on the level of service and standards afforded our guests. Our Food and Beverage team have been made aware of your comment and rigorous training will be undertaken to ensure that guests are able to enjoy a delicious breakfast without having to wait any longer than is absolutely necessary to be served. Thank you also for bringing the issue of the WiFi signal around room 317 and I have asked our IT department to survey this area and carry out the necessary work needed to ensure that the signal strength is the same throughout the hotel.

I am very grateful for your feedback as it is vital that we are made aware of all issues both positive and negative so that we can ensure that our guests are assured of a memorable experience whilst staying at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. We hope that you will consider returning to Guernsey in the future and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Firstly guernsey isn't cheap. To get a B and B can be up to 100 quid so we decided to plump for 145 including brekkie in a nice hotel for our weekend get away. And what a nice hotel it is! A decidedly boutique feel greets you in the chess board floored lobby, ok perhaps the decor is a little 'faux Crazy Bear' but it's so quaint and the staff are so lovely you forgive them for anything.

The beds pillows and down duvet are to die for, in fact the quality of the rooms is first class. A short 10 min stroll takes you down to the town, quite steep on the way back so grab a short cab or work out your calves! The bar and restaurant are fab and very welcoming, 20 quid for a cracking bottle of Pinot noir. The view from the terrace at sunset its tranquil, I didn't try the pool but he whole outside area is immaculate.

Last but not least the brekkie is fab. The works with fried bread, black pud and fantastic coffee. Will def go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Louloubell2010,

I would like to thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond Hotel for your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the boutique ambiance of our hotel with its characterful interiors, friendly, attentive service from our team, comfort of our bedrooms that not only have their own unique deco, but also such important features as high quality linen, fluffy towels and bathrobes not to mention the luxurious range of toiletries. Our superb breakfasts make the most of the best seasonal produce Guernsey has to offer and have long become one of the most delightful and enjoyable experiences of our guests’ stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, which we hope will soon become your new home away from home.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the end of May, for our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful room (Room 503), with views over the town and sea. Service was impeccable from the minute we arrived until we left, especially from the Reception staff and in the restaurant. We had a lovely surprise on our anniversary, when a bottle of chilled champagne was left in our room. The hotel organised taxis to and from the airport and even arranged flowers to be delivered to my wife on the day of our anniversary. Food in the restaurant was superb, as was afternoon tea on the terrace. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dexter259,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow-travellers about your recent wedding anniversary celebrations at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. It was our pleasure to ensure you thoroughly enjoyed our fabulous rooms, delicious food, ambiance of afternoon tea service and most of all attention and heart-felt welcome from our friendly team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and hope next time you will also take away with you warm memories of your stay at the Duke!


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived fairly early and were greeted by the friendly concierge and reception staff who looked after our luggage so that we could have a wander around town before check-in time.
Check-in was efficient and we were shown to our rooms and helped with our luggage.
The rooms were not large but were very comfortable with an interesting padded fabric wall and thick carpets. Complimentary water and a free use of a safe in each room. Flat screen TV. Double glazed and a sea view. Air conditioning that functioned well.
Very clean bathroom with ample hot water and a power shower. Hairdryer. Heated towel rail. Complimentary bath gel, shampoo and conditioner. Thick white towels.
The reception area, lounge area and bar area were very distictive in their styling which made for an interesting environment in which to enjoy a drink. Complimentary drinks like iced tea and bottled water in the reception area too!
The restaurant and bar was efficient, friendly, professional and comfortable.
Breakfasts were help yourself cereals, fresh fruits, croissants, cheeses and meats etc etc and a cooked breakfast to order from an extensive menu. You can observe the "pass" and the chefs hard at work.
We ate an evening meal in the restaurant - absolutely delicious, fresh and well presented. Very attentive waiters without being over the top about it.
The whole hotel seems well managed, well trained, well organised and most important "Welcoming".
A final and unexpected touch was a delicious fresh cream and strawberry birthday cake left in my room which we shared with our friends.
Couldn't fault it even if I tried (and I won't) - therefore in my opinion 5* on TripAdvisor!!!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room for a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlienFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear AlienFootprints,

Thank you for taking time to write this fantastic review following your recent visit to the Duke of Richmond Hotel. It is enormously important and encouraging for all of our team to know that everything we do from welcoming our guests ensuring they are comfortable in their rooms, creating freshly cooked and delicious meals to friendly and knowledgeable advice on places to see and visit in Guernsey is valued by our guests and leaves them with warm, lasting memories of their time spent at The Duke and in Guernsey.

We are sincerely grateful for your kind comments and compliments that I will be very pleased to share with all my team who would be delighted to welcome you back to the Duke of Richmond for what we hope will be another enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

first class hotel, very comfortable room with lots of lovely little touches to make things special, decor of entire hotel very pleasing, cuisine first class, every dish delightful in quality, quantity and presentation, but the real star of the show was the staff, nothing was too much trouble, they knew what i wanted before i did, and provided it with smiles, and always remembering my name.
in future, when looking for a hotel, i will not be asking , is it 5 star? but is it a red carnation hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear hungrydavid,

We were thrilled to read your kind comments following your recent stay with us. It is very motivating for all of our team to learn that guests who choose the Duke of Richmond Hotel appreciate not only the impressive decor of our hotel, delicious food but also the warm and friendly atmosphere that truly allows our guests to relax and unwind, getting this unforgettable feeling of home away from home.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond when you decide to visit Guernsey again!

Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went to Guernsey for a long weekend to celebrate a friends 50th birthday. We stayed at the Duke of Richmond and from the moment we arrived to the time we left the service was fantastic. Even being invited to have champagne one evening in honour of the birthday girl :)

Little touches of having free bottle‘s of water in the lobby are appreciated. The bar staff were all very friendly (Carmen thank you for looking after us so well – we did keep you busy :)

Great hotel would highly recommend a stay. Thank you and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numberrr_six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Numberrr_six,

I would like to thank you for posting this wonderful review following your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. We are very proud and fortunate to have such a fantastic, enthusiastic team who ensure our guests make the most of their time in Guernsey and at our hotel. Carmen, whose cheerful disposition and fantastic cocktail-making skills is certainly one of our greatest assets.

We only wish that you could have stayed with us a bit longer and tried our delightful champagne afternoon teas, sampled our summery Mediterranean inspired lunches or enjoyed some of our signature dishes whilst watching the chefs cooking behind the glass of our amazing show-kitchen, but all this could be reserved until your next visit which we hope will happen sometime very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing