We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay. Very good food in a friendly atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captains

The Captains
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Captains is best described as an Inn with rooms, all 9 en suite bedrooms have been recently re-carpeted and are equipped with tv, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary toiletries. The bar attracts locals and visitors alike and you are guaranteed lively banter around the bar area. Whilst the bistro and bar area serves traditional bar meals, the Captains has gained a reputation in recent years for their Seafood dishes and the freshest of local fish. Reservations are not always necessary but to avoid disappointment it is suggested at the weekends and the busy summer months.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay. Very good food in a friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have recently returned from our first trip to Guernsy. We stayed at the Captains Inn with the view to have bed & breakfast, having our evening meals at various places. The staff at the Captains made us very welcome and the food was great. So good that we ate there every night! Thank you Ali and Del for making our stay so brilliant. Hope to return next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    31
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food with a pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Before travelling to Guernsey I did look up a few places for meals out in the evening. I booked The Captain's Hotel Bistro in advance, so I could get a table being Bank Holiday. When we arrived we were shown to our table with menu's. Wine arrived which was really good, food arrived soon after which was very good. I did not order a starter, as I did think that perhaps main course would be large enough for me. I was right, the main course was a good portion. Staff were very good, and everything arrived on time, as the place was pretty busy. We booked a table for 7.30pm to give us time to find the hotel. It's situated in an area that I was not familiar with, but would certainly love to come back for a meal here again. If you are in Guernsey then do look this place up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Visited this Pub on Friday 18/04/14. it is down a secluded lane in St Martin's. We went with my sister who is a resident of St Martin's, otherwise i do not think we would have come accross this location, although it is reviewed on TA. Lovely setting. Staff excellent, we were served by a female who was very friendly and attentive. I had a Rib eye steak with chilli and garlic prawns, which was excellent. Massive portions. Alos a selection of real Ales. If your in Guernsey look this place up. Varied Menu and specials, and great down to earth service.Also very good value

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NerjaGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food terrific hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away down a lane in St Martin, this is well worth making an effort to get there. This is a real, down to earth traditional pub with good food and a great atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey channel islands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Meal with friends in this traditional pub. Such as easy place to have a relaxed evening out. 6 of us dining and 6 happy customers all dined off the regular menu. The staff are attentive and there is no reason to leave hungry! 10/10

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aymestrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captains also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Been to The Captains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing