We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
106
28
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
28
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomputting greenthe busnothing is too much troublechef miguelpoolside roomrelaxing holidaystayed for two weekslovely hotelbreakfast and evening mealhome from homeroom was spotlesschose half boardthoroughly enjoyed our staygreat hostsoverlooked the gardenswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We stayed at this hotel on 1st Sept for 9 nights. We chose to stay here because it was away from the main St Peter's port and was a quieter area. It was so easy to get to the town though and around the island as the bus service in Guernsey is so easy, efficient and cheap. The bus stop was right outside the hotel so even better. The hotel is lovely and very relaxing. Food is lovely and a varied choice on every course followed by tea or coffee after and hardly any repeated meals during our whole stay. Our room was spotless and we had a sea view in the distance which was lovely. We were hoping to use the pool and braved it once when we had a bit of sun. I imagine it would be even lovelier in the summer. Gardens are lovely and nice seating area around the pool.

The owners are very relaxed and friend and very attentive. Lots of information at the hotel on what to do in Guernsey. Betty advised us to take a walk towards the coast and it was beautiful. There was a little café off the car park which sold hot drinks, sandwiches and cakes. The coastal walk is absolutely stunning towards Jarlsberg and particularly to Moulin Houet bay. The country lanes around the hotel are quiet and so pretty, it did feel like we were in France almost. We also walked to the Little Chapel which is lovely and you could also walk to the German Underground Museum as well but as it was raining we got a bus. Took about 20 mins walk to the Chapel. Very easy going.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday within easy reach of things to see and do and would recommend Guernsey as a holiday destination, quieter than Jersey but lovely coast line and beautiful beaches in particular Vazon Bay and Cobo Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room which is at the side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolineS2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Tony & Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely stay in Guernsey to attend our nieces' wedding. Sunnydene is a lovely place to stay and Betty is a lovely warm lady- nothing is too much trouble for her and she arranged a taxi for our very early flight home ( even though he arrived a day early and woke her up...she was still smiling!!!) she even provided sandwiches for our journey home. The breakfasts are wonderful- so much choice- and the waitresses are lovely and very efficient. The setting is lovely and the gardens very pretty.... I'm sure the pool was good too- but didn't try it....the weather wasn't great for bathing! All in all.... a lovely homely, clean and friendly hotel with very attentive staff- so we certainly hope to return in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tour90871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to see you again in the future.
Regards
Tony & Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017

Betty ,Tony and the girls were wonderfull, helping to assist with my husband who
is wheelchair dependant. Turning what could have been awfull stay into a
really great time. Everyone was so kind .

Thank you all so much

Joan and Derek Shergold
Dereham Norfolk NR19 1XF

Room Tip: Lovely view from garden rooms, generous size room,
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dshergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all our staff were very happy to make your holiday enjoyable.
Kind regards
Tony & Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

A very good hotel. Betty is a lovely woman who helped us with calling a cab, and she gave us many good tips voor walking along the cliffpath.
The bus stops in front of the hotel and a buspass for a day costs only 4,5 pounds.
There is a nice swimmingpool, the water is Always 22 C. Also they have a lawn to practice your golf.
For 19 pounds you willhave a menu which is very good.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank marreuut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Tony & Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

We are back just over a fortnight from our sixth visit to the Sunnydene. Betty and Tony were as welcoming and friendly as ever. The food was tasty and service charming too. Our garden room was so spacious and very comfortable and clean. We weren't as lucky with the weather and had to adapt a little with less time spent relaxing at the pool and putting but we did discover a lovely local cinema. After lots of retail therapy in town it was lovely to return to the restful surroundings of the hotel. The bus stop across the road helps a lot.
We had a really nice,relaxing holiday and highly recommend the Sunnydene. As so many reviewers say Betty and Tony couldn't be more hospitable or helpful. My son did his usual trick of leaving something behind him but they very quickly reunited him with his earphones- thanks a million! We hope to see you again.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank roseblago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Owner at Sunnydene Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you Rose for your compliments. Sorry the weather wasn't as good as your previous visits.
Regards
Tony & Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews