We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“j and a”
Review of Les Rocquettes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Rocquettes
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“j and a”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

had very enjoyable holiday made even better by all the staff at hotel who could not have been more helpful hotel great and food smashing . The leisure facilities were excellent and very clean. The hotel bus was very convenient

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    147
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
84
201
30
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week in September 2012.The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as was a fridge and the television was of high spec.The balcony overlooked the gardens and we would have used it more if the weather had been warmer although it was pleasant enough.It would have been nice to have had bottled water in the room and the flow of water from the taps could be slow presumably at times of high usage - but these are tiny gripes! The staff were all without exception friendly and helpful - from the cleaner to the receptionist and the bar and waiting staff. I noted that they dealt with one or two quite demanding visitors with great patience! Occasionally there were problems with communication with waiting staff whose English was less strong but these were always sorted out promptly. Having a free daily ( except Sundays) mini bus service from the hotel to the centre of the Town was very helpful particularly if one wished to get a ferry or a bus early from St Peters Port although it is only a 15 min walk. However if you are elderly or less fit I would think this would be essential. Sam the driver was great fun - ask him if he is still doing his number plate spotting - I guarantee you will soon be doing it too! The food was very good and the menu changed every night - why don't all hotels do this? The vegetarian food was delicious but I was forced to go on to the fish as I found that it had a tendency to be quite heavy and filling. This is always a problem with non vegetarian establishments - huge amounts of pasta risottos and cheese ( usually goats - not always to eveyones taste) served with vegetables which then contain two types of potato. When being served three course on half board this is a recipe for overload! Perfect the vegetarian options and you get full marks although you are still doing better than an awful lot of higher rated hotels in this respect. Did not use the spa as the weather was good enough to do lots of rambling around the coast line - and what a coastline! At some points you could see France Jersey Saak Herme and Alderney - breathtaking! Guernsey is a great place to stay but if it is wet and you have children I think that you might not find quite enough to do with them. As walkers we found this a wonderful holiday with wonderful accomodation and food and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Chose one with a balcony overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After some srious nagging from my family to take them back to Guernsey I decided to book into one of the self catering apartments at Les Rocquettes. These apartments are great if you have a family and want to be together rather than spread around the hotel or with the kids on put me ups.
As always we were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and the apartment was fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for the apartment if you have a large party, they are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSmith247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the hotel, at short notice, in a family emergency in August 2012 when it was very difficult to find accommodation without having booked in advance. The accommodation, food and facilities were all of a good standard and the price reasonable. Michelle on reception was worth a star all to herself, going the extra mile with a smile unprompted. She is a real asset to the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Philjkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Most aspects of our stay were excellent. Could be a bit noisy at night.Delicious vegetarian food served as half board option.Room large with balcony overlooking garden. Public areas of hotel appeared spotless.
Minibus shuttle is helpful after a long day although buses do stop outside hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for the friendly staff.
Didn't use spa.

Room Tip: Go for superior double on higher floor. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti1953_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Booking was painless and reception got us a 10% better price on the car ferry. We took a small car and it was perfect for the island. Our room was all we could hope for except that it was noisy and very warm - it's your choice - overlook the car park, plenty of sun and the sounds of a lively hotel - or less sun and overlook a lovely quiet garden. The pool was fine and well kept and accessable at all times.

Star turn was the restaurant, breakfasts were good, with lots of fresh local produce and dinners merited 10/10 on all occasions bar one (we went half board and did not stray out of the hotel for dinner). Service was really excellent - a perfect blend of friendly and efficient. We had two bar meals - both were of a very good standard - fresh crab and local chicken. One anomaly - dinner gave you generous pats of lovely local butter - breakfast foil packets of low grade mass produced butter.

The hotel in general and our room in particular was a credit to the Housekeeper and her staff.

We had a great week - we would recommend the hotel to anyone (we have already given the name to several people) and we will be going again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter and cooler in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The staff were very friendly,efficient and helpful. Quality and choice of food was good and served on hot plates. Cheaper food is available in the bistro but it's noisy and very busy. it pays to go early and book.
Our room overlooking the garden had a balcony and was a good size. Bathroom was great.

The gym and pools etc were good.

It's a steep walk down to town but the courtesy bus can be used and the buses are cheap and reasonably frequent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anen0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rocquettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rocquettes

Property: Les Rocquettes
Address: Les Rocquettes Hotel Les Gravees, St Peter Port
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Rocquettes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Les Rocquettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rocquettes Hotel St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing