We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Barbarie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bella Luce(St Martin)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jerbourg(St Martin)
$213
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saints Bay Hotel(St Martin)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Horizon Hotel(St Martin)(Great Value!)
$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Trelade Country House Hotel(St Martin)(Great Value!)
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fermain Valley Hotel(St Peter Port)
$267
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveler rating
525
110
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
110
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomsaints bayself catering apartmenthalf boardseafood platterthe bushis teamwell run hotelmain buildingmanaging directorst peter portexcellent restauranta la carte menuevening meals were excellentcoastal pathsmall poolnothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 653 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is our fourth stay which should indicate our satisfaction.
We stay in the self catering apartments but eat in the hotel restaurant. The food is outstanding. There are several evening alternatives, early bird special 2 courses for £12.95, set menu 3 courses and coffee for £24.95 or a la carte. We tried them all and were impressed. Lunch again has a special menu, 2 courses£11.75, 3 courses £14.75 and different bar snacks.
One of the delights is the staff. Every one makes you welcome, remembers you by name and treats you with respect

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Brierfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Brierfielders
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie Hotel and your wonderful comments about our quality food and value for money are most encouraging. All the team send their thanks for your kind words. I do hope your friends also enjoyed the “Barbarie “experience and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just returned from a three night break at La Barbarie, Guernsey.

From the moment of check in, the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The room we had was just right. Couldn't fault the cleanliness,

We ate dinner in the Restaurant on our first evening. Absolutely fab! Quality food, excellently prepared and beautifully presented. Best bit? Not a rip off!

The waiting staff really went out of their way to please, and their professional approach was much appreciated.

We ate there again on our third evening, The Table D'hôte menu changes daily, and you can also go A La Carte.

Would deffo stay there again, would love to sample the waters of the superb outdoor pool and terrace.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and our thanks and compliments to the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biddyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Biddyfun
Many thanks for your wonderfully positive review. It is always our intention to offer quality value for money and I am delighted that this is reflected in your comments.
Your kind words about our team here are much appreciated and I do hope we can welcome you back to sample our heated pool in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had forgotten just how good La Barbarie dining experience is. As a regular diner in various Guernsey establishments La Barbarie is hard to beat from the friendly reception, attention from all staff, to the fabulous meal. I can thoroughly recommend the daily dinner menu, fabulous and fresh crab cakes with chilli jam to start, followed by the best slow roast pork belly I have ever experienced, think melt in the mouth with contrasting crispy crackling, creamy mash, crisp cabbage, homemade apple sauce and a tasty jus. My beloved and I both chose the cheese to follow which had a variety of 4 lovely cheeses and plenty of them with chutney, walnut bread and biscuits. A truly lovely meal, complimented by great service, hard to beat. S -J & Kieran.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Sj S
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent meal here at La Barbarie Hotel
I have passed your wonderful comments on to Chef and his team, a real boost to all concerned.

It was lovely to welcome you to La Barbarie once more, so glad you enjoyed the evening and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful week at La Barbarie. We stayed on a half board basis in a superior double room. The room was excellent:spacious, comfortable and quiet with a nice view over the swimming pool. The food was outstanding; wide choice and very high quality. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. It was our first visit to Guernsey and we hope not the last. When we go back we will certainly aim to return to La Barbarie. We would not look anywhere else.
Ann and Bernard Doyle

Room Tip: We only have experience of the one room but rooms in the detached block overlooking the pool, like ours, are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDoyle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Doyle
Thank you for posting your kind review
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Guernsey and that we played our part.
Our new Superior rooms are very popular and your comments about the quality of our food and attentive friendly staff are gratefully received. We hope to welcome you back to Guernsey and La Barbarie hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

La Barbarie Hotel was the perfect choice. First time in Guernsey, stayed for four nights B &B but decided to book a table for dinner each evening. Didn't disappoint.Excellent food and service. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a lovely rural setting, well maintained gardens. There are plenty of places to walk and nearby some beautiful coastal scenery. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear CarolynP
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location near the cliff paths and walks. To say we were the “perfect choice” is praise indeed and my team and I thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews