We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!! Helen H” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!!! Helen H”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff who could not do enough for you. Amazing food, breakfast was a delight! We celebrated our wedding anniversary in the restaurant, and the food was to die for! The restaurant staff were diligent and attentive and could not have been more helpful.
Our room was upgraded on arrival, and we could not have been happier, the attention to detail was first class. Even our fresh fruit was highly polished and stood to attention. The décor of both the room and the hotel was rural chique and every evening candles and lanterns were lit, making it very romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    113
    45
    13
    2
See reviews for
67
336
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our recent stay at the Bella Luce came after a 13 year gap. With a refurbishment less than two years ago we were eager to see if the whole experience could match or improve upon our last visit. The standard of the food was consistently excellent, we had planned on only eating twice in the evening, this turned into eating all nights bar one ! I would not be surprised if the Hotel were not awarded the highest accolade in the near future, they fully warrant it. The staff were attentive, friendly, highly professional and always happy in their work, whatever their role. The rooms are variable in size and design, I would check before booking to suit your needs. They were clean, bright and very comfortable. The location is perfect, coastal walks and beach 3/4 of a mile away, swimming pool is outdoors in the garden area, towels provided for a swim. This hotel is a class act, the staff work as a slick team, they want you to enjoy your stay, will we return again ? Planning it already.

Room Tip: Make enquiries before you book, to suit your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We attended my brother's wedding at Bella Luce and stayed for four nights. Bella Luce is an outstanding boutique hotel and wedding venue, perfectly located on Guernsey.

All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem for them and they accommodated all the requirements for the wedding. They are a lovely bunch of people and even the Director got involved with the wedding preparations to ensure that everything ran smoothly.

The venue is the perfect setting for a wedding with a lovely marquee by the pool, gorgeous garden for drinks and perfect sized rooms for dancing and partying the night away. Bella Luce kept the bar going into the very wee hours of the morning for the last of the partying wedding guests.

The food is seriously outstanding, from lunch in the garden to the beef served for 140 guests at the wedding. The Hotel is gorgeous, with nooks and crannies to read in, a pool to lounge by and stunning garden. We had a corner room with an extremely comfortable four poster bed, with the room being made up each day when we were out.

Fifty Australian's traveled to Guernsey for the wedding with many commenting that it was the best wedding they have attending. Bella Luce was was key in providing a gorgeous setting and customer service second to none.

We can't recommend Bella Luce highly enough for a wedding or just to stay and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel - cosy and full of character. Service was excellent, good choice of food, well cooked and presented. Bedrooms well appointed with very comfortable beds. The sun terrace was a bit small and the swimming pool wasn't heated, but there were never many people there so no shortage of sun beds. All in all a very good place to stay and I would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We are waiting for our taxi to take us back to the airport from a delightful stay at Bella Luce Hotel.

We arrived to sun ,a smiling face (Colleen) and a beautiful room.
This hotel is set in a perfect situation and makes the most of its splendid setting.

We ate here on 2 of our 3 nights and enjoyed the food, service and wine very much.
Some of the best value for money meals we have had anywhere.
The fish was vey fresh and adventurously cooked..well done chef..!

Our room was 116 and looked over the pool which was lovely to see but maybe a little cold and in need of a clean before you wanted to dip your feet in.

We enjoyed Bella Luce and would certainly recommend a stay with them....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandKateShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very pleasant place with good reception staff, but not luxurious by any modern standards... guernsey is still a few decades behind England.... Lovely old farmhouse building, but interior decor trying a bit too hard to be modern and different- some very strange colour schemes and dark corridors. Tucked away down narrow lanes in a suburban valley, so no views of anything but its garden and other houses and very noisy on weekday mornings as it's on a rat run back route... Food good in an old fashioned kind of way. Breakfast buffet a triumph of cruise style display. impossible to get a treatment at the spa as they don't keep any spare availability for hotel guests, ( it's really for locals it would appear) which is one of my bugbears....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the minute my husband and I entered Bella Luce we were made to feel welcome .Accommodation,food and staff were very good. Our room had a 4 poster bed and overlooked the pool.The food was excellently cooked and served and there was an extensive wine list. There are lovely walks along the cliffs with stunning views. We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeS1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Property: Hotel Bella Luce
Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martins GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing