We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Trelade Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel staff were helpful and caring but we couldn't say the same of the owners, one of whom lacked personal skills. The restaurant staff, Jacob, Eve + one young man from Portugal and one man from Spain were a delight. The food in the restaurant was good as was breakfast (beware the somewhat over generous portions on the bar menu). The bedroom was small and clean but very stuffy and difficult to air - with the window open the door rattled loudly (a doorstop, recommended by us, was the only solution). A real annoyance was the difficulty presented by the room key which was difficult to use every time we went in/out (room 205). This problem is known to the hotel management but nothing has been done about it and there is another room with the same problem. This is a pleasant enough hotel with a reasonable restaurant but furniture and decorations need updating and the owners need a course in customer relations. We did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on them.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the front and check the key functions - and don't use room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaTreladeHotel, Front Office Manager at La Trelade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I am very sorry that these reviewers were unhappy with some elements of their stay.
We do acknowledge that two of our rooms have locks that are worn, and require the application of a little pressure on the key when turning. As the locks are part of a system, they are very hard to get replaced, so we explain to customers to press a little when turning, and that usual suffices for the rest of their stay.
We are sorry if the door rattled a little, sometimes they do, if the window is open when it is windy.
The reviewer also commented about the furniture and decorations. We do have seat cushions in the Bar Lounge that badly need new covers. We have had problems sourcing the covers on the Island, so the Proprietor has purchased the cloth and an Industrial Sewing Machine, and we will be making them ourselves over the course of the next few weeks.
Finally, I am disappointed by the unnecessary comments that the owners needing a course in customer relations. The Proprietor's wife had just come out of Hospital following a life-threatening illness, and he was more pre-occupied with his partner's health, than the day to day running of the Hotel, which he leaves to myself and the Restaurant Manager.
We pride ourselves on offering an excellent product and service. We have been awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, a grading of 8.5 out of 10 by Booking.com Customers, and during the recent Visit Britain Inspector's visit, we were increased by 2% to 69%, only two percentage points below being 4 stars. We will always do everything we can to make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible; and I am disappointed that, in the eyes of this reviewer, we fell short. We will strive to do better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    103
    44
    15
    10
See reviews for
49
119
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having remembered this hotel 20yrs+ ago when it was not well thouhgt of it is now a very pleasant,well placed friendly and efficient place to rest your weary head. We arrived after a rough crossing on the Condor and needing a bit of quiet time to recover. We were greeted by Mark in reception who was doing a sterling job of running the Hotel in the absence of the owner. Having got to our rooms we were happy to see good clean and well equipped bedroom and bathroom and comfortalbe as well. The rooms may be a little small but this is an old building after all.The rooms at the front did suffer a little from both road and airport noise but again nothing the hotel can do about this. So excellent, friendly and helpful staff, some of whom have been there some years and really know how to treat their guests. As well as Mark I think it was Carlos? who ran the dining room was also very helpful and friendly and had a good memory for our breakfast orders!. The food was very good with great choices especially for breakfast and an ever changing menu for the evening meals. Good value as well. Sammy the seagull was a character, sitting on his granite throne on the lawns in front of the hotel squawking at anyone who would listen to him. All in all a good place to stay. My only negative would be the chairs in the bar area. All the public areas were very attractive, well decorated and well lit except the bar seating area. Every one of the chairs had mock leather covers all of which were cracked and torn hence making them uncomfortable to sit on. Come on Trelade this really is your only shortcoming, time to get it fixed!. Apart from that Well done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepestdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The staff were all very helpful. The room was lovely and very clean. Biscuits were provided each day. There was plenty of storage space in the bathroom.The bus stops (to and from the airport and also St Peter's Port) were close at hand. The pool was a good size and hardly used.
Breakfast was good as was the evening menu.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a holiday in Guernsey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

La Trelade Hotel is very welcoming and is in a good location for exploring Guernsey as it's fairly central and takes no time at all to get either to St Peter Port or any of the beaches, and for sightseeing. There was always room in the car park and we never had to walk more than a few steps to the hotel. The rooms are excellent with nice warm bathrooms and big beds, most important! The tea and coffee facilities are good and are re-stocked every day. The dining room was very attractive and we could not fault the breakfasts which included everything you could wish for from yogurt to full english, not good for the waistline! We didn't eat any other meals there as we were out and about most of the time but the menu certainly looked good. The lounges and bar are very comfortable with loads of room -,another very important feature and the bar stayed open until everyone left. I would definitely go back there and would recommend it for either a short break or longer holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit-Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a very pleasant three night stay in April - our room was comfortable, good shower (no water pressure issues), welcome tea and coffee-making facilities. We also made use of the leisure facilities with a sauna, steam and swim after a day exploring St Peter Port and the island by bus. What struck us most was the cleanliness throughout the hotel - not just our bedroom, but public areas too. We ate in the hotel on the first night and found the prices reasonable and the food of good quality - Carlos is particularly efficient! Breakfast was a nice surprise - plenty of choice with fresh fruit, juices, cereals, ham and cheese as well as full English.

Nothing was too much trouble.The staff were eager to help, providing ice for a swollen ankle, replenishing our tea bags and milk at 9.30pm as well as arranging for cycles to be delivered to the hotel (on that note, a big round of applause to Cycleworld whose friendly service was much appreciated - even after 7 hours in the saddle, we could still walk, thanks to their quality bikes!).

The location of the hotel was very good with a bus stop right outside for regular buses to St Peter Port and back up to the airport for a flat rate of £1.We really enjoyed our break in Guernsey and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a twin room 115 with two windows, a modern bathroom, flat screen TV and weren't troubled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freelancingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Clean efficient hotel. Room décor rather tired and shower in both rooms did not work.
Excellent service where a member of staff brought a map that we had left behind (3 miles further on) on our walking holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irish_wisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

First impressions are very good. Well located between the airport and town. Nice building and newly refurbished public areas. (although it's a bit off putting to see the parking spot by the front door reserved for the proprietor - what about disabled customers?). The rooms are ok but a bit dated. The main problem is very poor water pressure in the bath room. It takes forever to run a tepid bath. The spa is a bit unusual, requiring you to pass through the gym on the way to and from the pool, but having said that, the pool area itself is excellent. For us, the food was the biggest disappointment. Although the starters were excellent, the main courses were often smothered in gloopy gravy and the deserts were uninspiring. Breakfast was average by modern standards. Full marks to the restaurant staff who made the best of situation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
3.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Trelade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Trelade Country House Hotel

Property: La Trelade Country House Hotel
Address: Forest Road, Guernsey, St Martins GY4 6UB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Trelade Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Trelade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Trelade Country Hotel
La Trelade Country House Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing