We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant break”
Review of La Piette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Piette Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant break”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at La Piette..The Hotel is run as a very much hands on establishment by the owner Mr Kelly, who has the support of a very friendly ,helpful, professional staff. The restaurant was excellent and the Hotel bar retained the feel of a good local pub, many local people use the bar as apart from the easygoing atmosphere, prices were not the normal hiked up ones that is usually the norm for many Hotels. Our room was excellent by the way. If you are heading for Guernsey for a long weekend or more? Then La Piette is well worth considering. We traveled from Poole to the Island via Condor Ferries as suggested by La Piette. two people and the small car cost less than £ 150 when we booked March 1st.

Mike Gale (Oxford)

Room Tip: One with sea views would be my first choice but any of the rooms , would I am sure be as pleasant as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
41
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ate in the Sea View Bar and had the best Chicken Laksa to the west of Malaya! The set menu looked good and drew me in but once inside the specials looked so good that I chose the Chicken Laksa served with crusty bread, and it did not disappoint. A pint of the local beer, the cheese board and a glass of port rounded it off.

The staff were attentive, polite and helpful without being all over me. The bar was busy for a Monday night in February which gave it atmosphere, and nosing at the food being eaten by the other diners (is that just me who does that?!), it all looked to be good quality and good quantity and good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinABristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went to La Piette Hotel for a tennerfest and ended up having a la carte in their bistro which was roomy yet cosy. Staff lovely, not overbearing and lets you not feel rushed. Very surprised at the
food, was cooked lovely the sauce was homemade and the chips were to die for! The cheese platter was one of the best I've had for a long time and was reasonably priced. Wines are very well priced too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebellGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This small hotel, pub and restaurant has bags of character in a period house converted to a hotel.
It succesfully manages to seperate the different arms of its business. A cosy puib at th friont overlooking the beach seperated from its restaurant by a reception area ensuring that diners are not interupted by noise from the bar. The dining room has grand wooden pillars, a panelled alcove and a huge fireplace with carved horses and jockeys on. An ajoining restaurant area is less grand and more functional. So try and get a table in the first area if it's for a special occasion. The food is very good , not too fussy but feels like it's proper restaurant food with a decent range of dishes cooked to a good standard. There is also a pleasant out door area at the back which can be good if visiting in the summer. The rooms are are a little old fashioned and unremarkable . They are clean ands comnortable but not special . But if staying in Guernsey not a bad place to be , worth eating in at least one night of your stay and in a good location . About £90 for bed and breakfast and they often do a very good half board deal which is worth tajing wqith a three course meal for £15

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from a short break at La Piette in St Peter Port, Guernsey. I family run smallish hotel on the front with views across the Herm.. We received a very warm welcome and have been well looked after in this busy hotel popular with local for a drink on the way home. Food in the restaurant has been good particularly the fish. We were with my elderly father in law making a visit to see family on Guernsey. Nothing was too much trouble. I can recommend this for a business stay or leisure.

Room Tip: A sea view would be an added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My first trip to Guernsey, we came both to enjoy Guernsey and to attend the recent festival. Hotel has perfect location for both the town and the festival site. Staff were friendly, rooms decent, breakfast good. Nice bar on site, views of the sea. What more do you need?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for six weeks for business and it was perfect. Location was brilliant, ten minute walk into the town centre for restaurants and shops and located close to several restaurants and supermarkets. I was lucky enough to stay in a recently renovated room with a sea view which was lovely - I could watch the sunrise from my window. The hotel was still in the process of renovating rooms and some of my colleagues had the older rooms which were still very good quality. They had several types of rooms available- doubles, twin, family rooms which I think is excellent for such a small hotel. Breakfast was high quality and personal with the waitress remembering details about what we would want to order. The bar is popular with guests and local residents. The restaurant is amazing and we all worked our way through the menu during our stay. Good home cooked food! Again great service in particular from Johnny and Zanni who really made our stay at this hotel - they regularly remembered what our drinks were and made us feel at home and that they would do anything to help us enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, even though it is next to the road the traffic will not disturb you and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms21cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
644 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piette Hotel

Property: La Piette Hotel
Address: La Piette Hotel St. Georges Esplanade, St Peter Port GY1 2BQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Piette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Piette Hotel in St. Peter Port Guernsey dates back to the 1700’s with many of its original architectural features remaining including a magnificent carved wooden fireplace, rumoured to have come from the town church in 1870.Over the years La Piette Hotel Guernsey has been extended and improved and there is now a mix of contemporary and original styles throughout.La Piette Hotel is the only seafront 3 star hotel in St. Peter Port Guernsey, providing stunning sea views of the neighbouring islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark and on clear days Alderney, Jersey and the French coast. Sunrise over the islands can be simply spectacular!La Piette Hotel is ideally situated for both business and pleasure: A five to ten minute stroll along the seafront will take you directly to the heart of St Peter Port, the islands capital with it’s picturesque harbours, quaint cobbled streets, restaurants, shopping and the financial centre. If you are visiting Guernsey on business, a short walk in the opposite direction is the Admiral Park business and commercial centre.Open all year round this Guernsey 3 star seafront hotel has a choice of bars and great restaurants and offers excellent value short breaks. The only seafront 3 star hotel in St Peter Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Piette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Piette Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing