We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Barbarie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Trelade Country House Hotel(St Martin)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jerbourg(St Martin)
$155
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bella Luce(St Martin)
$270
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saints Bay Hotel(St Martin)
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fermain Valley Hotel(St Peter Port)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel De Havelet(St Peter Port)(Great Value!)
$166
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(St Martin)
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
515
110
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
110
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomsaints bayself catering apartmenthalf boardseafood platterthe bushis teamwell run hotelmain buildingmanaging directorst peter portexcellent restauranta la carte menuevening meals were excellentcoastal pathsmall poolnothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 643 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We chose La Barbarie after reading the positive reviews and it really lived up to our expectations. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and a complimentary bottle of bubbly was there to great us. The staff were extremely welcoming and the waiter in the restaurant extremly helpful in helping me select my vegan meals which were excellent. We highly recommend this small, extremely well run hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hOlidaytrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We found the hotel very comfortable with a good bar and an excellent restaurant. The food in the restaurant really was a delight especially the fish and my compliments to the chef. All in all the hotel was a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunderlandandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed at the Barbarie for Mother's Day weekend with my sister and mum. The hotel was friendly, rooms comfortable and well equipped with an ample car park and lovely garden to sit in and drink coffee. But what made this a hotel I'd return to is the friendly and helpful staff. Add to this the excellent restaurant, again with friendly staff [and great food] and great March rates, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Guernsey.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SopsChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights half board. Our room was a reasonable size, clean, well equipped and with a balcony overlooking the pool. The food every evening was very good and the table d'hote menu had plenty of choice at a reasonable price (just over £20 for 4 courses plus coffee), The cooked breakfast varied in quality between good and just OK but the cold buffet was good. The staff throughout the hotel are very professional and very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is in a secluded location but is easy to reach by car. Guernsey is a very welcoming and relaxing island and this hotel made our visit even more welcoming and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lord_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay here (five nights). Despite indifferent weather, we thoroughly ourselves.
Guernsey is a lovely place to visit and is full of good eating and drinking places (especially Fermain Bay's Beach Café - a derogatory definition) so be prepared to return home a few pounds heavier! The bus service is excellent, so we did not bother to hire a car. But, due to the limited coastal areas where you can walk (which is our main enjoyment) perhaps five days was too much?
From the moment we arrived at La Barbarie, until our departure, every member of staff was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. They exuded a team spirit that is unusually high. As confirmed by the steady flow of local residents that eat there, the restaurant is superb and we stayed in every evening!
If we had any criticism at all, it would be that the room we had was a little tired and could do with some reinvestment.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews