We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-Fashioned Charm and Relaxation.”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The first comment to make is that the hotel is so remote that it is difficult to find. I stopped and asked a local Guernseyman for directions, but he was unsure, - despite the fact that it subsequently transpired that the hotel was no more than 500 yards further along the same road on which I had stopped to make my enquiry! Nevertheless, it is most certainly worth finding, as it is set in a beautiful location that just oozes tranquillity, along with an old-fashioned sense of charm.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with good facilities, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

All in all a very good experience if one is looking for a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 616 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent the Easter weekend at La Barbarie. The hotel was very busy but we didn't think that this compromised the service at all, we found the staff really friendly & helpful. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. As the other reviewers have mentioned the food at the hotel is also very good.

The hotel was a little more isolated than we were expecting (you definitely need a car) which was fine in the day but could have proven a problem in the evenings as we like to have a glass of wine or two with our dinner but given that their restaurant was fabulous and that there were another couple of hotels with nice restaurants within walking distance in the end it made for some nice relaxing hassel free evenings.

We did find that some of the other guests were very demanding and quite rude to the poor staff which they dealt with in a very professional manner (I don't think I would have managed to be so polite).

Room Tip: I think our room might have been one of the ones still to be redocorated as the decor was a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi_traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary weekend at La Barbarie and had a wonderful time. The hotel is quite small and simple but everything works, the staff are frindly and helpful, and the food is superb. Our only criticism is of Guernsey, not the hotel - any road which has its name displayed on the road is not named in the Free Tourist Map, and any road named in the FTM does not have its name displayed - which makes navigation in Guernsey's pretty twisty lanes rather tricky.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Thank you so much everybody at The Barbarie for a fantastic last minute weekend. It was our anniversary and we should have been in Sark, but due to bad weather it was cancelled. In an hour on a friday evening, we booked the last ferry to Guernsey, and saw the advert for The Barbarie in the phone book, and right from the start the staff were just so professional. We arrived to the hotel by taxi that they arranged for us at 10pm, were given a fantastic superior room that was HUGE, then we were taken to the the lovely snug lounge to be fed by the biggest sandwiches i have ever seen...and a very welcome drink!
We dined in their award winning restaurant the following evening and once again it was superb and very good value for money. There was an excellent choice for breakfast, the service was faultless. The hotel is situated in a quiet country lane in St Martins, within minutes of fantastic coastal walks,spotlessly clean, the rooms just incredible...but most importantly the professionally trained staff..that make you feel you are the most important person in the world. Thank you so much..you turned a disapointment into a delight.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at La Barbarie for 5 nights in June - our first time in Guernsey and also to attend a wedding nearby.
The hotel is in a lovely location with easy walks nearby. The gardens are very pretty and well kept and the car park is just about big enough for all the hotel residents. The swimming pool looked lovely but the weather was a bit variable so we never got to use it.We had booked 2 rooms for our family and both were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed (trouser press/ironing table and iron, kettle and cups etc, toiletries replaced every day, flat screen TV with most channels).
Reception is very welcoming and the staff very helpful. The restaurant is very light and airey and the food is excellent. Service is also excellent under the command of Ivo who is very approachable and will put himslef out to serve his customers. We were on a B&B stay but also ate several dinners as the food was so good and the atmosphere was refined but not stuffy.
A real gem of a hotel and restaurant serving top food.
We would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Guernsey

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SatisfiedUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at La Barbarie for five nights, staying in one of their self catering units. The hotel is in a beautiful part of Guernsey.....relatively close to all activities, museums, etc. The staff are superior and of great help. The restaurant is superb with wonderful service and food.....especially fresh sea food. We would stay here again without any thought. The self catering unit was well supplied and had excellent wi-fi. If you come to Guensey, you need to stay here!

Room Tip: Our self catering unit was 111 and perfect for a couple. Only problem is that water pressure was ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutchplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The restaurant is our favourite on the island and although we have tried a few others we always return to La Barbarie. This time we thought would try the hotel as well as we were tempted by the special offer of half board, car hire and a bottle of fizz. We flew into the island in a light aircraft and had booked for two nights. However, the weather forecast was terrible for the day we were leaving so we had to cutail our stay to one night only as we wouldn't have been able to fly out otherwise. Andy was so understanding and there was absolutely no quibble at all in cancelling one night's stay. I must say I was very impressed and it all added up to a memorable stay. The service here is always immaculate and I am even more in awe now. The room was in the main hotel and was lovely. Lovely big room and bed and flat screen TV. Lovely toiletries as well. Breakfast was really good, as was the evening meal but then we expect nothing less having eaten here many times. Well done, La Barbarie, you are beginning to feel like a second home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martin GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $92 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing