We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but restaurant not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed for a 5 day break & very much enjoyed the hotel and the very friendly staff. The hotel has been very recently refurbished & the rooms are smart & comfortable. There is no fridge in the room, which we felt should be provided, but if you ask for fresh milk it will be provided - although one staff member did try & charge us £1 for it!
We ate in the Restaurant on our first night - bad move. The restaurant is quite pretentious & doesn't exactly encourage you to relax, but the food definately isn't up to 4* standards. The mix of ingredients was a little bizarre - my turbot arrived with undrained spinnach which made the whole plate watery, & it was sprinkled with diced red peppers & fried vegetable crisps! We sent both puddings back - the peach tart pastry was raw, & my chocolate terrine was stale & tasteless - not what I expected from an expensive meal! We left the restaurant shortly after that - the staff were not exactly apologetic!
The hotel didn't charge us for the puddings but we still ended up paying over £70 for a very poor meal - I wasn't exactly happy about that but the lady on reception told me she was the chefs girlfriend - not exactly impartial although she was very friendly. I didn't feel able to push the matter further with her.
The terrace bar, grounds & pool facilities are very nice & well maintained.
There is a bus stop into town just outside the hotel, & it's easy to get around the island by bus - but the buses do stop running about 7.30pm so eating out means you either eat early or you drive - there are lots of good restaurants in town - we liked Christies.
The hotel gives you lots of tourist info but nothing about good pubs/food - I guess they want you to eat there. There is also a good chinese take-away 100yds to the left of the hotel entrance.
I did suggest that they could have more info available about local events - the staff didn't know about any of the easter events & we stumbled onto those that we found.
The breakfast in bed was good & delivered promptly, & the buffet breakfast & dining room was good - but with some bizarre background music playing - Demis Rousos & Celine Dion!
Overall - good facilities & comfy room - but awkward to get anywhere in the evening without driving, & with a poor & expensive restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 792 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2010

Having read some of the reviews i did have some concern, i wish people would be honest but to say this hotel is anything but a 4 star is rubbish, the rooms have been recently refurbished and are to a high standard. The hotel is a 20 min walk to the town centre, but the buses run to the minute so if you do not want to walk the bus stop is outside the hotel entrance and is 60p. Some thing i would have liked to know is there is a supermarket next to the bus stop 'Safeway 'and has all the normal stuff you may want including a bottle of wine for your room. Spa excellent and staff very friendly and attentive. the food in the hotel is good value in the terrace bar but a bit fancy for me in the main restaurant but it was a good standard presented beautifully. Rooms quiet and overall a very good break and i would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed in this hotel on a special offer they were running until the end of March and it is the first time we have been to Guernsey. We hired a car at the airport and found the hotel which was 10 minutes away quite easily. The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and feels like a 4 star hotel as soon as you walk in the front door. The rooms are well equiped with everything you need and the staff more than helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice from the hot and cold buffet and a chef preparing, boiled, fried and poached eggs which meant they were freshly cooked. Plenty of attentive staff who cleared the dirty plates away quickly. We had dinner twice and the menu choice and quality of the food was excellent and the wines were a reasonable price. There is an very good large swimming pool which is pleasantly warm, a jacuzzi and a separate male and female sauna and steam room. Everbody is provided with large towels and a bath robe. The complex has a local membership, so it was interesting talking to the locals! Also a small but adequate gym for the more energetic!
There is plenty to see and do on the island and we will definately be back to this excellent hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Myself, my wife and another couple stayed for a 2 night break at the end of Feb.
Having previously stayed at the hotel I was keen to experience the improvements that the hotel has recently been undergoing.
The difference was immediately apparent, the place has a much more clean and modern feel with dramatic improvements to the bar area and bedrooms. Gone are the avocado bathroom suites, replaced by a modern, high quality contemporary bathroom which really compliments the refurbished bedroom.
As per our previous stay the staff in all areas of the hotel were polite and friendly, with some even remembering us from our previous stay. This made us feel very welcome.
We ate in both the bar and Renoir Restaurant and on both occasions had wonderful meals.
Personally I am not a fan of buffet breakfasts, however, they seemed to have got it right here, with a constant stream of freshly prepared food coming out of the kitchen.
Overall a great stay in a much improved hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProspectPanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

As a regular business visitor to Guernsey, the most important things I want in a hotel are; good service, comfortable rooms, good food and a relaxing atmosphere. The St. Pierre Park is always my first choice when staying on Guernsey.

The staff were great as always, service excellent and the room was perfect. Free wifi, plenty of parking, spacious room etc. The refurbishment has only made the hotel better. I'll be back again next time. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Very good spa hotel with great facilities. The pool, and jacuzzi were a great treat as were the single sex sauna ans steam rooms.The rooms were average decor and the beds not that comfortable but we had excellent views of the lark duck ppont and fountain.The food was excellent as was the service provided. Everyone was helpful and very friendly. It was a fair way out of the main town but a bus service ran regularly into toen from just outside the hotel. Taxis were plentiful if a little pricey. There are also what appears to be good confernce and private party function facilities.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank RosaM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel on my bosses recommendation and we were absolutely delighted. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, always polite and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are large, well furnished with a contempory feel. We found the beds extremely comfortable.The bathrooms are modern, sparklingly clean and roomy. Breakfast is generous and service of a very high standard. Having stayed at many Hotels over the years this one seems to offer high quality at a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a relaxing break and be treated by the staff as if the were royalty. OUTSTANDING

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
617 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Rohais, St Peter Port GY1 1FD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $117 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Pierre Park Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is dedicated to providing our guests with warm and genuine hospitality. Located in 35 acres of stunning grounds just 1 mile from St Peter Port, it is the one of the most well equipped hotels in Guernsey for business events and conferences. The hotel also offers a variety of dining options, top spa treatments and one of only three golf courses on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Pierre Park
Guernsey Hotel Park Pierre St
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing