We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update on last year”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Still a good hotel. Friendly staff, and nice room. However we felt that this time around some of the meals fell short of what we had come to expect. We stayed half board eating off a set menu with 4 options.
Sunday evening meal was a disappointment. The main staff appear to be off and I suspect the Head Chef as well.
The main courses just seems to be getting less interesting.
The hotel does seem highly regarded by locals, but they would be eating from the A La Carte menu.
I cannot, however fault the waiting-on staff, or the staff in general.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 630 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We booked the three night sea food break and opted for a superior room.
Staff, service, room and food all excellent.
Extremely comfortable, very large bed.
Will definitely return asap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subduralspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

What a wonderful holiday we have had once again at La Barbarie. Room 31 was excellent and we really enjoyed having the extra space. Our table in the restaurant was in a superb position and this and the room contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the holiday. Your staff, as usual, were extremely efficient and friendly. Ivo was always attentive and welcoming and we would like to give a special mention to Raivis. he spotted us as we arrived and made us feel welcome immediately and his attention to detail in opening the st Emilion bottles of wine and decanting them in plenty of time was greatly appreciated. we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: superior rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynwales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My wife and I have been to Guernsey on several occasions and stayed at a different hotel. My sister & brother in law have been going to the La Barbarie for the last eight years. To stop her incessant nagging, I thought we would try it. We flew in from Germany and received a very friendly welcome from a lovely female receptionist from Hungary. After I had been reluctantly dragged away from reception, we were shown to our upstairs room. The decor was very pleasing. It was clean and had every thing you could wish for in a standard room. The double bed was very comfortable (not like the one we had in our last hotel!). On suit facilities look quite new.
Now to the heart of the hotel, the restaurant. A very comfortable and intimate room (not like some aircraft hangars I have been in). What can I say about the food? Fantastic! I thought I had gone to heaven. Staff are very pleasant and extremely efficient. The hotel also has a small well stocked bar with a good selection of wine.
In summary: We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Being ex military, I can honestly say that Andrew (Director) runs an efficient and happy ship. I was amazed that a small country hotel could excel in service and cuisine. Normally we visit the island, but next time it will be the hotel, then the island!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivorchocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

La Barbarie has been earning rosettes for its food for years: we particularly liked the starters which were unfailingly excellent. The restaurant staff are very busy and well-trained.

The hotel is 20 minutes walk down quiet country lanes to St Martins, or a 1 minute walk to a bus (about every 20 min) that takes you to St Peter Port.

Our room was very adequate (iron, trouser press, bath, shower, 10 channel TV) --- quiet and comfortable. There is a very small swimming pool that appeared to be much appreciated by children.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We travelled to Guernsey for our 2nd anniversary celebration for 4nights before going on to Jersey for a week. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and professional staff and shown to our superb, modern, clean room where we were delighted to find a card and channel islands fudge to welcome us. The room was close to the pool, and very large with a nice seating area and very modern bathroom. We stayed half board at the hotel and found the food to be of very high quality with a fantastic choice on the menu. We have stayed at many hotels in the channel islands and definately found this to be the best!

The location is superb and although we had hired a car we were able to access the pretty green lanes and coastal paths easily from the hotel so spent most of our stay around the parish of St Martins.

Overall we would definately recommend this hotel and would like to thank the staff for a very memorable stay, we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmiths2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We chose this hotel purely on the basis of its location and star rating without any other research - from a previous visit to the Island felt that St Martins parish was the best place to stay. Chose a Room & Breakfast rate on the basis of not wanting to be locked-in to eating in the hotel. After 2 nights we did try another well-recommended restaurant after which just booked at table at La Barbarie for the remaining evenings of the holiday !! During the stay we discovered that the restaurant has won just about every award possible and it was easy to see why.

For those particularly budget conscious there was an 'early-bird' menu that was almost unbelievable value for 2 courses and then the Table D'Hote which changed every day and of course the A La Carte. We had the 'Early Bird' one evening but then didn't again as the A La Carte really demanded some serious attention !!

The restaurant staff (like the rest of the hotel) were friendly without being familiar, were super-efficient and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Nicely laid out table with fresh flower(s). The overall service was excellent and the food itself...... !!!!! Obviously top quality produce, beautifully cooked and superbly presented.

Verdict - if you go to Guernsey and don't eat at La Barbarie then you've missed something.

Hotel itself - overall very good. 'Standard' room was more than acceptable. Access for anyone disabled might be a little awkward because of steps and the grounds are relatively small but these minor things were more than compensated for by the staff AND the restaurant !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YST66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martin GY4 6ES
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing