We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a week staying in a one bed self catering apartment at La Barbarie (Suite 112). We chose this hotel following the previous TA reviews and we were not disappointed in any way. We can honestly say that this is one of the best run and most professional 3 star hotels that we have ever stayed at, any where in the world, over the last 30 years. Andy, the Managing Director, runs a very well organised establishment and it shows, by a very good team spirit amongst his staff.

The dining room staff led by Ivo, were particularly attentive and although most of the staff are from overseas, they were some of the most friendly servers that we have ever encountered and above all, they were always smiling and seemed happy in their work. A rare sight in some hotels these days. The restaurant was always busy on each night we ate there, but we never had long to wait between each course. It is not surprising they have won so many awards.

The hotel booked our ferry crossing via a local travel agent and we got a considerable discount, rather than direct through the ferry company. We also booked the evening meals in advance, so the Table d’hote was only £17 each. A real bargain. You could mix and match with the a la carte menu for small supplement. The table d’hote menu was different every night. The food, especially the fish and lobster, is absolutely brilliant and we had no complaints whatsoever. Although we never saw the chef and his staff, we offer our whole hearted compliments. A great testimony to this restaurant is the large number of locals who eat there. Always a good sign.

Our apartment was a 1st floor one bed flat, with a king size bed (two single divans together), a bathroom with shower and bath and a kitchen/dining/lounge area. It was all well presented and clean. Although there was a warning note about water pressure problems, outside of the hotel’s control and boundaries, we encountered no problems, although the internal water pipes were a little noisy at night, especially when other apartments flushed their WC’s and the cisterns refilled from the main tank. The site is fairly compact and there is a small heated pool, with a few tables, chairs and sun loungers around and close to it.

Although we took the car over and used it most days, there is a bus service within 100 metres of the door, although you are restricted to the times of the service. All parking is free on the island but you do need to purchase a clock (about £2) and display it in the timed zoned areas, especially near to St Peter Port. St Peter Port is fairly tight on parking and the 10 hour bays do seem to be taken by the office workers during the weekdays. However the 1, 2 and 3 hour bays do have a fairly high turn over. The added bonus is petrol is about 20p a litre cheaper than the UK !! The roads and lanes are narrow with high brick walls and hedges, so a small car is an advantage.

Saints Bay is about a 10/15 minute walk away from the hotel, although there is a fairly steep hill on the way back. There are a number of walks on cliff paths, nearby.

Herm is well worth a visit with some lovely cliff paths and deserted sandy beaches.

The weather for our week, was for just about unbroken sunshine, which together with this superb hotel made for a memorable holiday. We’ll be back to La Barbarie.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    92
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
319
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in Guernsey. We chose The Barbarie as it was in St Martins, near the beach and had read the reviews about the food- we werent disappointed. Due to an early flight we turned up on their doorstep at 8am and were warmly welcomed and offered breakfast. This was a delight. There was a great selection of fresh fruit amongst many other healthy options and the haddock and poached eggs were cooked to perfection. We were able to leave our luggage in the one room that was empty, freshen up and then we got straight into exploring the beautiful island. We did this by bus. Why do people hire cars in Guernsey? The bus system is wonderful. The bus stop is yards from the hotel and takes you in to town from whence you can go wherever your desire takes you for just 60p - even cheaper if you buy a swipe card!!
Saints bay, a five minute walk from the hotel is a gem of a place and each time we visited it there were never more than two others on the beach! In the little cafe shack they give you tea in a little carrier box to take to the beach, pot, mugs etc - perfect. Ice cream is a must for the return journey up the pretty hill to the hotel.
Dinner at this place is a gastonomic experience. Menu changes daily and the fish and seafood to die for.
The staff are a delight. Didnt meet one grumpy one and nothing was too much trouble. The whole place is spotless and the small pool very welcoming.
Thankyou for a wonderful, restful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We have just come back from 6 days at La Barbarie - our first visit to Guernsey.

I can only agree with the extremely positive comments of other guests. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the rooms clean and well cared for, the situation was lovely, and the food - well, it would be hard to beat it.

We had a double room and paid extra for an additional adjoining room which provided us with a small sitting room and balcony overlooking the swimming pool - room 15. This extra room was extremely useful in view of the wet weather we had at the end of the week. We also had a hire car provided which was waiting for us at the airport. We did not book half board but once there, and having tasted the food, we booked dinner every night as we felt it could not have been bettered anywhere on the island. I particularly recommend any of the fish. The whole trip was extremely good value for money.

I think this area is the best part of the island - minutes from the airport, close to St Peter Port and right near the beautiful coastal paths. The country lanes are narrow and signposts are minimal so you really do need to be able to read a map to find your way around, but the hedgerows are full of wild flowers and the houses built of local stone are very pretty, so there is plenty to look at on the way.

If you are thinking of going to Guernsey, this is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We chose La Barbarie after reading the positive reviews and it really lived up to our expectations. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and a complimentary bottle of bubbly was there to great us. The staff were extremely welcoming and the waiter in the restaurant extremly helpful in helping me select my vegan meals which were excellent. We highly recommend this small, extremely well run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hOlidaytrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noakbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We found the hotel very comfortable with a good bar and an excellent restaurant. The food in the restaurant really was a delight especially the fish and my compliments to the chef. All in all the hotel was a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunderlandandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed at the Barbarie for Mother's Day weekend with my sister and mum. The hotel was friendly, rooms comfortable and well equipped with an ample car park and lovely garden to sit in and drink coffee. But what made this a hotel I'd return to is the friendly and helpful staff. Add to this the excellent restaurant, again with friendly staff [and great food] and great March rates, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Guernsey.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SopsChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights half board. Our room was a reasonable size, clean, well equipped and with a balcony overlooking the pool. The food every evening was very good and the table d'hote menu had plenty of choice at a reasonable price (just over £20 for 4 courses plus coffee), The cooked breakfast varied in quality between good and just OK but the cold buffet was good. The staff throughout the hotel are very professional and very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is in a secluded location but is easy to reach by car. Guernsey is a very welcoming and relaxing island and this hotel made our visit even more welcoming and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lord_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
586 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing