We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summerholiday”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

beautifully kept hotel with friiendly staff and great food. Especially liked the gardens.hard time we have stayed here. Gets better each time we visit. Easy to get to ST Peter Port which is a beautiful little town.No spa but god pool. Too cold for swimming when we visited this time. The whole island of Guernsey is great for a relaxing holiday which is what the hotel gives us

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinej998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 631 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from 5 days at this excellent hotel. What a gem. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. My wife requires gluten free food and the restaurant staff were very aware of what options were available and able to suggest alternatives to the menu (this knowledge is not always to be found at even 5 star hotels ! ) The whole experience was exactly what we were looking for and we will return for a hopefully drier week next year - even The Barbarie couldn't do anything about the 2 days of torrential rain we had !!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are perectly adequate for a short stay - pick a superior room for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped at the end of September 2012 . Room was lovely with excellent facilities . Hotel very clean with their staff very helpful and polite . Lovely breakfast with a wide choice . We had hired a car for the 4 days and found hotel ideally situated from the main part of St Martins and only a 10 minutes drive from the main town of St Peter Port . Would go back again .

Room Tip: We were given a good room without asking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very friendly welcome to the hotel. We were shown round the hotel after checking in, restaurant, bar, residents lounge and then taken to our room, no need to bring our luggage the lady on reception said. Five minutes later a knock on the door and she was back with our luggage, nearly 40kgs of it, felt quite embarrassed!
The staff were all excellent very attentive and humourous. By the second night they had our names remembered and probably knew our routine better than we did.
Ivo ensures the restaurant is just so whether morning or evening, making sure nothing goes amiss his team are spot on. And it's the restaurant that makes this hotel, whether you like fish, seems to be the speciality, or have vegetarian requirements there is plenty of choice from the three available menus which cover most peoples pockets as well.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies with tables and chairs, nice to sit out and chill before your eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just had a five night stay at La Barbarie. Very impressed. The Superior room was excelllent and very comfortable, huge bed, lovely bathroom. The restaurant was particularly good. In fact as good as I've experienced at any hotel. The wine list could have been better though. Could not fault the staff in any way. Always charming, nothing was too much effort for them. On the slightly minus side. on the first evening the bathroom sink plug got stuck and would not open. But the handyman fixed it very quickly. A bigger irritation for me was the "lousy" internet access. Unless you were in the actual reception area it was useless. The hotel admitted that there were IT problems, but in this day & age it needs to be working perfectly in all locations

Room Tip: Get a superior room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A short 2 night stay. Facilities inc. outdoor are excellent, staff are 1st. class.
Corridors a little narrow, and directions back to reception from some rooms
are not clear. Its a 10 min. walk to the beach and 15 mins. to shopping.
Very little street lighting for after dark. Restaurant looked excellent value
and was popular but Wine list needs updating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at La Barbarie , St Martin for about the seventh time. Yet again an excellent stay. Romm was very comfortable and the staff are always very polite and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them . Food in the restaurant is absolutely superb, very well presented and with good variety. First time I have reviewed the hotel because I think we need to keep how good it is to ourselves. Congratulations to Andrew for keeping the standard so high year after year .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large bed overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyYarnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
2 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martin GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $109 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing