We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Year's Eve party”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Luce

Bella Luce
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $46
Cuisines: European, British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bella Luce is an exclusive boutique luxury Guernsey Hotel, Restaurant & Spa situated on the beautiful island of Guernsey in the Channel Islands just off the coast of Normandy. This 12th century manor Guernsey hotel has recently been lovingly refurbished with great care and a stunning Spa has been added.. The hotel has a summer terrace, cellar lounge, cozy bars with open fireplaces and the award winning Garden room restaurant. This elegant restaurant has built itself quite a reputation as one of Guernsey's finest dining experiences serving modern European food with a focus on the exquisite local ingredients.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

You can always tell how good a restaurant is when they have to do bulk catering. Probably 100 people all being served at the same time is a challenge but they rose to the occasion and everything was perfect. Dozens of fillet steaks all done to people's requirements is a great achievement. Vegetables, pudding, sorbet, etc all similarly excellent. As was the service.

Will have to go and try all la carte sometime.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRovingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    49
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent service , breakfasts were beautifully prepared and presented. Dinner very good and great service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bedkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful service in a wonderful setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was in Guerney with one of my three children where we live between Miami and New York City.

My cousins and their kids visited so it was nice to spend time together without being in an overcrowded restaurant. This setting was perfect.

The menu was great catering for all with fine champagnes down to the best hamburgers on the Island - it catered to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I attended a birthday lunch at this hotel on the 26th of October, It was a lovely experience the food was tasty & the atmosphere was warm & friendly all of our group enjoyed the food and their afternoon/evening at this hotel restaurant. It's always a good day out with friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 306William306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nearly a 5*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nearly 5*. This hotel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and all the staff were helpful and approachable in particular (sorry I can't remember her name) a young blonde hair polish waitress, she was a joy to speak to and very passionate about her job and a good waitress as well. We stayed for 3 nights 21 - 24th October. As the hotel is on the flight path you do hear all the planes taking of and landing, but this didn't spoil the overall holiday. The receptionists were very helpful, especially the one who checked us into the hotel, she recommended places to visit and eat and also showed us on the map directions to places we wanted to go. The breakfasts were excellent. We ate in the hotel twice, once on the tennerfest which was excellent value then again on our last night, unfortunately this time it wasn't as good, we decided on the rib eye steak but when it came it was full of fat and the majority of it had to be left, we did mention this to the waiter who said he would pass our comments onto the chef. Upon checking out we were asked for comments and mentioned our meal, which the receptionists said she was sorry to hear.

The walks from the hotel were really good as well, you can walk to St Peters where the German museum is which was very interesting and also to St Andrews where the German Hospital is beware though it only opens at set times. A Must is seeing the small chapel at St Andrews it was beautiful.

This hotel is overall a 5* but unfortunately due to the last meal I've only rated it a 4

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2jcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Luce also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Been to Bella Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing