We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spacious and homely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The Ellingham Cottages has 12 self-catering holiday cottages set in large grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ellingham Cottages has 12 self-catering holiday cottages set in large grounds.
Turn right out of The Ellingham Cottages and enjoy a day strolling the cliffs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Ellingham Cottages has 12 self-catering holiday cottages set in large grounds.
Turn right out of The Ellingham Cottages and enjoy a day strolling the cliffs
Thoughtfully decorated cottages, giving that 'home from home' feeling.
Decked area for the ground-floor (disabled-friendly) cottage
Endless summer days playing on the beach.
Glorious sunset over Rocquaine Bay
Sitting down to enjoy a family meal.
Al fresco dining in St Peter Port with stunning views of the Harbour and Castle Cornet.
View of The Ellingham Cottages from the back garden.
St Martins is blessed with many wonderful bays and coves.  Explore them when walking the cliff paths
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Martin, Guernsey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
pennypap2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious and homely cottage”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Booked for 3 adults. The cottage was complete with everything we needed, in the kitchen, shampoos and bath wash, there was 0 light or noise pollution. Was spacious yet homely and perfectly decorated, with mirrors, art work and lamps (more like a home). The owners were very helpful and accommodating- they were full of advice on the local area, and had a guest library on site full of maps, leaflets, books and movies for all ages. The beds were very comfortable, as was the sofas, good bathroom facilities. Situated close to the local coop, pubs, cliffs and bays and the bus stop. The island is full of a wide range of activities and easy to get around, we personally mostly walked everywhere and rented the bikes from down the road.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2018
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Ellingham Cottages. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed and thorough review - we really appreciate it. Hopefully see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert M
2 reviews
“Perfect for us. Lovely time had.”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Perfect for a family holiday. Clean and roomy, local shops a stones throw away as are the bus stops. St Peters Port 12 mins bus trip also local. Two stunning beaches 15 mins walk away.
Simon and Fiona very welcoming with plenty of information available. Would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Thank you for staying with us at The Ellingham Cottages - we are really pleased that you and the boys enjoyed your stay. Will hopeful see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate it. Should you ever wish to stay again, please get in touch for the best rates!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianroi...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and warm with lots of hot water, suitable for a family.”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Having spent our first week in a beautifully appointed and prettily situated apartment , we found Ellingham Cottages less comfortably and rather sparsely furnished . The kitchen equipment was poor , a large frying pan that stuck so we couldn't fry an egg properly , small plates so small that a piece of toast wouldn't fit, the only alternative were very large dinner plates . The dining chairs were badly upholstered , the settee uncomfortable , and the rear patio disappointing unkempt with dirty chairs .
However , there are beautiful beaches and cliff walks nearby , a good bus service available, reasonable shops in the village and a variety of hotels and eating places within a short distance. There is a large mowed field available with play equipment for children at the rear of the property. Ideal if you have small children but TV reception very limited.
The owners were friendly and helpful .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Hello Marian,
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are very sorry that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. On receipt of your review, we have replaced the kitchen items mentioned - and of course would have been happy to do so when you were here. I am pleased that enjoyed Guernsey and that the location suited you both. With best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munchyone
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ellingham Cottages”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in a 2 bed cottage which was for mobility impaired.
The cottage however is not suitable for wheelchair users, as has no wet room. The twin room is not wheelchair accessible either.
The accommodation was fabulous size wise and had a huge deck overlooking the rear lawn.There is no privacy for the bedrooms which are ground floor and have no nets or voices. This meant keeping the cutrains closed a lot.
We would like to have had both settees at disabled height as one was very low.
The worst thing was the AWFUL squeaking floorboards throughout the apartment. They were unbearable. I'm surprised no other reviewers have commented. Even the carpeted bedrooms creaked. You could not move silently and so the sound was very intrusive.even drowning the tv sound.
The toilet also was like a thunderbox at night so could not flush it.
We mentioned the flooring to Simon but apparently it can't be fixed.
A shame because if it could,we would have returned, but now we will not.
Also be warned that noise can be heard from flat above. We stayed in number 10.
This review is honest but written sadly as the owners were exceptional.
In fairness Guernsey appears not to cater for disabled or mobility impaired as have found nothing else suitable
I would like to thank Simon and Fiona for listening to our comments and we hope it will be constructive feedback
.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Many thanks for your review and for the feedback that you have offered. Simon and I have fully reviewed your comments and appreciate your honest feedback. The cottage has been rated as 'partially accessible' by DisabledGo, as whilst it is suitable for wheelchair users in that it is on the ground-floor, with a ramp up to the cottage, extra-width hallways for wheelchair access and lower-set light switches etc, we have opted to not turn it into a fully-disabled unit so as to better suit the majority of our guests, who are more able-bodied. I am available to discuss the specification of the cottage in full detail to potential guests to ensure that it is suitable for them. I am so sorry that you did not feel that the cottage was suitable for you. Wishing you both all the best, Fiona.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddwindy
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could not ask for more.....”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

First visit to Guernsey, and a last minute decision, we were lucky enough to stumble across Ellingham Cottages online and were only able to book because of a cancelation. As a family of four we simply could not have asked for more. The cottages themselves are simple, comfortable, and offer everything you need from a holiday cottage. Alongside the cottages are the communal area's, a large grassed area with Play Houses for the kids, a "Play room" full of toys for the kids to use during the week, kids and adults DVD's for the evenings and even buckets and spades for the beach. Guernsey itself is a little gem - no where is particularly difficult to get to by car, and there is a good bus service should it be required, or hire cars. At the North of the Island you have sandy beaches that would not look out of place in the Caribbean whilst the South offers cliff top walks. The island is steeped in history and despite having a 2 year old and 5 years old in tow - they absolutely loved Castle Cornet. I can not recommend both Ellingham and Guernsey enough and we will be back next year!! Thank you to both Simon and Fiona.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Fantastic! We are so pleased that you loved Guernsey and your stay at The Ellingham Cottages. Your lovely children made the most of the play room/guest library - which was brilliant! Hopefully we will see you again the next time you fancy a little Channel Islands break!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lalalml
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing week at Ellingham in our lovely holiday house. We explored the island and researched family history. The garden and deck were brilliant for relaxing and the kids loved the 'Store' with all the beach toys,games,books and DVDs . Beautiful beaches and walks nearby and super friendly owners and children. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thanks so much much for this lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and made full use of the facilities. Have a great rest of the summer! Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing