We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot, Average Experience”
Review of Bon Port Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bon Port Bistro
Price range: $37 - $46
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot, Average Experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you want a view you will not better this, here in Guernsey there is a distinct lack of places to sit out and eat, however the food is average and the service was less so. Sunday lunch was the usual roast stuff, portion was a little small, meat was ok, the staff though had to be asked three times to order, they forgot things which we had asked for at least twice, when they did take a drinks order two more staff came over straight away and asked the same thing ??
Was going to consider a desert but was not even offered the menu so I paid up and left. There are plenty of better choices in the Island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off during a day walk for a snack. Only thing they could offer was a cream tea. Found a long hair in the first scone. All had been microwaved, some to the point of cooking them to biscuit texture. The cream was cheap, sweetened squirty cream, and topped with a raspberry covered in greenfly. Place was pretty empty (wonder why?!), staff were unhelpful and pretty useless, and no atmosphere, despite a nice view from the terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently spent a week in Guernsey and having read a good review on this restaurant in a local magazine we booked a meal for 6 people on a Friday evening recently. What a big disappointment the room was similar to a working mans club, children running round all over the place, tables not cleared away, a band packing equipment away at 9:00 pm, staff standing round like Madam Tussaud's dummies. The food was below average and when a member of our party complained about it it was just shrugged off. Definately would not eat there again even if it were free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Welcoming, friendly staff who could not do enough to help.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We discovered bon port by chance as we were anchored in the bay below. We telephoned ahead, got the tender out and wandered up the short path to the hotel where we had the most fabulous lunch on the terrace. After lunch things got a little windy so we retired inside for board games with our son and the dog was welcome too. We were facing a rough night on board our small boat but the staff found us a perfect self catering cottage at short notice. We ended up staying 3 nights and used the hotel as a base whilst we explored the CI.
The owners could not have been more helpful- for example running us down to a restaurant even though they were busy with other guests.
We will definitely return and can thoroughly recommend the food, service and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomahawk37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, service slow, but enjoyed the view while waiting”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This beautiful hotel/restaurant, overlooking the sea, on a dramatic cliff-top was the most perfect setting in the world. It was simply because of this gorgeous view, that I utterly forgive them for taking one-and-a-half hours to bring our order!
The food, when it arrived, was delicious too, and overall a fabulous venue.
Beware the road in/out - it's single track and can get very busy. No passing places at all - we had to drive into a field. Suggest you phone ahead to check if they have an event on first - if they do, go back another day instead!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Port Bistro also viewed

St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 
St Martins, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing