We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful”
Review of Hotel Bella Luce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bella Luce
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, expensively furnished and very clean. It is in a tranquil location, and has ample parking. Staff are efficient and courteous. We ate from the bar menu on two evenings and also enjoyed the excellent breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 567 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception and honeymoon at the Bella Luce Hotel last July 2011. We couldn't have chosen a better place to begin married life. The staff were most friendly and accomodating in every way, and along with the super venue, made our day perfect!! Luke, the owner/manager helped us with every detail of our wedding arrangements and we even booked an additional two days there for our honeymoon. The rooms, food & reception was everything we could have hoped and dreamed for. We are returning this month for our first wedding anniversary and have booked a meal at the Bella Luce to celebrate. As usual, the staff were most accomodating and polite on the phone, making us feel very special on our impotant day. Would highly recommend as Hotel No.1 on Guernsey, having visited many other hotels during our stays there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gileslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at The Bella Luce for the occasion of our niece's wedding. The venue made a beautiful fairy tale backdrop for what was a spectacular day. The welcome we received from the hotel personnel added to the day and nothing was too much trouble. I loved the concept that the hotel was solely for wedding guests during that day as it made it feel so personal.
We had never visited Guernsey prior to the wedding however we will, we hope, return and also hope to stay at The Bella Luce.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel which I liked. I also really liked the concept tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have stayed at The Bella Luce twice,both times one night stays,i must say that this will not be the last time ! Friendly,professional,helpful,very nice breakfast,nothing too much trouble for the staff,rooms very clean and attractivly furnished. I would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickwhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Enjoyed our 3 night stay very much. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are luxuriously elegant.
Breakfast was included in our room rate which offered a continental breakfast and cooked breakfast made freshly to order.
We ate in the bar once on the evening we arrived. The bar menu offers more than the usual scampi and chips type meal.
The hotel is tucked away in a quiet location a short distance from the ferry port and the airport. There is adequate car parking.
We had a lovely walk into St Peter Port which took around 45 mins.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Whatisfortea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have stayed in some very good hotels, we have now stayed in the best. Best for being helpful, best for having a laugh with, best for caring and consideration, best for fixing irritations, best for food and very best for going the extra mile. this is the first time we have ever genuinely felt sorry to leave.
Nigel and Shirley Wilson
York, UK

Room Tip: tell them what you need and trust them to choose for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I liked this hotel a lot. There was an informal feel of understated service which appealed to me. The few negatives in an overall positive experience were:

1) Bed a little uncomfortable around the hard wooden edges.
2) Stupid "do you want to reserve a table for dinner?" question when the restaurant was plainly less than 30% full.
3) Failed to show me or even mention the spa

On the positive side, great garden - great bar staff, fantastic breakfast, lovely common room (though television a little low tech to watch the football), great weel appointed bathroom.

In retrospect perhaps I am being a little picky - but feel these issues are worth bringing to the attnetion of the management and stop me from voting it 5 out of 5!

Room Tip: I personally found the edges on the 4 poster bed hard and uncomfortable - due to a thin (or low) mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJOSHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your comments. We have looked into these in further detail and we will be replacing the mattress in the room in question. Your constructive views are valuable to us and are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin
1.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
740 reviews
1.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Luce

Address: Bella Luce Hotel La Fosse de Haut, St Martin GY4 6EB
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Martin
Price Range: $149 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the wonderful places you can discover in the Channel Islands, none will unfold and embrace you as Guernsey's gentle parish of St Martin's; Renoir's dramatic bay of Moulin Huet and the Norman heritage of the Bella Luce. The Bella Luce Hotel and Spa is a unique hotel which combines charm and character with a stylish yet unstuffy warmth. The hotel is the only AA red star property on the stunning island of Guernsey, ranking it in the top 200 in the UK and Ireland and is also a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is a hotel that dares to be refreshingly different, they would say a little bit of luxury but with your shoes kicked off. With a multi award winning restaurant and an ESPA Spa offering the ultimate in relaxation and only minutes from the airport and the capital St Peter Port, the Bella Luce is the perfect bolt-hole to discover the Bailiwick of Guernsey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bella Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Luce Guernsey/St Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing