We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel on the best hiking section of Guernsey's cliff walk”
Review of Hotel Jerbourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jerbourg
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We took the ferry to Guernsey for 4 days in early April, intending to cover as much of the Cliff Walk as we could. The Jerbourg's location looked ideal-- trail right outside the hotel property. We did not hire a car, and were very happy with the well organized and reasonable local bus system -- the bus is steps away from the door, down the country lane to the hotel. A short pleasant scenic drive from St Peterport. Did not expect so fine an acommodation as the Jerbourg turned out to be: staff a delight, helpful, fun, well informed. The only hotel of the five during this vacation that actually helped with my bag on check -in. Owner, manager and chef Paul Scambler set the tone for the place: easy going, interested and interesting and professional. We took his suggestions for dinner in the town of St.Peterport and were very pleased with the choice, but not until we had a terrific dinner in the Jerbourg's own dining room did we understand how well he new what he was talking about. Very nice public areas with view over the garden and pool toward the ocean, lively bar area. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, with lovely drapes that blocked the light but glowed subtly in the morning. No public computer, but free wireless. Excellent breakfast buffet at white clothed tables with house baked pastries and full cooked breakfast available. Truly excellent value for money.

We walked the cliffs, but also just toured around the island exploring prehistoric sites (fabulous) ,the castle, parishes, churches, lanes and gardens and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Just ask, if its available it's yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 341 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Jerbourg. After last time, we didn't think anywhere else on Guernsey could match it. It is in a stunning location. Ideal for walking the south coast cliffs. The lighthouse on the cliffs is on the doorstep. A superb 15min walk. There is a bus service right outside the door to take you into St Peter's Port every hour which is very convenient.
This time however, we splashed out on a superior room, and although the room was very nice, we didn't get the sea view that we had expected. It had it's own patio overlooking the pool. We dined one evening in the hotel and was disappointed with the food. Chips were frozen and quite soggy; not what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre, but to make up for it, the fish was excellent. Breakfasts were average and the service was slow.
We are thinking of returning to Guernsey again later in the year as we love it so much, but not to the Hotel Jerbourg.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view! Bus service very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Hotel Jerbourg has an easy-going, understated charm, very much like Guernsey itself. The young staff was friendly and accommodating. There was a wide choice of good food, while the room was spacious and clean with a comfortable, large bed. The location is superb, right by the beautiful rocky cliffs, offering great views and walks. The coastal path to the left (towards St. Peter Port) is gorgeous, but beware as it is very up and down and our calf muscles complained somewhat the following day! The bus service is very good and does indeed stop right outside the hotel front door! We didn’t regret not getting a hire-car – the only downside was that the last buses ran around 8 p.m. (could change with the summer timetable?); that said, taxis are relatively cheap if you wanted transport later in the evening. We would certainly use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We have just spent a delightful holiday in this lovely hotel where the friendly, relaxed attitude of staff have made us feel at home. We were lucky enough to be given the spacious suite with a balcony overlooking the sea and the other islands. The views are amazing! Thje hotel restaurant has a wide choice - something for everyone - my favourite being the seafood risotto! Afternoon tea on the terrace also to be recommended. As we love walking the hotel is perfectly placed on the cliff path with great walks in both directions. It is possible to walk into St Peter Port and get a bus back right to the door of the hotel! This southern coast of Guernsey is the most scenic and the Jerbourg an ideal spot to appreciate it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMWSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here last year for 4 days what a brilliant location!! Excellent comfortable room with balcony overlooking the pool area, friendly staff, good bar and restaurant serving tasty meals including a filling breakfast with plenty of choice.
Large carpark also bus stops right neat the hotel if you dont fancy driving.Hotel located down one of the lovely quiet lanes good for a nice walk or if you are feeling energetic a walk on one of the cliff paths providing breathtaking scenery. Would definately go to this Hotel again, nice for a few days or a couple of weeks, fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Having spent 2 weeks in the Jerbourg, we had an excellent, relaxing holiday. The accomodation was of a very high standard and the location is probably the best on the Island. Staff were diligent, helpful and friendly, and the proprietors were hands on, enthusiasic and professional. The varied range of cuisine was first class and catered for most peoples taste and budget. The solar heated pool was 'the brass monkey's', but fine once you were in and the sunlounging area around the pool was a sun trap with great views. The next time I visit Guernsey, I will stay at The Jerbourg!
"Brand New Willie"

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandNewWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Jerbourg from 8 - 15 September 2010 and there were six of us in our party, all friends. The Hotel went out of their way to make us very welcome and always gave that little extra to make our stay a happy one. Nothing was too much trouble. The food is wonderful and the staff always waited on us with a smile and a chat. Our room was large with a king size bed and dual aspect sea views and very comfortable. The only negative point (and the good points almost make me hesitate to mention this) is that although the cleanliness in the rooms is reasonable it could be better. However we had a wonderful stay, and would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when we return to Guernsey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_miles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerbourg

Address: Route de Jerbourg, St Martin GY4 6BJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $131 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jerbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jerbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerbourg Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing