We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money.”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Positives:

Breakfast choice: either full English breakfast or Pancakes with honey and mushrooms or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Also cakes, fruits, coffee and a variety of cereals are available. Breakfast choice still suitable for vegetarians, although for a vegan it would be limited to soya milk, cereals and fruits (better than most hotels for a similar price)

Cleanliness: Full marks to the cleaners of the hotel, the bathroom (shower, sink) and hallways are immaculate. Even the breakfast hall is very clean.

Price: During summer average price per hotel in Guernsey is £80 to £200, yet I paid £59 via booking.com. For the location (a fews mins from town) with parking, cleanliness, wifi, breakfast then the price is good value for money.

Wifi: Wifi included in the price, unlike many similar hotels which only offer free wifi on the ground floor near the reception.

Convenience: the hotel is 5 to 10mins away from St Peter Port town.

Small Library with interesting collection of books

Free fresh fruits available throughout the day.

Comfortable lounge with Sky TV

2 iMac desktops available downstairs for guest to use.

Comfortable leather sofas, with access to newspapers.

Alcohol bar. (I do not drink so cannot verify prices)

Garden chairs.

Out of the Hotels Control

No beautiful views of Guernsey due to location.
Tricky to navigate to the hotel if unfamiliar with Guernsey roads and filters.
Parking congestion - car park small and congestion likely if full house
Hotel few minutes away from a busy junction (filter) so could be tricky when walking at night especially for those that would have had a drink or two.

Things that could be improved:

I dont mind cats, but some guests perhaps could be sensitive to pets hence need to limit where the cat can go and roam around.

Signage - possible a sign by the filter or by the bus stop to direct guests to the hotel.

Possibly put the ironing/extra bedding in the cupboards on different floors rather than having to come down stairs to grab them.

Room Tip: Choose Abbey Court Hotel and not Grisnoir Guest House, there is a vast difference in quality,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel mainly caters for overnight stays for workers/business people. However we had opted for a superior room which was excellent with lots of good storage.
The hotel is clean and bright with an excellent breakfast room.
However, the staff at breakfast rarely smiled though their english seemed good enough. They also staffed the bar and again they were less than friendly.
The menu for hot dishes at breakfast was excellent but the fruit consisted simply of a fruit bowl of apples, oranges and bananas which was very disappointing.
We would probably stay there again but breakfast could defiinitely be improved

Room Tip: Go for a superior room - well worth the extra if you are staying several nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250bridgemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Abbey Court for two nights. Great value, very comfortable and friendly, helpful staff. Good location with a 10 minute walk down hill to town. Lovely large lounge with free use of computers, super garden. Absolutely no complaints and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SopsChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband & I stayed one night en route to Sarke. We were greeted warmly on arrival & had a spacious twin room, with a nice thick carpet on the floor. Although the hotel is a little out of the port, up the hill, it is only a short walk to the town. One word of advice for new travellers to Guernsey. Although there were very full and adequate instructions in the hotel about the bus services, we arrived in the week when a new bus company had taken over, doubled the fares and changed the routes and bus numbers. This left us a little mystified. The hotel staff explained it to us the next day and complained about it. Check with the tourist office for the latest information.
Our room was comfortable, the feather duvets warm & comfortable and the hotel was happy to supply us with fresh milk for tea and coffee.
The breakfast was very good, with an excellent choice of menu. This is a two star hotel, which does not serve evening meal, but as there is so much choice in the town, not too far away, we did not find this a problem. Overall, excellent value and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, or to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I picked this small hotel from the recommendations on TripAdvisor. I am at a loss to know why some previous guests rated this place as "excellent". I arrived on a freezing cold day to be told that heating in the room was only on from 5pm to 7 pm and, no, we don't do meals (except breakfast). The room is clean and the shower works and that's about it. Quite honestly it's impossible to give this place even an "average" rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spacious bedrooms.Clean linen and nice clean feeling. Easter was extremely cold and our bedroom (and bathroom) was warm and cozy.
Main bus route stop close. Bus service excellent and affordable(and fun) Spent lovely time at the Abbey!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EStruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I travel to the Islands pretty often and this was a last min booking and I just wanted a pillow as I was taking clients out so this suited me fine. Service was ok when the guy eventually appeared a presented me with the key. Room was sparse but I knew what I was getting. Value is exceptional really. All good and just a 10 min walk into town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
2.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Court Les Gravees, St Peter Port GY1 1RL
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: $86 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very attractive top-value family owned and operated hotel, in a quieter area on the outskirts of town, is only 15 minutes walk down to the shopping centre. A former Regency period residence, adapted sympathetically, the Abbey Court provides a relaxed, friendly and informal base and is ideally placed for St Peter Port's many attractions and has the added benefit of being very well served the the Islands excellent bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing