We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting accommodation ,utterly pampered- bliss!”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enchanting accommodation ,utterly pampered- bliss!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is the jewel in the crown of Guernsey, for sure! If you want a peaceful location in a small yet friendly attentive caring hotel with luxury at an affordable price then come here! My gluten free diet was catered for superbly so- very impressive indeed!! Went half board. Stayed in a deluxe room- room 29- beautiful! Bed very comfortable yet pillows not great- next time will bring my own pillow then it will be perfect. Room was spacious as well as brilliantly clean all the time.
Every single meal we had was first class in every way possible!! Breakfasts were varied, cooked perfectly as well as delicious, too! Presentation of food was amazing yet it was not a case of style over substance as the taste of the meals was phenomenal too. The restaurant so deserves all the awards it has won!!

It feels like you are part of the family being there, also!

Adored Guernsey too- so much to see and everyone is so helpful!! It is incredibly beautiful! You feel like you are abroad, too!! Even the climate is slightly warmer than mainland and people from Guernsey are friendlier as well!!

Next time go to Guernsey with hubby we will return to La Barbarie for sure as well as stay for slightly longer- stay for a full week, too! Four days just was not long enough- we were sad to go!!

Thank you La Babarie for making it so memorable for us!
Was very challenged with my fibromyalgia as well as had two migraine attacks- was amazed at how caring all the staff were towards me!
Hubby and I made friends with fellow guest there known as The Barbarians- regulars- they were super lovely, too!!

Our first time at La Barbarie yet we will be back, most definitely!! What a gem of a place!!
Decided to come here from reading reviews here on Trip Advisor- well- thanks Trip Advisor- it sure does deserve all the fab reviews here! Apparently it is rated highly on other accommodation review websites, too!

Great to hear different nationalities languages within hotel- that other countries guests also enjoy staying at La Barbarie, absolutely!! Whilst we were there there were 3 different languages we detected :-)! A lovely international feel!!


One of our best hotels that we have stayed in home or away!!

Room Tip: deluxe rooms like room 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dolphinsmiles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    103
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
367
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

how nice to find a hotel with old fashion courtesy.the staff here are a breath of fresh air they are knowledgeable,well informed and so polite.my room was a double for single use,the bed was very comfortable and bathroom fine also very clean.breakfast was all the usual choices and individualy cooked per your order,very enjoyable. ate in the resurant with local friends,the meal was beautifully presented and very tasty , and again the service was with a superb and with genuine smiles.all in all a very enjoyable break

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yentocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in a superior room for 4 nights in August and had a lovely time. The staff were welcoming and efficient, making our stay very enjoyable.
I think the description on the hotel's website sums it up pretty well - " A cozy, small hotel in a rural location combined with a popular award winning restaurant".
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try for a superior room in annex overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CannyScotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

my wife and i love guernsey we also love jersey. the reason we chose guernsey for our hols was because of this hotel. its fab. we had a superior room . whilst the weather wasn;t great everything else was.,especially the food. we will be returning for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motty14562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Still an exceptionally nice hotel just as good as our first visit a few years ago. Well looked after, really nice room with balcony and overlooking the pool, excellent bar and restaurant food, friendly and helpful staff. Weather not so good but substantial breakfast helped to kick-start the day.
Will always be our first choice in Guernsey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed at La Barbarie in St Martin on 3 occasions for business and it is now always my hotel of choice. Andrew and the Team are so helpful and nothing is too much. I have stayed in their Superior rooms and had restaurant and room service. All of a very high quality. Their speciality is seafood and I would highly recommend the Fish Soup and the Moules and of course Lobster. I slept very well. I would say the only downside as with any hotel with modern outside accomodation you can sometimes hear your neighbour but no body when I stayed was inconsiderate to the point of me needing to complain. Well Done to all at La Barbarie for 5* Customer Service.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms give you plenty of room to move around in and are more of a mini suite. With your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodecia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a fantastic three night stay here in July even though hotel was a bit hard to find due to road works taking place at the time, the hotel was fantastic with very friendly staff and the food in the restaurant for breakfast and evening meals were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
774 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
840 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing