We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The full breakfasts were excellent as were the two different dinners that we had. The hotel is 300 years old, but very charming. The location is good, especially if you like to hike the cliffs along the south coast. All in all, our stay there was wonderful. We had no complaints, and we thought it was excellent value. We were particularly pleased with the attention given to us by the young couple who run the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiMoreira, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

Hello, thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel. We are happy that you spent such a great time with us. We hope that you will come back soon. Rui and Angelina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Les Douvres Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 183 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2010

New owners Rui and Angelina could not have been more accommodating when we arrived for our short visit. Clean, warm rooms; fresh linen and towels every day; friendly old-fashioned service by real people who care about what they do; great food in the bar or restaurant (local residents visit on an evening - always a good sign); plus excellent access to coastal walks and bus-routes. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanGSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuiMoreira, OWNER at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

Hello, thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy that you spent such great holidays with us. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We booked a long weekend at Les Douvres and will definitely be returning soon. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were all most helpful and friendly, and the food was absolutely superb. Full marks.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We arrived at the hotel early morning and were met by friendly and accomodating staff who went out of their way and provided breakfast for us. Through our 5 night stay staff amd management were attentive, helpfull and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean, tidy, comfortable and quiet. The bar had plenty of local customers, the real ale was good and prices were fair. The restaurant was excellent and good value for money: food was of the highest standard due to the superb chef. Hotel was set in it's own well presented grounds, very close to local bus stops and a short walk to Saints Bay. We would recommend the hotel and certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one week and couldn't have been more pleased. Despite the hotel not expecting us until 2 days later ( their fault not ours) they very quickly sorted out the problem and we were give a lovely large room ( No.34) that overlooked the small pool.
The hotel was spotless, towels changed daily and pool towels were available from reception. The pool is a small heated kidney shaped pool (see photo) that was lovely to get back to after the delights of a day round the island. It was our 6th visit to Guernsey ,in 33 years, and was the best place that we have stayed at on the island. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. We ate in on 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the breakfasts were excellent.
Any visit to Guernsey is a delight, staying here just added to the pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This was my first ever 'solo' holiday, i was anxious to be travelling alone, no one to meet me at the airport (Les Douvres offered to arrange a taxi to meet me) .

On arrival at the hotel I was made very welcome, the room was first class, the food really good, and the staff without exception were most helpfull and so very pleasant.

The staff were also very knowledgeable about the island and transport.....I would most deffinately have no hesitation to stay at Les Douvres again, and have already reccomended it to my family, friends and work colleagues....

I have visited Guernsey several times in the past year, and visit as often as finances allow, my next visit is the end of May 09 and if i was not staying with a good friend i'd want to be at Les Douvres.... A big thank you to all the staff there, you're great !!!!

GUERNSEY HAS MY HEART....

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyloch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We had a fantastic stay. I would definitely recomend this place to anyone visiting Guernsey who wishes to relax and be looked after in style. We will be going back again. We booked Les Douvres (with some trepidation having seen previous reviews) because my parents wanted to go back to their original honeymoon hotel for their diamond wedding anniversary.

The manager Rui and his wife Angelina were outstanding and it was because of them that our stay was so good. They and their staff were so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and most of the things we would wish for they had anticipated.

The hotel itself was spotlessly clean. it is a beautiful old small country house type of building decorated in a traditional style, so it isn't a trendy boutique hotel, but the attention to detail was faultless. We had four rooms in the main house. One of the rooms would be small by US standards, and the en-suite bathrooms and decor are a little dated, but they were all so perfectly clean and recently decorated that this didn't worry us.

Eight of us ate dinners each night either in the restaurant or bar. As we each had three courses for each of the three nights, we sampled most of the extensive menu and all bar a single dish was superb; The only single exception was on one night I had a chocolate fondant which wasn't as soft in the middle as I like. It was still good, so really I am just being picky. 71 out of 72 dishes being superb is very impressive in my books.

The outstanding dishes were the fresh fish dishes of the day. The restaurant is quiet and secluded, whilst the bar is livelier, so we mixed venues during our stay. The locals obviously appreciate the food, as there were plenty of them in the bar restaurant.

The pool area is a real sun trap and we all enjoyed sitting by the pool, even though it was April. The pool area and the pool itself were spotlessly clean. The local pottery was also worth a visit.

The location of the hotel is great for walking and exploring the island. We took a short walk down to two local beaches, and longer walks in both directions around a headland one way and along the cliffs up and down into coves the other. The hotel is right next to a bus stop for the bus to St Peter's and we explored the island by bus one day. There is a bus that goes all around the island, we stopped at St Peter's Port and on the other side of the island.

We were very sad that we could only stay for three nights, but we will certainly be staying there again when we next visit Guernsey.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martin
334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
816 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martin GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $91 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing