We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely town centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a four night stay here and were not disappointed.It is situated right in St Peter Port's main shopping area and close to the harbour and bus terminal so we had everything on our doorstep. We had a twin 2nd floor room looking over the patio area. It was spotlessly clean, light and airy with a spacious en suite. There were tea/coffee/hot choc making facilities and toiletries in the bathroom and decent sized towels.
The dining room staff, especially those we encountered at breakfast were friendly and very efficient. The choice at breakfast was very good, buffet style for cereals, toast and fruit etc and individual order for a cooked breakfast of traditional English, eggs Benedict, smoked haddock and poached egg, kippers, even boiled egg and soldiers or any combination you require!
The dinner menus looked interesting and modern, though we chose to mainly eat out at various local restaurants as we were visiting a friend who lives on the island.
The only down side was noise from the bar/restaurant across the street in the evenings, however when you book a town centre hotel, I don't think you can really expect it to be quiet on a summers evening!
Overall, a great hotel and I would definitely stay again in the future. We found also that we didn't really need a car. The buses are nearby, regular and only cost £1 per journey wherever you want to go on the island.

Room Tip: If you will be upset by street noise in the evenings, ask at the time of booking for a room that doe...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 522AMANDA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear 522Amanda

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfasts and found the location so convenient for sight seeing and visiting the other small islands. I hope you will return and stay with us in the future, and maybe try out our dinner menu for yourself then.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Moores Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 534 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Have left today after a 5 day break and loved the hotel, room was spotless and everything you needed for a stay.our room was very hot when we arrived, mentioned to reception and by the time we arrived back from afternoon tea a fan had been delivered to our room! Beds comfortable though room a little noisy on the Saturday night (hardly the hotels fault) but thanks to the fan we were able to shut the windows and eliminate the noise!
Breakfast was great and we found all the staff to be lovely and helpful especially the Italian bar lady who gave us some great sightseeing tips.
Small clean gym too with basics needed for decent workout and all working but the spa area is where that 5th star was lost!! Sauna fine but the spa tub had a greasy brown ring around the inside like it had been a while since cleaned and the mirrors around had definitely not seen the glass cleaner for a while.a shame considering high standards in rest of hotel but overall a lovely hotel and would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Michelle J

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and for all of its kind comments therein, they are much appreciated. I am so glad that you found most things to your liking, especially the helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of your room.

I would apologise for the issues in the Spa, but these have now been attended to and will be closely monitored going forward. In the meantime I would thank you for your valued custom to date and hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Moores again in the not too distant future.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just had a weeks holiday staying at The Best Western Moores Hotel in Guernsey, this hotel is very comfortable and nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff, they are so friendly and helpful. The restaurant food is top class as is the bistro bar, the breakfast has a good choice of either continental or cooked English and smoked haddock or Kippers. There are lifts to all floors and the decor in the two lounges is good with very comfortable seating. A good place to stay in Guernsey if you want to be central to St. Peter Port.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Jackie S

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us and I am glad to learn that you found everything to your liking, in particular the service and helpfulness of the staff.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food and found the facilities of the hotel to be very comfortable, not to mention the central location of the hotel to be so convenient.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure and privilege e of welcoming you back to Moores in the not too distant future and in the meantime would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June, located in the pretty cobbled streets near to all the shops & restaurants. Excellent location for the ferries to Sark, Herm & Jersey & for the buses to all the tourist spots around the island. Food was varied and delicious and the attention to detail was great. Could not fault the service in the reastaurant; all the staff were well trained and very pleasant as were the front of house staff. Also, Christies' restaurant opposite the hotel, served the most wonderful chicken dish we had ever eaten. Our room was lovely with a large comfy bed and refurbished bathroom. Would definitely stay at this hotel again on this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Choose a room located at the back of the hotel. The night life can be a little noisy along with the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbG3152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear BarbG3152014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and for all of its kind comments therein, they are much appreciated.

I was particularly pleased to read how pleasant you found the staff and how much you enjoyed the food. I am glad you liked your room and the newly refurbished bathroom and we plan on continuing this programme of improvements this coming winter.

In the meantime, I would thank you for your valued custom to date and hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Moores again the not too distant future.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Food was lovely, we had the muscles and they were great, coming with chips and bread. All food being delivered looked very good too. We sat on the terrace which was lovely, umbrellas provided in case you wanted shade. Only slight issue was service, we sat down and were given menus and then waited a long time for our order to be taken. But I still recommend the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Sarah S

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch on the terrace. I am sorry the service was a little slow. During this glorious weather the Hideaway is a very popular lunch destination, and our staff are doing their utmost to look after everyone as swiftly as possible. We hope you will come back and see us soon.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I visit guernsey every week for business and have been staying in the moores every week for the lapse couple of years. The hotel is convenient for the main town, all the reception and bar staff are friendly and helpful, the food in the library bar is great. Can't fault the hotel at all other than I wish they had sky in the bar during football season then I wouldn't have to move !!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Anthony L

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad to hear that you are well looked after by our friendly staff from Reception and the Bar and we look forward to welcoming you back to "Moores" very soon.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight on our way from Jersey to Sark due to its very convenient location only minutes from the ferry terminal and the main shopping area.

The hotel is clean and tidy and located very centrally. The staff seem friendly and laid back.

We were in a room overlooking the courtyard drinking area/restaurant and which faces the street. Upon entering the room, it was very hot. The air-conditioning was ineffectual and noisy unfortunately and we couldn't sleep with it on, nor could we sleep with the windows open due to the screaming of drunken people on the street below. Added to this was a hard flat pillow. All in all, a pretty bad night's sleep! By the time we realised all of the above, it was fairly late and we had unpacked so asking to move room would have been more trouble than it was worth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, facing away from the street and bar - particularly on Friday and Saturda...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear LegallyB

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, although I am sorry to learn of the inconveniences you experienced.

Whilst I appreciate that you were only on a one night stay, there is little we can do to rectify a situation if you don’t bring it to our attention at the time. I appreciate you probably did not want to move rooms as you had already unpacked, but we certainly could have offered different pillows and a fan if you found the air-conditioning not sufficiently effective.

I am, however, pleased that you found our central location to be very convenient and that the staff were friendly. If you think we can ever be of service to you again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and I will oversee your reservation and stay with us personally.

In the meantime, I would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Moores Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Moores Central Hotel

Address: Le Pollet, St Peter Port GY1 1WH
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $120 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Moores Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stone Mansion, former residence of Lord de Saumarez, located in central part of town near the harbor & 5 mi to airport. The Best Western Moores Central Hotel enjoys an enviable position in the heart of picturesque St. Peter Port, Guernsey's capital, close to the colorful seafront as well as the financial and business centers. You will find the bedrooms, including three suites, all well-appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Moores Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Moores Central Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing