We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another super visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another super visit”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This must be one of the best hotel everyone is friendly and helpful .The accommodation was lovely. Ivo and Raivis looked after us really well as did Andy. We were especially grateful to Ivo for fitting all our extra guests for dinner.
Not only is the hotel excellent but you get a Guernsey as well. We cannot recommend La Barbarie high enough

Room Tip: Superior rooms really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis and Andre... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Mavis and Andre B
Thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to La Barbarie and to look after your local guests throughout your stay.
Ivo Raivis and I together with the team look forward to welcoming you back once more in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    92
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
319
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Stayed here for four nights. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was pleasant, the food really nice at both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is in a lovely position and overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Anthony H
Thanks for posting your kind review. Your comments on cleanliness, the friendly staff and food quality are a great compliment to all departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The accommodation in one of the superior rooms was worth the extra. The team of staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.We have stayed on most of the hotels on the island including 5 star OGH.This hotel is more homely and offers comparable food and comfort. The position of the hotel is excellent for the best part of the island for quietness and privacy. We will stay again...

Room Tip: pay for a superior room with a balcony if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFBC, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear John1918
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that your stay in one of our new superior rooms was so comfortable and thanks also for your lovely comment about the food and our great team of staff. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A lovely hotel with excellent cuisine and friendly and helpful staff. Very good value. The rooms are comfortable without being extravagant. In the summer months the gardens and window boxes are delightful. We've stayed there for many years often twice a year and thoroughly recommend it. Well done to Andy and his team! Graham & Georgina Collins

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Graham C
Thank you for posting your lovely review. It was, as always, a pleasure to welcome you and Mrs C back to La Barbarie once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We opted for the 1 bed self catering apartment, and was definitely happy with our choice.
The apartment had a good sized living room / kitchen area, and a good sized bedroom too!
While the decor is a bit old fashioned, it is clean and cosy, perfect for a long weekend.

Service from the hotel was great, they were happy to provide extra bedding and extending the check out time was no problem at all for them.
Ate at the restaurant on the first night, and it was delicious.
Probably would have eaten there more often if I was staying in a normal hotel room.
Booking again next time I go to Guernsey!

Room Tip: If going for a self catering apartment, ask for the top floor one as it is further away from the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souravio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Souravio
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review and for the positive and constructive comments.
We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to La Barbarie on you next visit to Guernsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We live in Guernsey so were not staying at the hotel but and decided to go for Sunday lunch at La Barbarie where we enjoyed a very good carvery meal. Rather unusual for us as generally we do not like carvery food but this was very good with freshly made dishes and no large queues despite the restaurant being very busy. Service as always was excellent with just the right amount of friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 214SusieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear 214SusieE
Thanks for your lovey review following Sunday Lunch.
Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated by us all and a real boost as we start another busy season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We decided to return to La Barbarie, after an enjoyable visit in 2010. It was not disappointing! We were the first guests through the door for the season, in March 2014, and despite an early arrival on the island by air, we were made very welcome and the offer of a warming pot of tea was much appreciated!
Guernsey is only just gearing up to meet the holiday visitors at this time of year, but all the staff ( and we do mean all) were very cheerful and welcoming. You get the impression that everyone enjoys working there, and it shows! The rooms are really comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts terrific, with a great choice on offer. Guernsey people continue to come to the restaurant here, so what better recommendation is there?
There's just one puzzling thing - we had expected cloudy grey skies as forecasted for our three night stay - but we had a lot of sunshine! How did the staff manage that?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFCOLEMAN, Managing Director at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Paul A
Thanks for posting your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you as our first guests so early on opening day. We have wonderful staff and your comments are a tribute to them.
Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming to La Barbarie Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
586 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing