We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Like It Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Douit Farm Self Catering
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've stayed here before (there's another review on this page, if you're interested), so you'd be correct to assume that we like it here! We've always found the units to be exactly as described, the photos on the company website are accurate and the service is prompt.

The farm is lovely, but for us the location is the real joy. Close enough to St Martin's village and the bus routes, far enough from the traffic to be able to enjoy the peace.

Added to that, Sharon, the housekeeper is lovely. Always around if you need her, but never intrusive.

We'll be back....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thanks for reviewing us again, wonderful that you keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just returned from two weeks in No 6 and can't rate it highly enough. Le Douit is ideally situated a short walk from shops (M&S Food and Co-op), bus stops and cafe near St Martin's church. The apartment was cosy and well furnished and had everything we needed for our stay. The housekeeper and other members of the team went above and beyond the call of duty after my husband injured his back at the end of our holiday - thank you so much for all the help in making our unexpected extended stay so stress-free!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_piplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review - we are delighted you liked Le Douit and the surrounding area. I will pass your thanks to the Housekeeper. Thanks again. Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times now, September 2011 (Number 5) and June 2012 (Number 4). Forgive the late posting; I've only just discovered the world of Tripadvisor!

The location is ideal for us. The farm is situated off a narrow lane, a short walk from St Martin's village. It's peaceful and quiet, but close to the bus routes and local amenities. We never take a car as we've found the local buses to be plentiful, reliable and cheap. If you enjoy walking, you'll love Guernsey as pedestrians are prioritised, unlike the UK, for example.

The farm itself is great. Sharon, the housekeeper, is friendly and efficient but will leave you alone unless you ask for her help. There's a separate laundry room at the back of the cottages, and plenty of parking at the front. We've found the accommodation to be clean, tidy and exactly as described on the website. There's always a selection of leaflets for guests to browse, and the wi-fi is a godsend. If you don't have a car, it's essential to have the weather forecast on hand!

We've loved the time we've spent in Guernsey, and fully intend to return to Le Douit in the very near future.

Room Tip: If thinking about Number 4, it's accessed via some slate steps which may not suit everybody.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We hope you will be able to stay with us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I decided to to try self-catering after the Greenacres Hotel, where we had previously stayed, closed down. We were really glad we did! We only wish we had done it
before.

We stayed in number 3, which is a lovely, cosy little cottage set in the beautiful hamlet of St Martins. The cottage itself was completely spotless. We were met on our arrival by Sharon, the lovely housekeeper, who was really helpful. We were absolutely delighted to find a little vase of local flowers and a loaf of Guernsey gache waiting for us, which we thought was a really lovely, welcoming touch!

We had a wonderful two week holiday which we enjoyed so much that we have already booked for next year!

The only comment we would make is that stone cottages in Guernsey tend to be on the damp side! A de-humidifier might be worth thinking about!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hslawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and so pleased you are coming back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Really good, spacious well equipped property in good location. Couldn't fault it. Helpful housekeeper met us on arrival and was always about to give any advice for shopping and places to go. Plenty of easy enclosed parking, and outside space.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauljsmith9858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. So pleased you lived Le Douit and hope you can return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place really rustic however we had noisy neighbours who were above us we were at number 5 and they were directly above us. The sound proofing is not what it should be as we could hear everything that was going on above. This did spoil our holiday as we had to listen to their TV and their conversation every night as they appeared to stay in each night until 10 and then go out and return at midnight to turn on the tv and stomp around. The island is beautiful and lots of bays to sunbathe in. Remember to pack ear plugs !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We are disappointed with this review as the holiday period was 20 to 27 July and the review was written on the 23rd (I only check reviews every Friday) As soon as I saw the review at 8am Fri 26th I contacted the Housekeeper on site who advised that she had seen the couple in No. 5 and at no time had they said they had a problem. If I or the Housekeeper had been advised on Tuesday or Monday we would have moved them immediately as we had another property vacant, plus we would have spoken to the noisy couple. We have spoken to the couple above who immediately apologised and said, had they known, they would have been quieter and were upset that they had caused the couple below a problem. We have provided another property for the couples last night which has been accepted. This is the first comment we have received regarding noise between the converted barns. Now, having spoken to the couple in no. 5 they realise their mistake in not advising us of their problem as we could have sorted it out but just to post a review on Tripadvisor without saying anything is dissappointing to us. We are a family business and take to heart comments visitors make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was the first time my husband had visited Guernsey and it had been many years since I visited with my parents as a child, some 30+ years ago. The cottage which we stayed in for two weeks was no 4. I couldn't fault anything about it.Home from home. Supermarket within a short walk from the cottages. We had a wonderful holiday, we came back relaxed and rested feeling that we had been away much longer than we had. The housekeeper at the cottages was lovely nothing too much trouble and made us very welcome. I would certainly return again. The best holiday I have had in years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelMarCourt, Owner at Le Douit Farm Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, we hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Martin hotels
0.5 mi away
Del Mar Court Self Catering Apartments
0.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#3 of 9 in St Martin
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#4 of 9 in St Martin
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Douit Farm Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Douit Farm Self Catering

Address: Le Douit Farm Cottage Les Traudes, St Martin GY4 6RW
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in St Martin
Price Range: $69 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Douit Farm Self Catering 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four self-catering farm apartments of different sizes which have been converted from traditional granite barns. Situated just below St. Martin's Parish Church in semi rural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Douit Farm Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Douit Farm Self Catering Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing