We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly providing a superb well-priced stay in Guernsey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Reviewed December 21, 2013

La Trelade Hotel provides everything you need in a Hotel and everything you need in Guernsey, in a great location for a good price.
The welcome is quiet and efficient. The rooms are modern and well thought out.
Privately owned the family are gentle and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanniej16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 283 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in November. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a good size indoor pool and Spa and exercise area, very good, lady there was very helpful and guided me through the facilities. The restaurant served good food and the staff were excellent, very helpful and kind. Breakfast was very good. I hired a car and there was plenty of parking.
Loved watching the planes from the airport fly over as I swum in the pool, and the lovely sunset.
There was a lift, which my mother found very useful, many hotels do not have one.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms, ours was great and I liked my view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel in late September. Our room was large and very comfortable. There was a good size indoor pool. The restaurant served very good food and my only complaint was that the portions were so large that we never managed to finish them. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVEBracklesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel from 16 to 20 September. It was our 3rd (or maybe 4th!) visit to this lovely Channel Island. We both really enjoyed our time at La Trelade. On first arriving we were a little surprised to see the scaffolding around the roof area and should, I suppose, have asked what it was for, but we forgot. The reason we forgot was simply that we had such a lovely comfortable room and were so happy with the warm and friendly customer service we received here that we thought it was not important. Our room (101) was very spacious, and comfortable with everything you could wish for. Tea making facilities, flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, and a very modern bathroom that looked like it had just recently been decorated. Our room was cleaned each day and the bed made up which was lovely to come back to after a day out. Our room overlooked the front of the Hotel and the gardens and although the Hotel is on the main route from the airport it is well set back so caused no problems with noise. The Hotel is also on the flight path but that didn't bother us either as the aircraft noise was very intermittent anyway. There was a slight droning noise during the night from what I believe was a ventilation shaft above the room, but although I guess we could have asked to be moved we simply didn't bother as we were quite content with the room overall.
We booked bed and breakfast, which each morning consisted of a table in the middle of the dining area with fruit juices, cereals, yogurts, and croissants etc., and the waiter (usually the very friendly Carlos) would come to your table and bring you tea, coffee, toast, and a cooked breakfast. My husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast and had no complaints!
We didn't plan to have an evening meal here but decided after our first meal that we wouldn't bother looking elsewhere as it was so much easier to eat in, and we were so impressed with the quality (and portions) of the meals served anyway. The staff in the dining room were very friendly and professional and we had a good chat to Carlos from Madeira, and another young man from Madeira (sorry don't know his name!), as well as a very pleasant young lady from Latvia. The male receptionist (Mike I think) was also very helpful and extremely knowledgeable in general about the Guernsey way of Life.
If we could afford to, we both thought we would move to Guernsey tomorrow. We love the slow pace of Life and the beautiful scenery this little Channel Island possesses, but unfortunately for us we will just have to look forward to further minibreaks (for now!), and we will definitely return to this lovely Hotel again.......

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that is not below the ventilation shafts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel although a little tired in places was very clean and welcoming. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Carlos ran a very tight ship in the restaurant and the food was very good. (Didn't like the hash browns - personal taste) the poached eggs were done brilliantly ! Dinner was great and very filling on the two nights we were there. The spa was the worst part. The layout didn't work for me. I like to get changed and showered without walking through reception.

Overall though a good base. The buses were frequent and just outside the hotel. A good way to see the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleybinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Comfortable, clean and peaceful. Have stayed here on 3 occassions in the past. The barman back then being foreign and from an eastern block country I beleive is a bit eccentric and needs to be more accomodating. The Manager whom we got to know actually was helpful and got used to our group and became freindly. The staff were freindly overall and the breakfasts were good but could have been better for "full on english breakfasts". A good business hotel to stay in and they are trying their best to upgrade and renovate the place.to maintain a standard. I would reccomend this place and prices were acceptable for what it was.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfersTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTreladeHotel, Front Office Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your belated review of our Hotel. You will be pleased to know that in the year since you last stayed with us, we have made many improvements to the Hotel, as part of a continuous on-going refurbishment plan. As you will see from our recent reviews, our guests have been very happy with us, and we have experienced a 25% increase in business in 2013, mostly due to repeat clientele. I hope you will come and stay with us soon, to see the enhancements that we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If there was a review category on Trip Advisor called "Good" it would be very fitting for La Trelade where my wife and I stayed for the first time on our EIGHTH visit to the lovely isle of Guernsey. But while the hotel is not actually Very Good it is also better than Average - although that's where I've placed it to encourage the charming proprieter (Mike) to persevere with his efforts to upgrade it. Let's get it straight - we had a great time, there. The hotel looks a little shabby (scaffolding not a happy first sight although not the hotel's fault, we understand). It is a little bit old-fashioned, not to say a bit quirky, but for me that's all to the good and I realise it would cost a fortune for a complete face-lift. There is a pretty good indoor pool (although they need to do a few not-too-expensive cosmetic repairs) and an excellent gym. We stayed bed-and-breakfast for 8 nights (2 free) and the beds were comfortable and the breakfast brilliant - full English or whatever. We had other meals there that were not so good and were glad we didn't book full or even half board to be honest, but bar service was fine and the lounges, if in need of some imagination, very comfortable and relaxing. Mike's big passion is actually ballroom dancing. We guessed he took on the hotel mainly because he could see how to develop the potentially lovely ballroom space there but he looks after his guests pretty well (he even gave us a free lesson in quickstep and invited us to attend the Saturday night social dance there for no extra charge). We hired a car and there was always room to park in the spacious hotel grounds. It is well lawned and nice to sit outside with a drink but here could be a bit more floral display although we know the gardener works hard. Mark on Reception is a helpful, knowledgable cove, with a dry sense of humour and we also like the dining room staff led by Carlos and including Jacob, Eve and the Madeiran chap whose name I've sadly forgotten. We went to La Trelade because the hotel we usually use couldn't fit us in with the type of room we wanted (which is a bit sad). We still went there (just around the corner from la Trelade) to eat in the evening because the food is so good but when it comes to booking for next year we think we'll plump, overall, for La Trelade again. Just hoping Mike keeps battling away trying to make things better. After all, he's got great support in daughter Tracy and all the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: You must get one that looks out to the front but if you absolutely abhor aircraft noise (even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank piercewilliam991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
617 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martin
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martin GY4 6UB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $64 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing