We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for exploring Guernsey. Highly recommended.”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Ware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring Guernsey. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have just returned from La Barbarie weekend of 18-21 May. Hotel room spotless, complimentary bathroom items. Excellent choice of breakfast - continental and full English. Ate in every night during our stay from their daily menu. Excellent choice of starters, main courses and puddings. Always a vegetarian option, meat and fish for the first two courses. Food beautifully presented. Staff courteous and very helpful in getting a hire car at very short notice for our last day. Good bus service around the island. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed (two couples) in rooms 9 and 10 on first floor - nice and quiet, away from staircase leadi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    104
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
378
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Used this hotel as a base for a walking holiday on the island. Ideally located on the island for walks on the south coast. Dined at the hotel most evenings and had wonderful choice of meals. Excellent choice of food at breakfast. Originally we were allocated room 1 on the ground floor next to reception, as the window faces out onto the main entrance and a side window was on a passage where occasionally people walked past, we felt this room lacked privacy without keeping the blinds drawn and there was some disturbance with its close proximity to reception when that was being hoovered. We asked to be moved and they were more than happy to do that. The first floor room was excellent and as we would have expected. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 and rooms off reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2happywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at La Barbarie Hotel. (11/05/2012).What a gem of a hotel it is! Not only is it situated on the best side of the island with great cliff top walks on your doorstep, it also has a very good,regular bus service to all other parts of the island. From the first step into the hotel we were made to feel very welcome and put at ease. ALL of the staff throughout our stay were absoloutely wonderful. They came over as genuinly very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was top quality whether it was breakfast, lunch or evening meal. The room we had was to a high standard equipped with everything that we required. We are looking forward to returning later on this year. Recommendation? Go and check it out for yourselves.You will not be disappointed. Nick and Donna Northampton.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I previously stayed at La Barbarie in 1993 and it was really good; now it is absolutely superb! The service we received from all the staff over the last few days was second to none, with every attention to detail catered for. The rooms are excellent, the choice of breakfasts outstanding and the evening menu quite spectacular, with food of an exemplary quality. There is an extensive wine list and the bar is a relaxing area to spend some time either before or after dinner. If you need to work up an appetite or simply enjoy an evening stroll, Saints Bay and the surrounding cliff paths are only a few minutes' walk away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

It took som time before I decided to write this review, I wanted to keep this hotel for myself and my husband and keep it away from the crowds. However, life is too short not to tell and this year we will bring two of our friends to share the experience.
This is our favourite place, all categories! Lovely little hotel tucked away in a quiet corner of Guernsey. We felt at home immediately, great ambience, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and ...fantastic food! This summer will be our third visit. The first time in 2008 we had not arranged for dinner all nights but that was a mistake we learned very quickly. The first evening we were impressed - the meny was very extensive, so much to choose! The next evening we realised there was a new meny every day and something for every taste! It´s a good thing there are plenty of opportunities for walking - we love the cliff path, very close to the hotel.
If you want piece and quiet, good food, walking, breathtaking scenary, taking various daytrips around the island and to Herm and Sark - and in the evening relax in the garden with a drink by the pool before a fantastic dinner - this is the place for you. We are looking forward so very much to our next visit this summer!

Room Tip: We have not been disturbed by any sound during our visits - but ask for advice when booking if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andromeda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 night over Easter 2012. Hotel is in a lovely location in the lanes of St Martin close to Saints bay and the cliff path. The welcome is warm and the place is very clean. The food is excellent lots of local sea food with a good wine selection. The whole stay was let down by the very poor sound insultation between the rooms which when I asked to be moved the staff seemed all too well aware of. The bathrooms in both the rooms I used where very tired and the showers very poor due to low water pressure. Shame really it will stop me staying again but I will be back for the food.

Room Tip: Room 5 seemed to be the quietest away from other rooms a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A very good little hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely dining room and bar area with a relaxed atmosphere. Contrary to one or two of the reviews here, I think the location is superb: minutes from the beautiful Saints Bay and within a stones throw of the stunning coastal path.The little lanes and hedgerows are very pretty at this time of year and La Barbarie is nestled in a lovely corner of the island.
Any downsides? If I was being critical, our standard room was a little on the small side and we would try for one of the larger rooms if available in future. Also, the pressure of the shower could have been better. Overall though, these were only minor points and did not affect our stay to any great extent. It was our first time at the hotel but we would love to come back! Highly recommended ...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Foulerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing