We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of training and it would be perfect”

Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #49 of 131 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Price range: $28 - $37
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A bit of training and it would be perfect”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had something to celebrate and as the Fermain Valley's new Ocean Restaurant was within staggering distance, and it had been advertised quite extensively recently, we decided to give it a try.

The food was perfect. The service from the restaurant staff was friendly and efficient save for a few minor niggles which a bit of training would easily remedy (albeit one rather moody waitress persisted in chewing gum which let down the rest of the team a bit). The Restaurant Manager was excellent.

All in all a very pleasant experience and we look forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faircrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very good service and great decor”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Dined in Ocean the hotel's seafood restaurant - really liked the décor - well done designer. The staff were mostly delightful French students but their supervisor was also very pleasant. The food was fine not amazing, and there was a small problem with the desert, but the young man dealt with it very well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent decor”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The Ocean restaurant's decor is fantastic and gives a wonderful ambience. Menu is limited but has a interesting variety. Food was lovely and well presented. Scallops and lobster dishes were outstanding. The staff were very helpful but service was a little slow. Would certainly come back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portchester, Fareham United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Don't have a room above the cinema, it's not sound proofed.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Otherwise a fabulous hotel, restaurants, pool and sauna. Scrum my meals, attentive staff, comfy, small room, plenty of toiletries and tea and coffee, fresh fruit etc.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marlynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Six of us went out for a meal at The Fermain Valley where Mr Steen the Hotel Manager welcomed us and we were quickly seated in the bar area for pre dinner drinks.

The Ocean Restaurant has a nautical theme but to a very high standard and the décor is almost as tasty as the food !

The friendly staff throughout the hotel was extremely refreshing and they are a credit to the industry.

We were a little noisy as it was my step daughters 21st birthday but nonetheless everyone in the restaurant appeared to be in high spirits and having a great time so I think we managed to fit in.

When I go out for a meal I normally don't expect too much and am therefore not normally disappointed however this meal made me realise that we should expect high standards in this day and age and the Fermain Valley and their staff really delivered on this.

Thank you for a wonderful evening and all the laughs.

TenaciousJ

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TenaciousJ_8D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fermain Valley Hotel also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing