We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
lincolnshire
1 review
“fantastic weekend break”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This was our first visit to Guernsey and we thoroughly enjoyed it.The hotel was not too far from the airport and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home.The double room we had booked was very clean ,light and airy with a good view.The en suite was large and very clean and everything we needed for our stay was here.
We chose to have an evening meal two nights of our stay and the quality and the presentation was first class.The breakfast in the mornings was very tasty with everything freshly cooked and plenty of fruit juice cereals grapefruit segments and toast to set us up for a good day sightseeing.The hotel was well placed for getting into the town centre and also for walking along the many cliff tracks.We had such a good weekend and will certainly be back to this hotel,the owners and staff of which were so friendly

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwomanlincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    61
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
75
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The hotel is away from the traffic and noise of the main roads but you can still walk to St Peter Port in 40 minutes and be on the beach in 15 minutes.
The room was simple but clean, spacious, bright and with everything you need.
The staff is amazing. Attentive but not intrusive and always with a sincere and welcoming smile.
The food is fantastic, both at the restaurant, opened to everyone , and at the breakfast bar.
The swimming pool is small but very well kept and inviting. We didn't have the chance to use it though.
This a great hotel made special by the staff and the food.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I felt welcomed from the minute i arrived until the last minute i left.
The staff and management are extremely welcoming and professional. The rooms were adequate but bar and the menu was excellent. The fact that they watched everything to make sure that everyone was treated so well. The breakfast was excellent and i cant reccomend the hotel more highly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I had a lovely stay at Les Douvres. The hotel is charming and comfortable, has a nice bar and excellent restaurant (every meal was delicious and superbly presented). Rui and Angeline were attentive host and hostess. The situation of the hotel was perfect for me; a bus stop outside made getting around easy and the cliff tops a pleasant 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Within walking distance (approx 15 mins) of some of the most beautiful cliff walks. Clean, large, bright room with plenty of storage and very comfortable 6' bed. Evening meals were excellent, with the option of a nice intimate eating area. Rui and Angelina even gave me a thoughtful surprise on my birthday! They made us very welcome and we wish them every success. We would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADGUILDFORDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Gatwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2010

What a delightful experience! We were made to feel so welcome and treated as if we were the only guests in the hotel by the lovely Angelina and Rui. The food was some of the best we've ever tasted whilst the room was everything we wanted; the bed was very comfortable, towels were changed every day and the refreshments were kept topped up. Les Douvres is also in a lovely location with a variety of walks on the doorstep. We were very impressed with everything about Guernsey and have absolutely nothing negative to say. Our week there was a very happy and memorable one and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingqueen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiMoreira, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Hello, thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel. We are happy that you spent such a great time with us. We hope that you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

The hotel is great, the friendly and helpful service from Rui & Angelina is outstanding. The food, excellent. Guernsey itself - a small island, I don't think we'd want to spend 2 weeks there. (We're not beach people.) But some interesting museums of the German occupation and St. Peter Port is a very nice little town. The coastline is lovely. Narrow roads, much backing up to pass other vehicles but there is a good bus service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantopragmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
557 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing