We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, food, service all great!”
Review of L'Auberge

L'Auberge
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“View, food, service all great!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were a group of 8 celebrating Easter with family who have a house on Guernsey; they know it well, and we booked for 6.30pm to catch the sun going down over the other islands. It does indeed have excellent views, and having expanded slightly in the past year, has more tables that can take in the view. As noted elsewhere, the fresh fish and steaks are excellent; what is more, it looks attractive - we had to photo the main courses in honour of that! Wines can be quite reasonable, though overall the prices resemble those in London (where we live). The scallops and the crab salad starters rated highly, as did the steaks and the liver, which I like ordering as I don't get it otherwise!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim0thyp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    107
    45
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD - SUPERB VIEWS”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had dinner at The Auberge - a bright, modern, cliff top restaurant with superb views of St. Peter Port and the islands of Herm & Sark. Great friendly service, and an extensive menu. Only one criticism - I had the fish & chips (one of the 'specials' on the menu) and the fish was slightly smaller than you would expect as a child's portion! This was quickly rectified. Has to be one of the best restaurants on Guernsey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westwinds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and superb views”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant sits at the top of cliffs near Jerbourg point on Guernsey's east coast. The views out to Herm, Sark and Alderney are spectacular on a clear day. The food is innovative and features excellent seafood. The wine list is interesting. We hosted a lunch party for 60 here to celebrate a large number birthday and the food was very good indeed and served efficiently. Its a great place to eat, highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great service.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Eaten at the restaurant twice, most recently Friday 11th April 2014. Outstanding selection of fresh fish and meat dishes. Presentation excellent and wonderful view. Have not been disappointed on either occasion. Restaurant staff very good. Many thanks everyone at L'Auberge for myself and wife this is our favourite eating place on the island of Guernsey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Service with a wonderful view”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a celebration meal for my wife's significant birthday with some close friends and it was just perfect!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyF2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Martins, Guernsey
 

Been to L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing