We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Noisy at Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Noisy at Night”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night for a business trip as it was convenient for the airport. Airport staff stated it was walking distance !! I beg to differ especially with a small suitcase so beware. Get a bus or taxi instead.
Check in very good and smoothless. Room was good until I got in the shower. The shower door is fitted to the bath but does not open fully because of the bath handles. Very poor design. The shower did not work properly and the lack of pressure meant the water came out the bath taps instead.
at night could not sleep due to the excessive noise from some type of generator that was going all night. It may be the equipment for the pool etc but not condusive to a good nights sleep.
Breakfast good as was the service in the bar.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that may be less quiet !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    105
    44
    15
    10
See reviews for
50
120
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

hi my name is barb hubby norm just returned from3night stay very tired travelers are we hotel no probs room 220 ,was our 46th anniversary so on arrival was surprised when receptionist said we had been upgraded to honeymoon suite we were bit taken back 4poster bed lovely room ,,yes but one very bad drawback terrible droning noise all day night time worse because hotel was quiet but in our room no sleep at all .....saw about it in morning said if we wanted to change rooms we would be put in inferior room so we stayed lock was useless 6ook ages to get in room manager aware but hey nothing will be done the staff were fantastic made our stay bearable don't like to complain but will never return the drivers hate big h on cars they intimidate you plus you get shafted on hire car for 97pds cdw and petrol never again hubby stressedout driving here me too

Room Tip: don't use 220 you will not sleep xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTreladeHotel, Front Office Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I am disappointed that you were so unhappy with your stay that you felt the need to write this review. We do have an issue, which we are addressing, of pipes making a noise close to Executive Room 220, but this is an old house and as such, these problems are not quickly solved.
As you mentioned in your e-mail, we gave you a free upgrade to the Executive Room with a Four Poster Bed, as the agent you booked through mentioned that it was your anniversary.
The only offer I could make was to move you back to the standard room that you had booked and paid for, although I was going to make sure that you had one of our best standard rooms.
As regards the lock on your bedroom door, we are a country house hotel and we use traditional keys and locks, and over time these become worn. There are a few rooms where we advise the guest to keep gently pressing the key in while turning, and it works fine.
Your car hire issues were outside the Hotel's control as you booked through a Tour Operator and they arranged this, but generally car hire is more expensive here than on Mainland UK, as the roads are narrow, and there is a greater likelihood of cars being damaged.
You don't need to have a car in Guernsey, as we have an excellent bus service with buses running 3/4 times an hour on most routes, and a 2 day unlimited travel pass is only £7.50.
Once again I am very sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at La Trelade Hotel, and I would like to hope that you will come back again sometime, and let us redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Pleased to find this hotel so close to the airport and also close to St Peter Port. Congenial and helpful staff and a well-equpped Spa with Sauna and pool. Excellent value for money. Good breakfast and convenient car park.

Useful for access to cliff footpath and the Occupation museum.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

La Trelade Hotel provides everything you need in a Hotel and everything you need in Guernsey, in a great location for a good price.
The welcome is quiet and efficient. The rooms are modern and well thought out.
Privately owned the family are gentle and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanniej16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in November. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a good size indoor pool and Spa and exercise area, very good, lady there was very helpful and guided me through the facilities. The restaurant served good food and the staff were excellent, very helpful and kind. Breakfast was very good. I hired a car and there was plenty of parking.
Loved watching the planes from the airport fly over as I swum in the pool, and the lovely sunset.
There was a lift, which my mother found very useful, many hotels do not have one.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms, ours was great and I liked my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRACKLESHAM WEST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel in late September. Our room was large and very comfortable. There was a good size indoor pool. The restaurant served very good food and my only complaint was that the portions were so large that we never managed to finish them. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVEBracklesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel from 16 to 20 September. It was our 3rd (or maybe 4th!) visit to this lovely Channel Island. We both really enjoyed our time at La Trelade. On first arriving we were a little surprised to see the scaffolding around the roof area and should, I suppose, have asked what it was for, but we forgot. The reason we forgot was simply that we had such a lovely comfortable room and were so happy with the warm and friendly customer service we received here that we thought it was not important. Our room (101) was very spacious, and comfortable with everything you could wish for. Tea making facilities, flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, and a very modern bathroom that looked like it had just recently been decorated. Our room was cleaned each day and the bed made up which was lovely to come back to after a day out. Our room overlooked the front of the Hotel and the gardens and although the Hotel is on the main route from the airport it is well set back so caused no problems with noise. The Hotel is also on the flight path but that didn't bother us either as the aircraft noise was very intermittent anyway. There was a slight droning noise during the night from what I believe was a ventilation shaft above the room, but although I guess we could have asked to be moved we simply didn't bother as we were quite content with the room overall.
We booked bed and breakfast, which each morning consisted of a table in the middle of the dining area with fruit juices, cereals, yogurts, and croissants etc., and the waiter (usually the very friendly Carlos) would come to your table and bring you tea, coffee, toast, and a cooked breakfast. My husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast and had no complaints!
We didn't plan to have an evening meal here but decided after our first meal that we wouldn't bother looking elsewhere as it was so much easier to eat in, and we were so impressed with the quality (and portions) of the meals served anyway. The staff in the dining room were very friendly and professional and we had a good chat to Carlos from Madeira, and another young man from Madeira (sorry don't know his name!), as well as a very pleasant young lady from Latvia. The male receptionist (Mike I think) was also very helpful and extremely knowledgeable in general about the Guernsey way of Life.
If we could afford to, we both thought we would move to Guernsey tomorrow. We love the slow pace of Life and the beautiful scenery this little Channel Island possesses, but unfortunately for us we will just have to look forward to further minibreaks (for now!), and we will definitely return to this lovely Hotel again.......

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that is not below the ventilation shafts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
196 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Property: La Trelade Country House Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing