We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of China Red

China Red
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Skipton
2 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Turned up to find my reservation haven't been logged, this was no problem they sat us down with drinks and prawn crackers and took our order as they prepped our table. The food was excellent and the place was buzzing with people, lots of locals on a Tuesday night is always a good sign. Make sure you book, was about 25 pounds a head, starter, main and dessert, top class.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    80
    30
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
channel islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!! Excellent!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Been looking forward to eating here for so long after such high recomendations from friends. Well, it was FANTASTIC!! On entering the decor, atmosphere and welcome from the staff was fantastic. We felt totally relaxed offered a drink and time to view the menu's before placing our order and then being escorted to our table. The decor is stunning and intimate for couples and small groups.. Everyone was having a lovely time. The staff were very attentive and catered for our every need. As a couple we chose to share a mixed platter of chinese delights, fish, meats, crispy seaweed, spring rolls etc with a lovely dip. My husband even learnt how to use chopsticks, which added to the enjoyment!! :-) We chose a set menu for 2, but we added onto that a 2 more favourite dishes of ours that didnt happen to be included. We could not stop 'Nom' Nom' Nomming' after every mouthfull ! Thecantonese beef dish was so succulant, the crispy chicken is to die for, chilli chicken with cashews was spicy, but moreish! Nom! Cannot reccomend this place any more to ANYONE of any age! ( we saw young teenagers out with their parents and older couples 70 + ( all licking their lips! ) We finished on a liquer coffee, and a fortune cookie each! DO NOT GO TO GUERNSEY WITHOUT VISITING CHINA RED!!!!! We cannot wait to go back - if only to eat here again!!!! :) :) :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A new specials menu has been added to an already extensive a la carte menu. The beef was fantastic. Impeccable service and delicious food made for another great evening. Best to make a reservation otherise you may have to settle for a take-away. A slightly curtailed menu but good all the same. And -15%.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1957Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely tasty meal indeed”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I had googled this restaurant before our day trip over from Poole. Easy to find and headed back just after opening at 5.30pm - very busy indeed and wished we had booked!! But they managed to seat us as long as we were done by 7.45pm. Saying that we didn't feel rushed whatsoever. Fabulous steaming hot food and lovely caring staff. Lovely decor inside - so much so I felt a little underdressed. Definitely be back again next time we visit - making sure we book before hand.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orca5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sannat, Malta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The food very good, a lot of seafood and more unusual dishes.
Didn't look much from the outside but beautiful inside.
I have been to a lot of Chinese restaurants around the world and this is one of the best.
Very friendly staff which you don't always get in Chinese restaurants.
Abit more expensive than I would usually pay but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Red also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to China Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing